Page 21 of 136

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 5:45 pm
by jtryptophan
Thanks for all the wonderful help. Earlier in this thread you showed us how to make a "Search" icon after the "FAQ" icon in the header as it appears on this page. My problem is this, when I click the "Search" button, the Search page comes up but the 'Search" icon disappears from the header. I notice that it does not happen on this site, so I'm sure it's not normal. Minor glitch but I hope you can solve it for me. Thanks in advance.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 10:53 am
by farid
Hi all,

Can somebody give me support.

I managed by changing the color of bg_header.gif to make the upper part of the banner white.

Now please take a look at my site: http://www.bennis.nu

How do I remove (change the colour) of the blue bar beneath my logo ?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 5:13 am
by prototech
guionbajo wrote:hello, i don't know how to center the site_logo ... i have removed the search bar, and the site name and description, so now i want to center my site logo. can anybody help me?? thanks
In common.css, find:

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
	background: #ebebeb none repeat-x 0 0;
Change to:

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
	background: #ebebeb none repeat-x center 0;
ghosh845 wrote:well i have some problem ...have a look at my website http://crazzyustad.com/forums/index.php .....u will find that there is a blue color blank space if it opened with ie6 ....plus when u click the banner its not redirecting to my home page....i have tried out the tutorials but its not working...thnx
To get rid of the blue, remove the background-color for headerbar in colours.css. In order to have the link direct you to your site, you have to change the href attribute from {U_INDEX} to your site's URL.
lastdon wrote:is there a way to

make an image like the one above with buttons? as in this forum?

In the header i want a customer image that i have, but i want buttons underneath the image.. anyway?
I will create a tutorial on adding a menu that matches prosilver, sometime in the future. For now, you could try searching the web, I'm sure there's several sites offering tutorials on how to add a menu to your site.
jtryptophan wrote:Thanks for all the wonderful help. Earlier in this thread you showed us how to make a "Search" icon after the "FAQ" icon in the header as it appears on this page. My problem is this, when I click the "Search" button, the Search page comes up but the 'Search" icon disappears from the header. I notice that it does not happen on this site, so I'm sure it's not normal. Minor glitch but I hope you can solve it for me. Thanks in advance.
Change:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_SEARCH and not S_IN_SEARCH -->
To:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_SEARCH  -->
farid wrote:How do I remove (change the colour) of the blue bar beneath my logo ?
Remove the background-color of .headerbar in colours.css

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 12:43 pm
by Ruyan Ve
Great stuff, thank you!

Maybe you can help me with some other problems as well. I did a search but couldn't find an answer and didn't want to start a new thread...

I'd like to delete the top margin right above the header (1) *solved* and make the blue bar below the header transparent (2).

Image

And I was wondering, if it's possible to have the header logo wider than the actual forum form. When I change the wrap, the header gets changed as well...

*edit*
Ok, so I managed to make the forum smaler while keeping the header width, but now I need to center it. Any idea?

*edit 2*
I did it with

Code: Select all

margin-left: auto;
margin-right: auto;
Image

Hope I'm not to much of a bother!
Thank you!

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 1:23 pm
by shadow_coder
3. Remove Site Name and Description

it doesn't work , i have deleted

Code: Select all

<h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
<p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>
but my Site Name & Site desc. show again in my header .

* resolved : i have purged the cache and now all works fine.


Great topic , thank you.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 3:25 pm
by stephenhart
lastdon wrote:is there a way to

make an image like the one above with buttons? as in this forum?

In the header i want a customer image that i have, but i want buttons underneath the image.. anyway?
I asked the same thing a while back, and would still like to reproduce that look, and I'm new to all-CSS site building.

Meanwhile, as a workaround, I'm using the method I posted about earlier in this thread.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 5:39 pm
by Kyle D.
Can somebody help me change the color to the forum boarder?

http://www.archeryforum.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=4

You see how the boarder to the topic changed to exactly what the image is of the header, can somebody help me change that back to where it should be?

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:18 pm
by Ruyan Ve
Kyle D. wrote:Can somebody help me change the color to the forum boarder?

http://www.archeryforum.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=4

You see how the boarder to the topic changed to exactly what the image is of the header, can somebody help me change that back to where it should be?
I'm not sure if I understood you completly, but if you want to change the colour of the topic border open colours.css and find

Code: Select all

.forabg {
	background-color:
and

Code: Select all

.forumbg {
	background-color:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:46 pm
by Kyle D.
nm I got it fixed, thanks for your help.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:06 pm
by prototech
Ruyan Ve wrote:and make the blue bar below the header transparent
Remove the background-color for .navbar in colours.css.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 9:55 am
by Ruyan Ve
Hehe yeah already did that, but thank you.
Man I learned a lot yesterday! After posting my three questions I managed to get them all done by myself (hooray for trial and error!), but now I'm kinda stuck.

Anyway, I don't wanna hijack this thread and my first three questions were offtopic enough. I'll try some more and do a search.

Thank you! :)

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:45 pm
by burntees
this installation guide is awesome. One newbie dumb question...what size should i make the banner?

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 5:01 pm
by *Christian*
make it to whatever suits your needs.

I have found that a 150px suits my forum splendidly, but something else might suit yours ;)

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:11 pm
by jtryptophan
In order to have the link direct you to your site, you have to change the href attribute from {U_INDEX} to your site's URL.

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:14 pm
by jtryptophan
as i type i notice i forgot the px after width...sorry you can remove.

How would I put a link to a Chat room on my header beside FAQ, Search, Login?

Is that possible. Thanks in advance.