[How To] Modify prosilver's header

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Suggested Hosts
Gamingzoneforums
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Gamingzoneforums »

hey again still cant get this thing changed :S I have tried and tried but i must be doing something wrong :
Website : http://www.gamingzoneforums.com and the image is called GZFbanner.jpg if that makes a difference. Thanks in advance :)

User avatar
Rahber
Former Team Member
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Pakistan
Name: Rahber
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Rahber »

@ lesadale
I am getting 500 internal server error. You need to look in your hosting logs or contact your hosting provider.


@ Gamingzoneforums
Can't see changes editing styles? Changes have disappeared?

Gamingzoneforums
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Gamingzoneforums »

ignore this double post
Last edited by Gamingzoneforums on Fri Apr 22, 2011 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gamingzoneforums
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Gamingzoneforums »

is there any way i can make the forum threads appear below the header and stretch out so its the same width .. and i cant see any of the white writing as the background has gone white for parts? Thanks a million so far lads :)

User avatar
Rahber
Former Team Member
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Pakistan
Name: Rahber
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Rahber »

You have wrongly edited the files you have missed a closing div for site-description now the whole site is 70% and floated towards left.
I would suggest that you upload a new overall_header.html and again carefully follow the instructions to modify it.

Gamingzoneforums
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Gamingzoneforums »

Ok thanks i have reuploaded the whole style and done it again but when i click any of the links such as admin control panel to refresh the style it goes error 404 page not found :S

User avatar
Passus
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Passus »

How do I keep the logo but remove the header? (I don't want any color in the header. Just transparent or not there at all.)

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 22061
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Watching cricket.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Mick »

Passus wrote:How do I keep the logo but remove the header? (I don't want any color in the header. Just transparent or not there at all.)
Open /styles/yourstyle/theme/colours.css and find:

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
    background-color: #12A3EB;
    background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/bg_header.gif");
    color: #FFFFFF;
} 
Remove or comment out background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/bg_header.gif"); and edit background-color: #12A3EB; to whatever colour you need.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

Please read: “Am I In The Right Place?” before posting.

User avatar
Passus
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Passus »

Mixstar wrote: Remove or comment out background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/bg_header.gif"); and edit background-color: #12A3EB; to whatever colour you need.
Hmmm...thanks, Mixstar. Nothing happened when I tried that. But then I went into common.css and commented out

Code: Select all

background: #ebebeb none repeat-x 0 0;
and that worked.

User avatar
lesadale
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:09 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by lesadale »

I'm trying again. I had to redo everything including my amember :o .

I've only done the steps to change the header. But my header is a full length. Should I get rid of the search first? The forum is here: removed for privacy reasons

I'm trying to upload the same header I have here: http://teenbiztalk.com
Last edited by lesadale on Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ethan1341
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:37 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by ethan1341 »

http://sc2ztp.com/phpBB3/ it keeps on repeating. Also it repeats more the more i zoom out. Also the banner looks a little big

User avatar
Rahber
Former Team Member
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Pakistan
Name: Rahber
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Rahber »

@lesadale
open common.css
find

Code: Select all

#wrap {
	padding: 0 20px;
	min-width: 650px;
}
replace it with

Code: Select all

#wrap {
	padding: 0 20px;
	min-width: 650px;
         width: 872px;
         margin: 0 auto;
}
and refresh your theme. also you need to get rid of site image.

@Ethan1341
I am getting a 404 on forum and 403 on your main site.

User avatar
TheSnake
Registered User
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:36 pm
Location: Staffordshire, England, UK
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by TheSnake »

ethan1341 wrote:http://sc2ztp.com/phpBB3/ it keeps on repeating. Also it repeats more the more i zoom out. Also the banner looks a little big
Since your site is back up, it looks like you could do with a fixed width forum, if you take a look over some of the last few messages I've posted in this topic, you will find the instructions I've posted on creating a Fixed Width Forum (changing the width to your needs). Your image is 1024px wide x 256px high, so adjust my previously posted instructions to compensate for your image dimensions.

User avatar
lesadale
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:09 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by lesadale »

Trying to change colors, I messed things up and replaced all modified files with the original files. Now I cannot get me header to work again. I've followed all the tutorials, but cannot remember what I did to center my header. It is aligned right and not all of it is showing. Here is the link:

removed for privacy reasons
Last edited by lesadale on Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
lesadale
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:09 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by lesadale »

This is more than just a bump....

I've got my site looking almost exactly the way I want it. But there is one or two bugs that need to be ironed out and my header is one of them. The should look like this:

http://teenbiztalk.com

but it is pushed to the right and not all of the right side is visible. Like this:

removed for privacy reasons

Could someone please help me move it to the center?

If you need more information, please just ask and I'll see if I can get it.
Last edited by lesadale on Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”