Quick Reply Open By Default

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Ideas Centre
Locked
User avatar
tunescool
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:08 pm
Contact:

Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by tunescool »

i looked thru the search, took all of this out of my quick reply editor but its still not open by default and the button is still there

https://www.phpbb.com/kb/article/displa ... prosilver/

Code: Select all

<form method="post" action="{U_QR_ACTION}">
		<div class="panel" id="qr_ns_editor_div">
			<div class="inner"><span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>
					<h2>{L_QUICKREPLY}</h2>
					<fieldset class="fields1">
							<dd><input type="text" name="subject" id="subject-ns" size="100" maxlength="100" tabindex="2" value="{SUBJECT}" class="inputbox autowidth" /></dd>
						<div id="message-box-ns">
						<textarea style="height: 9em;" name="message" rows="10" cols="55" tabindex="3" class="inputbox"></textarea>
					</div>
					</fieldset>
					<fieldset class="submit-buttons">
						{S_FORM_TOKEN}
						{QR_HIDDEN_FIELDS}
						<input type="submit" accesskey="s" tabindex="6" name="post" value="{L_SUBMIT}" class="button1" />&nbsp;
						<input type="submit" accesskey="f" tabindex="7" name="full_editor" value="{L_FULL_EDITOR}" class="button2" />&nbsp;
					</fieldset>
			<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
		</div>
	</form>
<form method="post" action="{U_QR_ACTION}">
	<div class="panel" style="display: none" id="qr_editor_div">
		<div class="inner"><span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>
				<h2>{L_QUICKREPLY}</h2>
				<fieldset class="fields1">
						<dd><input type="text" name="subject" id="subject" size="100" maxlength="100" tabindex="2" value="{SUBJECT}" class="inputbox autowidth" /></dd>
					<div id="message-box">
					<textarea style="height: 9em;" name="message" rows="10" cols="55" tabindex="3" class="inputbox"></textarea>
				</div>
				</fieldset>
				<fieldset class="submit-buttons">
					{S_FORM_TOKEN}
					{QR_HIDDEN_FIELDS}
					<input type="submit" accesskey="s" tabindex="6" name="post" value="{L_SUBMIT}" class="button1" />&nbsp;
					<input type="submit" accesskey="f" tabindex="7" name="full_editor" value="{L_FULL_EDITOR}" class="button2" />&nbsp;
				</fieldset>
				<a href="" class="right-box up" onclick="hide_qr(false); return false;" title="{L_COLLAPSE_QR}">{L_COLLAPSE_QR}</a>
		<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
	</div>
	<div class="panel" style="display: none" id="qr_showeditor_div" >
		<div class="inner"><span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

			<div class="content">
				<fieldset class="submit-buttons">
					<input type="submit" name="show_qr" tabindex="1" class="button2" value="{L_SHOW_QR}" onclick="hide_qr(true);return false;"/>
				</fieldset>
			</div>
		<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
	</div>
</form>
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70218
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by KevC »

This file does not appear to have either of the changes in the article in it

http://thenotablenook.com/styles/prosil ... ditor.html

Did you refresh the template cache?
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
User avatar
tunescool
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by tunescool »

yea i refreshed alot of times since then ive been doing alot

im not sure what happened i changed the one line and took the script parts out

anyway i grabbed a new template and it works

i tried changing the size of the text area days ago, i refreshed, but why doesnt it change

Code: Select all

<textarea style="height: 9em;" name="message" rows="10" cols="55" tabindex="3" class="inputbox"></textarea>
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68178
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

I don't believe "9em" is a valid height definition for a text area.

it is usually something like height: 200px;

also, since you are doing so much editing to your style give this a try;

go to admin panel main page
left menu: load settings

scroll down and set "Recompile stale style components" to yes.

purge the cache and refresh your browser.

now, you won't have to worry about refreshing your style components after every change. just refresh your browser to see the changes.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
User avatar
tunescool
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by tunescool »

my 3.0.12 download came like that

Code: Select all

    <textarea style="height: 9em;" name="message" rows="10" cols="55" tabindex="3" class="inputbox"></textarea>
thanks for telling me about this it was getting annoying

Recompile stale style components

i changed the height and added a width and its the size i want now

i have it so guests can post in all my forums, i just double checked and the button shows up for guests and takes you to the posting page. what do i need to have a quick reply for guests, modify a template or a MOD. i can search

how can i round the corners of the text reply, or anything i wanted. does border radius work on phpbb
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68178
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

by default, quick reply is available to any group that has posting permissions in a given forum.
therefore, if you have allowed guest posting in any forums then the quick reply button should show up for them.

by the way, allowing guest posting is a very good way to get your board swamped with spam.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
User avatar
tunescool
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by tunescool »

i have guest permissions set so they can post, the post reply button works for guests, why dont i have a quick reply for guests then
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68178
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

did you turn quick reply on for each of the forums you want it to show up in? if you want it for all then there is a setting in the admin panel to use it for all forums.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
User avatar
tunescool
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by tunescool »

i turned it on for every forum i made, its there its just not there guests
User avatar
5hocK
Registered User
Posts: 3011
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:00 pm
Location: England

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by 5hocK »

I don't think it works that way, there's no place for a username box or spam countermeasures if the quick reply option was capable of being used for guests.
A thread is pretty much a topic. Stop with the pedantics will ya.
User avatar
Ancient Viking
Registered User
Posts: 548
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:43 pm

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by Ancient Viking »

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:did you turn quick reply on for each of the forums you want it to show up in? if you want it for all then there is a setting in the admin panel to use it for all forums.
You know for unknown reason a least it's for me I've never got the quick reply editor to be open by default meaning that you don't need to click on the 'Quick Reply' button every time you want to post a quick reply in a thread.

To overcome this annoyance I always follow the article the OP linked to or I install the Full Quick Reply Editor/Advanced BBCode Box 3 mod.
My local forum: egetforum.nu - Offline Forum Online!
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68178
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

I wasn't saying it was open by default. I was saying that it is available to whomever has permission to post in a given forum.

IF you want it open by default you have to make the changes mentioned.

I will test this out.


robert
edit:
apprently I was wrong. there doesn't seem to be a way with permissions to allow guests to use the quick reply at all.
so, this will need to be a MOD request.

sorry about the misinformation.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
User avatar
tunescool
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by tunescool »

alrite thanks robert

does anyone know if there is a working mod already or how to add the quick reply
clight77
Registered User
Posts: 907
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 11:09 pm

Re: Quick Reply Open By Default

Post by clight77 »

For me using prosilver I removed the red stuff in 2 places from quickreply_editor.html, now it opens always and the input message text is the proper size:
<div class="panel" style="display: none" id="qr_showeditor_div" >

Using the method stated below also changed my input text size and made it to small:
OPEN styles/prosilver/template/quickreply_editor.html

FIND:
onload_functions.push('init_qr();');

REPLACE WITH:
// onload_functions.push('init_qr();');

FIND AND DELETE the one occurrence each of:
<noscript>

AND
</noscript>
Just info :)
I Follow Up On My Posts.
So Should Everybody...
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”