[How To] Modify prosilver's header

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Suggested Hosts
bobby2009
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:36 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by bobby2009 »

Hey i seem to be having a bit of trouble changing parts of the layout i would like to have the search bar next to the FAQ i have found some code in this post however the changes i have made are not working and i have hardly any coding experience, i have also found the search bar to display "searchá¬" the forum can be viewed here http://www.davesinplymouth.co.uk/forum.html any help would be fantastically appreciated thanks David

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by muggins »

You closed the <div> for your wrap after the headerbar, but before the rest of the forum body. Try moving the closer (</div>) to the page footer?

I can't be more clear, sorry. Having the forum in a iframe makes it hard for me to see the code, and I'm not used to Firebug... :oops:
Muggins

bobby2009
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:36 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by bobby2009 »

Hey yeah sorry that was one of the easiest ways i decided to incorporate it into my website, the actual forum is located at http://www.davesinplymouth.co.uk/phpBB3/ hopefully this helps a bit more and once again any help would be fantastic as i have very limited knowledge.

User avatar
Ibedejo
Registered User
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:12 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Ibedejo »

Hi bobby,

to be frank: placing the search box to the left or right of the FAQ link would look a little strange to my eyes ;)

Would this be acceptable as well?
sesrchbox.jpg
sesrchbox.jpg (8.5 KiB) Viewed 512 times

If not you could try this approach (pls backup the file first):
open "overall_header.html"

Cut out the code for the search box starting with

Code: Select all

<li><div id="search-box">
and ending with

Code: Select all

</div></li>

and paste it either before (to have it to the left) or after (to have it to the right of FAQ):

Code: Select all

<li class="icon-faq"><a href="{U_FAQ}" title="{L_FAQ_EXPLAIN}">{L_FAQ}</a></li>
To move the box up and bring it in vertical line withe the rest of the links you then have to eliminate the top margin:

change

Code: Select all

<div id="search-box">
to

Code: Select all

<div id="search-box" style="margin-top: 0px;">
You might as well need to adjust the left or right margin to keep "a respectful distance" to the FAQ link ;)

scorpio4646
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by scorpio4646 »

Hi Folks

Just tried to add my own image to header and it woked fine, except that wher my image ends on the right of page I get second image starting (same one) is this normal

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by muggins »

You'll have to make your image wider to fit. Link to your board?
Muggins

User avatar
Ancient Viking
Registered User
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:43 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Ancient Viking »

I don't know if anyone have mention this before, but I think most people here doesn't want go to through +1800 posts just to see if there is a post that has an answer to your question. ;)

Anyway what I want to know is; how do you make a background image selector that's similar to this site and I know that site is running IP Board, so how to do this would probably require a lot of work or it could even be impossible in phpBB.

If you look on the top right you'll see the "View New Content" link and to the right is there a face down arrow. If you click on that arrow you'll have a small box with a couple of background images to select and just click on the "x" corner to close it. You can try it if you want.

It would be cool to have a background image selector in a phpBB forum. :)
My local forum: egetforum.nu - Offline Forum Online!

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67382
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

I can't imagine why you would want it but it would require a MOD. check the MODs section and if you find nothing then you can request someone to create one for you in the MOD request section.

luck,
robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

scorpio4646
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by scorpio4646 »


scorpio4646
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by scorpio4646 »

what would happen if I centered the image

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by muggins »

The simplest thing to do would be this.
Muggins

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67382
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

scorpio4646 wrote:here you go
http://1club4alltv.com
you can center the image in the available space and give it a no repeat command.

or, you could let the image repeat but make a new image without the site title on it.
then you can simply put the site title over the image using text

or, you could do as muggins suggested, make prosilver fixed width or use a different style that is already fixed width like this one: https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/styl ... tion/demo/

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

scorpio4646
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by scorpio4646 »

Thanks for that Lumpy can you tell me how to put the "no repeat" bit in and where to place it

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67382
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

http://1club4alltv.com/phpbb/styles/pro ... olours.css

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
	background-color: #12A3EB;
	background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/blogheader14DecArch.jpg");
	color: #FFFFFF;
}
change to:

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
	background-color: #12A3EB;
	background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/blogheader14DecArch.jpg");
       background-repeat:no-repeat;
	color: #FFFFFF;
}
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

scorpio4646
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by scorpio4646 »

Brilliant thanks a million

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”