How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Scam Warning
Locked
User avatar
Soliloquy
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 6:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by Soliloquy »

Thanks mej284, I got it working. Do you know where to read more about phpBB3 template conditionals and control structures?
User avatar
mej284
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:38 am

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by mej284 »

Soliloquy wrote:Thanks mej284, I got it working. Do you know where to read more about phpBB3 template conditionals and control structures?
All I can suggest is read here and ask questions. I am somewhat of a newbie with all this as well. I am learning through hands on playing as my kids call it. There is a lot of good information here and a lot of great people willing to help.

I have also got some information here http://www.w3schools.com/default.asp. I am sure there are more site, I have another good friend that helps out, called google. But http://www.phpbb.com is your best source.
I do not respond to unsolicited PM's

Skin-lab styles
SubMerged Style
kipin
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:14 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by kipin »

rspowers,

Awesome code, thanks a ton!
User avatar
ameisez
Registered User
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:04 am

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by ameisez »

kuri2004 wrote:Hello,

I have the same question! After reading the whole discussion, I got confused.
I tried with the code given in the first message but it didn't work.

Could anyone summarize with the right code? I just need a left (or right) sidebar.
I agree.

Anyone who knows which code is really working please summarize.

Thanks
PHPBB on HOSTGATOR SERVER. MY PERSONAL CHOICE ;)
Need phpBB images and buttons? HIRE ME
my MOD: BB3 Media Player | a phpbb based media player
indepndent
Registered User
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 4:47 am

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by indepndent »

mukundis wrote:I have a better tute. :)
No Tables Nothing. Just DIV DIV And Pure DIVS. God I hate Tables. :(

Code: Select all

First Create a sidebar.html file in the template directory and add whatever you want.
Open template\overall_footer.html
NOTE: The reason I am putting the code in overall_footer is that I wanted to load the sidebar after my forum is rendered. As I will be displaying advertisements on the sidebar, It only makes sense to load them after the forum gets loaded so that Adsense bot can understand better as to what it needs to display.

Find

Code: Select all

<div id="page-footer">
	<div class="navbar">
Add Before

Code: Select all

<div class="page-sidebar">
<!-- INCLUDE sidebar.html -->
</div>

Save the file.

Go to Administration Panel -> Styles -> Theme and click on Edit
Find

Code: Select all

#page-body {
For Displaying Sidebar on Left Add after

Code: Select all

width:85%;
float:left
Also Remove the Following line bellow #page-body

Code: Select all

float:auto

NOTE #page-body should look like this

Code: Select all

#page-body {
float:left;
margin:4px 0pt;
width:81%;
}
Go To The Last line and add After

Code: Select all

.page-sidebar {
float:right;
margin-top:4px;
width:14%;
}




For Displaying Sidebar on Right Add after

Code: Select all

width:85%;
float:Right
Go To The Last line and add After

Code: Select all

.page-sidebar {
float:left;
margin-top:4px;
width:14%;
}


U can Play With the width to adjust the size and all. Just change the percentage.
I mean instead of 85% you can make it 80% or something.



DEMO
http://iluvdesi.com

Let me know my mistakes and any help u want.




Edit I made some typos. Corrected it. it Should Work now

Hi I have subsilve2r based styles can you please tell me how to do this with subsilver2 as well? What is the file that is edited through the ACP==> themes? Is tha something I can edit in notepad and save instead of editing it right through ACP?

Thanks
ghosh845
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:56 am

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by ghosh845 »

guys i want to put 3-4 small small adds in that side bar ....how is that plossible ...i want to put flash adds as well as banner adds (these are not from google ...these are my own adds) ...please help me in detail how to put them in the sidebar.html file(what ever it is)
thnx
Andy76
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by Andy76 »

Matthew69 wrote:ADDS A SIDEBAR TO THE RIGHT ONLY

I think you would add this code to the overall_header.html instead of the other code...

Code: Select all

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="10" cellpadding="0">
       <tr>
                  <td align="left">
and in the overall_footer.html you would put this

Code: Select all

</td>
       <td width="200" align="right" valign="top" class="bodyline">
          <table width="200" border="0" cellpadding="10" cellspacing="0" bgcolor="#CC0099">
                   <tr>
                     <td><font color="#FFFFFF" size="1" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">Right column in here..</font></td>
                   </tr>
                 </table>
       </td>
       </tr>
    </table>
ADDS A SIDEBAR TO BOTH SIDES
it you wanted one one each side you would
use this code in the overall_header.html

Code: Select all

[size=85]<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="10" cellpadding="0">
       <tr>
       <td width="200" align="left" valign="top" class="bodyline">
          <table width="200" border="0" cellpadding="10" cellspacing="0" bgcolor="#0000CC">
                   <tr>
                   <td><font color="#FFFFFF" size="1" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">Left column in here..</font></td>
                    </tr>
                  </table>
       </td>
            <td align="left">[/size]
and this code in the footer

Code: Select all

</td>
       <td width="200" align="right" valign="top" class="bodyline">
          <table width="200" border="0" cellpadding="10" cellspacing="0" bgcolor="#CC0099">
                   <tr>
                     <td><font color="#FFFFFF" size="1" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">Right column in here..</font></td>
                   </tr>
                 </table>
       </td>
       </tr>
    </table>
I have only tested the right and left separately not together. they work separately so they should together.
Where would you put the code in overall_headder and overall_footer? Do you have to replace lines of code, or just add it somewhere?
Thanks in advance
Andy76
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by Andy76 »

Is there a way to insert the side bar by editing forumlist_body.html, and viewforum_body.html?
Where abouts would I insert the line of code?
I am using the subsilver2 template, and it doesn't look quite right when done in the tutorial.
sca2face
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by sca2face »

I have followed the instructions but the ad i am trying to display isn't working, I removed the ad code and typed "this is a test" and saved the file, nothing displayed. It appears that the code is working as far as making room for the add but it is not reading from the ad html file in this instance overall_sidebar.html. any idea what is causing this and how i could get my add to work?
User avatar
Raimon
Former Team Member
Posts: 12088
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Name: Raimon Meuldijk
Contact:

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by Raimon »

Did you after you edit the file and upload it , prune the cache into your acp ?
Need phpBB installation, extenstions, Styles or integrate phpBB with you website?
Contact me @ www.raimon.nl for fair prices and good service!
sca2face
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by sca2face »

Raimon wrote:Did you after you edit the file and upload it , prune the cache into your acp ?
Prune my cache? I'm sorry i don't follow.
User avatar
Raimon
Former Team Member
Posts: 12088
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Name: Raimon Meuldijk
Contact:

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by Raimon »

After every edit you must prune the cache , you can do that with the next steps , go to your acp -> click under stats on the Purge the cache "run now" button.
Need phpBB installation, extenstions, Styles or integrate phpBB with you website?
Contact me @ www.raimon.nl for fair prices and good service!
sca2face
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by sca2face »

I finally got the add to display but now it's below the forum body, what did i do wrong? Ref http://www.sourcetotal.com
User avatar
rhythm1
Registered User
Posts: 950
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 9:23 pm
Location: Maldives

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by rhythm1 »

You did not add the CSS, or after adding it, you didnt refresh the style
ACP >> styles >> theme >> prosilver >> refresh
`Rhythm
I 'd rather live in a world with PHPBB
Where we stand and where we siT - Shit is bound to be always therE
sca2face
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by sca2face »

Did i miss the CSS section? I don't recall anything about CSS editing.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”