[How To] Modify prosilver's header

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Scam Warning
ReffuB
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by ReffuB »

You know how to do ?
User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by muggins »

I know how to begin. It shouldn't be hard at all, but my time isn't my own for a few days.
Muggins
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 23057
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Mick »

ReffuB wrote:Is it possible to give every forum a specific header?
http://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/mod/c ... ader_logo/
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by muggins »

Thanks! I should have known someone did it already. :geek:
Muggins
ReffuB
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by ReffuB »

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... &t=2122073 it seems that you dont need a MOD for manage the header, but i have a problem, maybe you guys can help.
tany3450
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:15 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by tany3450 »

hello.I have one problem. I Add a Custom Header Image to my site . There is no problem with 1024x768 resolution. But in other resolutions I see my image side by side, 2 times.. HOw can I fix it ? thank u
tany3450
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:15 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by tany3450 »

tany3450 wrote:hello.I have one problem. I Add a Custom Header Image to my site . There is no problem with 1024x768 resolution. But in other resolutions I see my image side by side, 2 times.. HOw can I fix it ? thank u

help pls
User avatar
Rahber
Former Team Member
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Pakistan
Name: Rahber
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Rahber »

@ tany3450
you can use css background-repeat:no-repeat; this will display the header image only once but if the screen size is bigger blank space will be displayed around header image your best way is to fix your width Fixed width prosilver
tany3450
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:15 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by tany3450 »

rahber wrote:@ tany3450
you can use css background-repeat:no-repeat; this will display the header image only once but if the screen size is bigger blank space will be displayed around header image your best way is to fix your width Fixed width prosilver
I tried ''fixed width prosilver'' .. Maybe it can be my last cure for this problem.. How can do this? css''background-repeat:no-repeat; '' . THanks for answer
tany3450
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:15 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by tany3450 »

anyone here ?? :cry:
User avatar
Rahber
Former Team Member
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Pakistan
Name: Rahber
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Rahber »

in colours.css change your .headerbar to this keeping your image name the same as you wanted.

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
   background-color: #12A3EB;
   background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/bg_header.gif");
   background-repeat:no-repeat;
   color: #FFFFFF;
}
Refresh your theme.
psmmowers
Registered User
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:41 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by psmmowers »

Hello All.

Can someone tell me how to centre my sit_logo. It is currently at the bottom of the left hand side and i want it in the middle left hand side.

site -http://forum.psmlawnmowers.co.uk

Can you also tell me how to move the forum name down to the centre as that is at the top.

Advice appreciated
Thanks

PSM
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 23057
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Mick »

psmmowers wrote:Hello All.

Can someone tell me how to centre my sit_logo.
Try this to centre your logo:

Make a copy of common.css and save it somewhere safe.

Open common.css and find:

Code: Select all

    #logo {
       float: left;
       width: auto;
       padding: 10px 13px 0 10px;
    }   
Replace with:

Code: Select all

    #logo {
       width: auto;
       padding: 0px;
    }   
Find:

Code: Select all

    #site-description {
       float: left;
       width: 70%;
    }   
Replace with:

Code: Select all

   #site-description {
      text-align: center;
      width: 100%;
    }   
You may find the gap between the banner and the navbar is too big so you can edit:

Code: Select all

<h1>{SITENAME}</h1>  
To:

Code: Select all

<h1 style="display: none;">{SITENAME}</h1>   
And or:

Code: Select all

<p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>   
To:

Code: Select all

<p style="display: none;">{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>   
From overall_header.html if you aren't using them. This last part basically stops the site name and site description from displaying rather than removing them altogether which can effect the SEO.

I would also recommend moving the search box from the header to the navbar (much neater) using this: Remove search box & add search icon in navbar
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
psmmowers
Registered User
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:41 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by psmmowers »

Thanks Mixstar.

I will have a go at it later.

PSMMOWERS
User avatar
lesadale
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:09 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by lesadale »

I've tried to add my header according to the tutorial. Then I tried to remove the site logo, name and description to see if that would work. Nothing worked. Then when I re-uploaded the original files to my cpanel, my forum disappeared. I cannot find anything! The admin is gone so I cannot refresh the template and theme. I've never had this much trouble customizing anything! Can someone tell me what to do about this or will I have to start over.

my site is: removed for privacy reasons
Last edited by lesadale on Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”