Page 122 of 136

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:46 pm
by AbbeyG
And how would you do that? I have this rounded CSS corners implemented, so it might pose a problem, because I want to retain the banner, but my forum should have that white wraps with curved background in the area extending from the navbar to footer.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:46 pm
by Lumpy Burgertushie
just replace the background image of the headerbar with that banner.

first you would want to finish creating that banner. put your site logo or whatever you want in the image.

make it a good size to work as the headerbar background replacement.

there is info in the first post of this topic on how to replace the headerbar background image.


robert

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:49 am
by themarino
EDIT, please ignore this post, I'd omitted an alteration in themes and I've fixed that now, all is well once more :-)







I wonder if someone could please help me out with a minor but irritating issue with amendments to my headerbar.

I mentioned in an other thread that I've installed a new mod called oneall social login. My problem is not exactly related to that mod but there is an impact.

If you look at this image you'll see where the social login buttons appear correctly
sociallogin.gif
sociallogin.gif (17.48 KiB) Viewed 1163 times
So far so good. Now when I make the changes to the overall_header.html to take into account my new headerbar image (stored as main_logo.gif in images) and set the width as in step 4 then the social login buttons move to a new location as in this image here:
sociallogin2.gif
sociallogin2.gif (31.28 KiB) Viewed 1163 times
Can anyone help me solve this? I want the buttons in the location as they were in the first image, i.e. next to the search box. What am I doing wrong here?

My board can be found at http://www.themarino.co.uk/forum

Man y thanks in advance for help!
Cheers

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:18 am
by keramik
Hello guys!
I've got some problems with mine phpbb forum's header. It shifts over forum body. I've made some screenshots for you.
First is as Newly registered user
Second is as Administrator/Moderator/Member
Third is as a guest (without logging in).

Maybe it is because first thing I made was deleting all standart roles in phpbb and creating new ones (in Admin panel --> Forum groups). But still, why then Admin can view normally, but guests got shifts :(
Maybe I have to fix forum code, but I thought that there is one code for all roles...

Any ideas?

Forum adress is HondaForum.lv

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:00 pm
by keramik
I've managed that Search form disappears for New user and Guests and then all shifts. But in forum rules everyone marked as able to Search forum... Strange things... Any ideas why it happends?

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:42 pm
by Lumpy Burgertushie
1. you did not close the div for the header background image.

<div style="height: 140px;"> <!--dobavil dlja shapki foruma-->
this should have a closing </div>

here:
<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
</div>
like this:
<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
</div></div>


2.. you have specified 140pixel height for your background image but the image is actually 200 pixels high.
you should change height: 140px to height: 190px

3. not sure how this is working, but you have the background image for the header set to a different file name that what is actually showing.

the header background image is:
http://www.hondaforum.lv/styles/prosilv ... pka_v4.png
in your colours.css file, you show this for the background image:
background-image: url("/styles/prosilver/theme/images/shapka_v4.gif");

so, basically , you need to clean it up. go back to the instructions you followed to make the changes and check all your edits.


luck,
robert

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:24 am
by keramik
Thanx alot, I'll check out this :)


Have no idea... I've changed all necessary fles, but Web browser still shows old version, even Header is 140 px large instead of 190...

Hmmm, maybe it somehow depends on Google Chrome chaching or something like that.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 3:03 pm
by Lumpy Burgertushie
did you refresh your template in the admin panel styles section?

robert

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:41 am
by keramik
Finally!
After refreshing it shows like I wanted to be shown :-D
Thanx alot for advices!

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:47 am
by Ron Bosch
i have solved the problem
no help needed anymore
:P

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:29 pm
by Ancient Viking
Since this tutorial is only for prosilver's header then why not extend this tutorial to every aspect of modifications in the prosilver style. Because it would also be convenient for most people to read a complete tutorial for the prosilver style in one place especially when it's the default style during the installation.

Just a humble request. :)

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:25 pm
by Lumpy Burgertushie
Ancient Viking wrote:Since this tutorial is only for prosilver's header then why not extend this tutorial to every aspect of modifications in the prosilver style. Because it would also be convenient for most people to read a complete tutorial for the prosilver style in one place especially when it's the default style during the installation.

Just a humble request. :)
why would you want that? it would be very confusing. besides, there is usually very little modifications done to any other part of the style.


robert

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 12:47 am
by Ancient Viking
Why I want to have that is my curiosity I suppose. Because I want to learn more about phpBB in general especially how to modify styles to get what I want to see on my forum.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 1:14 am
by muggins
I was young when I went viking too, lad.

Sorry, I just had to... :mrgreen:

The best way to learn is what I did, and so many others here have: Dive in!

Break things on your test board, but do things one at a time. You'll pick up the coding style and dependencies quicker than you might think.

W3Schools is a very good resource for things you might want to do stylistically, and for effects, search for free JavaScripts..

You'll get a good idea what you can do and not. Enjoy!

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:21 am
by Lumpy Burgertushie
my point is that the header and footer and the css are really all you will want to make changes in unless you are creating a whole new type of style.

if you edit the header and/or the footer to add banners or links or ads etc. and if you edit the css to change colors , images etc. then that is about all you would ever want to change.

all the rest of the files are just added to those and take on the changes you make to the css etc.


robert