[How To] Modify prosilver's header

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Scam Warning
AbbeyG
Registered User
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:14 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by AbbeyG »

And how would you do that? I have this rounded CSS corners implemented, so it might pose a problem, because I want to retain the banner, but my forum should have that white wraps with curved background in the area extending from the navbar to footer.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67253
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

just replace the background image of the headerbar with that banner.

first you would want to finish creating that banner. put your site logo or whatever you want in the image.

make it a good size to work as the headerbar background replacement.

there is info in the first post of this topic on how to replace the headerbar background image.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

themarino
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by themarino »

EDIT, please ignore this post, I'd omitted an alteration in themes and I've fixed that now, all is well once more :-)







I wonder if someone could please help me out with a minor but irritating issue with amendments to my headerbar.

I mentioned in an other thread that I've installed a new mod called oneall social login. My problem is not exactly related to that mod but there is an impact.

If you look at this image you'll see where the social login buttons appear correctly
sociallogin.gif
sociallogin.gif (17.48 KiB) Viewed 1145 times
So far so good. Now when I make the changes to the overall_header.html to take into account my new headerbar image (stored as main_logo.gif in images) and set the width as in step 4 then the social login buttons move to a new location as in this image here:
sociallogin2.gif
sociallogin2.gif (31.28 KiB) Viewed 1145 times
Can anyone help me solve this? I want the buttons in the location as they were in the first image, i.e. next to the search box. What am I doing wrong here?

My board can be found at http://www.themarino.co.uk/forum

Man y thanks in advance for help!
Cheers

keramik
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:06 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by keramik »

Hello guys!
I've got some problems with mine phpbb forum's header. It shifts over forum body. I've made some screenshots for you.
First is as Newly registered user
Second is as Administrator/Moderator/Member
Third is as a guest (without logging in).

Maybe it is because first thing I made was deleting all standart roles in phpbb and creating new ones (in Admin panel --> Forum groups). But still, why then Admin can view normally, but guests got shifts :(
Maybe I have to fix forum code, but I thought that there is one code for all roles...

Any ideas?

Forum adress is HondaForum.lv
Attachments
Awfull shift when I'm logged in as New user
Awfull shift when I'm logged in as New user
5_inside_user.png (336.99 KiB) Viewed 1110 times
No shift when I'm logged in as Moderator or Member
No shift when I'm logged in as Moderator or Member
3_Inside.png (344.19 KiB) Viewed 1110 times
Shift when I'm viewing forum without logging in - as Guest
Shift when I'm viewing forum without logging in - as Guest
1_Guest.png (331.41 KiB) Viewed 1110 times

keramik
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:06 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by keramik »

I've managed that Search form disappears for New user and Guests and then all shifts. But in forum rules everyone marked as able to Search forum... Strange things... Any ideas why it happends?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67253
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

1. you did not close the div for the header background image.

<div style="height: 140px;"> <!--dobavil dlja shapki foruma-->
this should have a closing </div>

here:
<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
</div>
like this:
<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
</div></div>


2.. you have specified 140pixel height for your background image but the image is actually 200 pixels high.
you should change height: 140px to height: 190px

3. not sure how this is working, but you have the background image for the header set to a different file name that what is actually showing.

the header background image is:
http://www.hondaforum.lv/styles/prosilv ... pka_v4.png
in your colours.css file, you show this for the background image:
background-image: url("/styles/prosilver/theme/images/shapka_v4.gif");

so, basically , you need to clean it up. go back to the instructions you followed to make the changes and check all your edits.


luck,
robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

keramik
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:06 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by keramik »

Thanx alot, I'll check out this :)


Have no idea... I've changed all necessary fles, but Web browser still shows old version, even Header is 140 px large instead of 190...

Hmmm, maybe it somehow depends on Google Chrome chaching or something like that.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67253
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

did you refresh your template in the admin panel styles section?

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

keramik
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:06 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by keramik »

Finally!
After refreshing it shows like I wanted to be shown :-D
Thanx alot for advices!

Ron Bosch
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:18 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Ron Bosch »

i have solved the problem
no help needed anymore
:P

User avatar
Ancient Viking
Registered User
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:43 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Ancient Viking »

Since this tutorial is only for prosilver's header then why not extend this tutorial to every aspect of modifications in the prosilver style. Because it would also be convenient for most people to read a complete tutorial for the prosilver style in one place especially when it's the default style during the installation.

Just a humble request. :)
My local forum: egetforum.nu - Offline Forum Online!

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67253
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

Ancient Viking wrote:Since this tutorial is only for prosilver's header then why not extend this tutorial to every aspect of modifications in the prosilver style. Because it would also be convenient for most people to read a complete tutorial for the prosilver style in one place especially when it's the default style during the installation.

Just a humble request. :)
why would you want that? it would be very confusing. besides, there is usually very little modifications done to any other part of the style.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

User avatar
Ancient Viking
Registered User
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:43 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Ancient Viking »

Why I want to have that is my curiosity I suppose. Because I want to learn more about phpBB in general especially how to modify styles to get what I want to see on my forum.
My local forum: egetforum.nu - Offline Forum Online!

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by muggins »

I was young when I went viking too, lad.

Sorry, I just had to... :mrgreen:

The best way to learn is what I did, and so many others here have: Dive in!

Break things on your test board, but do things one at a time. You'll pick up the coding style and dependencies quicker than you might think.

W3Schools is a very good resource for things you might want to do stylistically, and for effects, search for free JavaScripts..

You'll get a good idea what you can do and not. Enjoy!
Muggins

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67253
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

my point is that the header and footer and the css are really all you will want to make changes in unless you are creating a whole new type of style.

if you edit the header and/or the footer to add banners or links or ads etc. and if you edit the css to change colors , images etc. then that is about all you would ever want to change.

all the rest of the files are just added to those and take on the changes you make to the css etc.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”