Change post font

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Scam Warning
TheAvenger
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:36 pm

Change post font

Post by TheAvenger »

I just need to know how to change the post font.
User avatar
nextgen
Registered User
Posts: 2392
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Guatemala
Name: Melvin García
Contact:

Re: Change post font

Post by nextgen »

open your content.css and find:

Code: Select all

.content {
	min-height: 3em;
	overflow: hidden;
	line-height: 1.4em;
	font-family: "Lucida Grande", "Trebuchet MS", Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
	font-size: 1em;
	color: #333333;
	padding-bottom: 1px;
}
Depending on the font you want, this line is handled by that option font-family: "Lucida Grande", "Trebuchet MS", Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
メルビン・ガルシア • nextgen Solutions

Please do NOT contact for support via PM or email.
TheAvenger
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Change post font

Post by TheAvenger »

Thank you very much it worked! Anyway i have a small question. I'm testing my forum on a localhost and i created a personal CSS for my graphics (i started from "prosilver special edition" as the basic style), but often when i modify css. files to bring changes, the CSS (CSS of Themes in ACP) returns to be that of prosilver_se, so all changes i did for my graphics disappear. I just want to know why it happens.
User avatar
nextgen
Registered User
Posts: 2392
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Guatemala
Name: Melvin García
Contact:

Re: Change post font

Post by nextgen »

メルビン・ガルシア • nextgen Solutions

Please do NOT contact for support via PM or email.
TheAvenger
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Change post font

Post by TheAvenger »

Thanks for posting that, but i still don't understand.. so the ACP editor doesn't update changes on file system and we lose our edits, but what is file system? And so, how can i update my edits without losing nothing?
User avatar
nextgen
Registered User
Posts: 2392
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Guatemala
Name: Melvin García
Contact:

Re: Change post font

Post by nextgen »

Update your files and download them directly from the ftp
メルビン・ガルシア • nextgen Solutions

Please do NOT contact for support via PM or email.
User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 53379
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Change post font

Post by Brf »

TheAvenger wrote: what is file system?
TheAvenger wrote: I'm testing my forum on a localhost
Your filesystem is whatever folder on your localhost your board is installed into. You edit the CSS files directly with your Notepad++
TheAvenger
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Change post font

Post by TheAvenger »

@Brf: thanks i understand.
nextgen wrote:Update your files and download them directly from the ftp
Yea but it's exactly what i always did. I don't change my .css files from ACP editor, but directly from filesystem with Dreamweaver. But i always lose my edits with the refresh function. Anyway i saw this option in "Load settings":

Code: Select all

Recompile stale style components:
Check for updated style components on filesystem and recompile.
This is set on "No", what about if i set it on "Yes"? It could be the solution against the loss of edits?
User avatar
nextgen
Registered User
Posts: 2392
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Guatemala
Name: Melvin García
Contact:

Re: Change post font

Post by nextgen »

Use Notepad++
TheAvenger wrote:This is set on "No", what about if i set it on "Yes"? It could be the solution against the loss of edits?
The loss is because they do not make changes accordingly.
Brf wrote:You edit the CSS files directly with your Notepad++
He has given you an instruction must do.
It is not difficult :)
メルビン・ガルシア • nextgen Solutions

Please do NOT contact for support via PM or email.
TheAvenger
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Change post font

Post by TheAvenger »

I modify the files directly with Dreamweaver, aren't Notepad++ and Dreamweaver the same thing at least?
User avatar
nextgen
Registered User
Posts: 2392
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Guatemala
Name: Melvin García
Contact:

Re: Change post font

Post by nextgen »

TheAvenger wrote:I modify the files directly with Dreamweaver, aren't Notepad++ and Dreamweaver the same thing at least?
They are not the same, notepad++ is special to read codes.
Dreamweaver is more oriented design.
メルビン・ガルシア • nextgen Solutions

Please do NOT contact for support via PM or email.
TheAvenger
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Change post font

Post by TheAvenger »

Ok thanks for the information. But i think the problem doens't change, 'cos even if i edit files with Notepad++ from filesystem, i'll always need to use refresh button and consequently i'll lose the changes. So? Sorry if i appear insistent but i'm a phpBB beginner and this fact it's very important for me.
TheAvenger
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Change post font

Post by TheAvenger »

up
User avatar
HGN
Former Team Member
Posts: 4706
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Alfred
Contact:

Re: Change post font

Post by HGN »

TheAvenger wrote:i'll always need to use refresh button and consequently i'll lose the changes.
I don't understand you. Why would you loose the changes then? Did you try it that way?
  1. Edit files using Notepad++
  2. Upload files to your server using FileZilla
  3. Refresh styles Template/Theme
TheAvenger
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Change post font

Post by TheAvenger »

Yes man, it's exactly what i do. The only difference? I use Dreamweaver and a lot of people said me Notepad++ and Dremweaver are the same thing at least, so i think we should use the one which seems look better to us. I'm almost sure that if i'd use Notepad++ i'm gonna get the same problem. But wait a moment, i'm reading the support documentation and this piece attracted my attention:

Code: Select all

Note
After you change a style through the filesystem, remember to Purge the cache. To do this, press the appropriate button on the ACP index page.
Well, i've never purged the cache when i edited my files, i just pushed the refresh button. Is this the problem? I must purge the cache to not lose my changes?
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”