How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Scam Warning
Locked
sca2face
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by sca2face » Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:43 pm

I found the CSS snipet and made the change it seems this only makes the change to the theme permanent. the ad is going right below the forum body and not to the side of it. I am unsure why. Has anyone had this issue is so please tell me how you resolved it. Thank you.

User avatar
rhythm1
Registered User
Posts: 950
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 9:23 pm
Location: Maldives

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by rhythm1 » Sat Jun 14, 2008 5:23 am

can you post the CSS you added and in which file that is, and the html you added here.
Also confirm that you refreshed the style. ACP >> styles >> theme >> prosilver >> refresh
`Rhythm
I 'd rather live in a world with PHPBB
Where we stand and where we siT - Shit is bound to be always therE

mobidick
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 2:27 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by mobidick » Mon Jun 16, 2008 2:42 pm

Hi Guyz.
I checked all post, but i am confussed - - - :cry:
Can some1 please PM me or post the following info please:

I am looking to add a RIGHT sidebar for banner & Text ads (not adsense) +/- 3 ADS
& if possible please also post or PM ... how to add a AD banner under the header

* overall_header.html - Full code
* overall_footer.html - Full code
* overall_sidebar.html - what go's here - for 3 banner ads
* Admin panel > styles > edit > = full code

NOTE: i am using prosilver

Help would really be appreciated

sca2face
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by sca2face » Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:23 pm

Rythm1,
I made the change in the common.css to reflect the same edit i made in the themes in ACP.

User avatar
rhythm1
Registered User
Posts: 950
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 9:23 pm
Location: Maldives

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by rhythm1 » Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:27 pm

rhythm1 wrote:Also confirm that you refreshed the style. ACP >> styles >> theme >> prosilver >> refresh
It seems you edited it in filesystem. So confirm ^
`Rhythm
I 'd rather live in a world with PHPBB
Where we stand and where we siT - Shit is bound to be always therE

sca2face
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by sca2face » Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:40 pm

Yes, and I forgot to mention that i did do a refresh and pruned cached, but the ad is still below the forum topic body. look at my page: http://sourcetotal.com/index.php

User avatar
rhythm1
Registered User
Posts: 950
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 9:23 pm
Location: Maldives

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by rhythm1 » Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:33 pm

div class="page-sidebar" Needs to be div id="page-sidebar"

In overall_footer.html, you entered the code in the wrong place. It should be after the page-body div gets closed.
`Rhythm
I 'd rather live in a world with PHPBB
Where we stand and where we siT - Shit is bound to be always therE

sca2face
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by sca2face » Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:43 pm

Great, I'm making the alterations now.

sca2face
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by sca2face » Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:52 pm

I'm not sure i know where to place it.

User avatar
rhythm1
Registered User
Posts: 950
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 9:23 pm
Location: Maldives

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by rhythm1 » Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:08 am

Open template\overall_footer.html
NOTE: The reason I am putting the code in overall_footer is that I wanted to load the sidebar after my forum is rendered. As I will be displaying advertisements on the sidebar, It only makes sense to load them after the forum gets loaded so that Adsense bot can understand better as to what it needs to display.

Find

Code: Select all

    <div id="page-footer">
       <div class="navbar">

Add Before

Code: Select all

    <div class="page-sidebar">
    <!-- INCLUDE sidebar.html -->
    </div>
`Rhythm
I 'd rather live in a world with PHPBB
Where we stand and where we siT - Shit is bound to be always therE

Ciao121
Registered User
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 1:08 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by Ciao121 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:07 pm

I tried to add a sidebar on the right but this is where the bar is displayed... any idea?
Image
Apri il tuo forum gratuito in 1 minuto.

User avatar
Raimon
Former Team Member
Posts: 12088
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Name: Raimon Meuldijk
Contact:

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by Raimon » Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:32 pm

What is the link to your board ?
Need phpBB installation, extenstions, Styles or integrate phpBB with you website?
Contact me for fair prices and good service!

Ciao121
Registered User
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 1:08 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by Ciao121 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 8:49 am

Raimon wrote:What is the link to your board ?
Oh, I have many (ie a1k.it or divx.it) but I can't take the "error" online so now the error can't be seen.
I tried someting like 10 times ( :D ) but always the same result.
I think I'll try it on a newly installed prosilver theme to see if the error can be due a "modified" prosilver.
Apri il tuo forum gratuito in 1 minuto.

Ciao121
Registered User
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 1:08 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by Ciao121 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:24 am

Ok I think I solved.
I had:

Code: Select all

#page-body {
        width:85%;
        float:left;
	margin: 4px 0;
	clear: both;
}
and if the order is not exact it doesn't work.

it have to be:

Code: Select all

#page-body {
	margin: 4px 0;
	clear: both;
    width:85%;
    float:left;
}
Apri il tuo forum gratuito in 1 minuto.

Ciao121
Registered User
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 1:08 pm

Re: How to Add a Sidebar in prosilver Tutorial

Post by Ciao121 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:21 am

Does anybody knows how to make the sidebar eight 100% (also if it is empty)?
Apri il tuo forum gratuito in 1 minuto.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”