[How To] Modify prosilver's header

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Suggested Hosts
Locked
User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by muggins » Fri May 22, 2009 3:46 pm

In prosilver the results are less than appealing, but you can do it. Here's the snippet from styles/prosilver/theme/colours.css for my board:

Code: Select all

html, body {
    color: #536482;
    background-color: #ACA8A1;

    background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/golden.jpg");
    background-attachment: fixed;
}
 
Muggins

castorcanadensis
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 9:22 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by castorcanadensis » Sat May 23, 2009 5:33 pm

Bump.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Many thanks
Graham.

castorcanadensis
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 9:22 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by castorcanadensis » Sun May 24, 2009 6:11 pm

castorcanadensis wrote:I'm having a silly problem with the top of my forum since incorporating a banner image. I wonder if anyone can help me?

The site is here: http://www.informa-in-touch.org. You'll notice that the "buttons menu" and the block with the link to 'board index' and so on, are just slightly narrower than the rest of the forum.

There is also a tiny 'nick' in the top right hand side of the banner that is not on the image itself and I think is a vestige of a white corner from something.

Initially I thought this was due to a problem with the button menu but the author of that mod seems adamant that it is not.

Any help would be really appreciated.
Many thanks
Graham.
Sorry, am I doing something wrong? No one seems to be replying. Should I submit this via a different thread or in some other way?

Many thanks
Graham.

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by muggins » Sun May 24, 2009 7:12 pm

It takes a long time to get responses in this thread. I have unanswered questions here, too. :|

I have looked at your site, using Firefox' Firebug plugin, but without more skill, I'd have to play with your CSS and images.

Sorry!
Muggins

castorcanadensis
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 9:22 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by castorcanadensis » Tue May 26, 2009 12:28 am

muggins wrote:It takes a long time to get responses in this thread. I have unanswered questions here, too. :|

I have looked at your site, using Firefox' Firebug plugin, but without more skill, I'd have to play with your CSS and images.

Sorry!
Muggins. Thanks for looking anyway. Best wishes, Graham.

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by muggins » Tue May 26, 2009 12:49 am

You are very welcome.

I should try not to do things on my own: I screwed my board this evening, thinking I could code... :oops:
Muggins

User avatar
prototech
Former Team Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by prototech » Tue May 26, 2009 2:35 am

sicem75 wrote:Thank you hard Style. one more thing, I am having a problem getting my
Topics -------REPLIES-----VIEWS-----LAST POST to line up on the message board
[...]
The problem seems to arise from the text editor that you used to edit the file. Try using Notepad++.
castorcanadensis wrote:I'm having a silly problem with the top of my forum since incorporating a banner image. I wonder if anyone can help me?

The site is here: http://www.informa-in-touch.org. You'll notice that the "buttons menu" and the block with the link to 'board index' and so on, are just slightly narrower than the rest of the forum.
[...]
In overall_header.html, find:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_MENU_ENABLED -->
      <span class="corners-bottom" style="height:0px;"><span></span></span></div>
Before, add:

Code: Select all

</div>
Purge your cache.
Need help with MOD/style installations or other phpBB problems? Contact me for a quote.

castorcanadensis
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 9:22 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by castorcanadensis » Wed May 27, 2009 9:16 am

prototech wrote:
castorcanadensis wrote:I'm having a silly problem with the top of my forum since incorporating a banner image. I wonder if anyone can help me?

The site is here: http://www.informa-in-touch.org. You'll notice that the "buttons menu" and the block with the link to 'board index' and so on, are just slightly narrower than the rest of the forum.
[...]
In overall_header.html, find:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_MENU_ENABLED -->
      <span class="corners-bottom" style="height:0px;"><span></span></span></div>
Before, add:

Code: Select all

</div>
Purge your cache.
Prototech...

You are a star! Thank you VERY much. Should you ever be in Oxford UK, please let me know - I should be delighted to treat you to a pint of our best local ale!

Many thanks. Graham.

User avatar
napus
Registered User
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:01 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by napus » Fri May 29, 2009 5:17 pm

How can I move header down i like little space on the top of my forum like this one ??

User avatar
prototech
Former Team Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by prototech » Fri May 29, 2009 8:25 pm

In common.css, find:

Code: Select all

body {
	/* Text-Sizing with ems: http://www.clagnut.com/blog/348/ */
	font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
	color: #828282;
	background-color: #FFFFFF;
	/*font-size: 62.5%;			 This sets the default font size to be equivalent to 10px */
	font-size: 10px;
	margin: 0;
	padding: 12px 0;
}
Change padding: 12px 0; to padding: 20px 0 12px 0;
Adjust 20px to suit your needs, then refresh your theme - ACP => Styles => Style Components => Themes.
Need help with MOD/style installations or other phpBB problems? Contact me for a quote.

User avatar
napus
Registered User
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:01 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by napus » Sat May 30, 2009 7:50 am

prototech wrote:In common.css, find:

Code: Select all

body {
	/* Text-Sizing with ems: http://www.clagnut.com/blog/348/ */
	font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
	color: #828282;
	background-color: #FFFFFF;
	/*font-size: 62.5%;			 This sets the default font size to be equivalent to 10px */
	font-size: 10px;
	margin: 0;
	padding: 12px 0;
}
Change padding: 12px 0; to padding: 20px 0 12px 0;
Adjust 20px to suit your needs, then refresh your theme - ACP => Styles => Style Components => Themes.
Thank You

own3dbydsquared
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 5:39 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by own3dbydsquared » Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:19 pm

I need some help getting the header image to link correctly. I got it to link but it messed up the navbar and the site description and name. It moved the site description name down into the navbar section. Here is my colours.css

Code: Select all

a#header-link {
  display: block;
  width: 200px;
  height: 150px;
  text-indent: -1000px;
}

eyeforbeauty
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:22 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by eyeforbeauty » Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:34 pm

sorry about my question, don't have time to look further; got dizzy with so much information from the different threads using the search...and it is 2:28am now! anyway, how do I place introduction texts at the Board Index after the header image?

Also, I don't know why even though, I placed the purple codes:

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
	background-color: #900c70;
	background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/bg_header.gif");
	color: #FFFFFF;
	[color=#400080]background-repeat:no-repeat;[/color]
} 
the image wouldn't stop repeating towards the right?

http://www.womanoftheearth.tv/forum/ind ... 85751c2f59

the site is still a mess... i am very much a newbie...

thanks for your help.
Last edited by camm15h on Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Code tags added...

User avatar
prototech
Former Team Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by prototech » Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:53 am

own3dbydsquared wrote:I need some help getting the header image to link correctly. I got it to link but it messed up the navbar and the site description and name. It moved the site description name down into the navbar section. Here is my colours.css

Code: Select all

a#header-link {
  display: block;
  width: 200px;
  height: 150px;
  text-indent: -1000px;
}
Can you post a link to your board, please? :)
eyeforbeauty wrote:how do I place introduction texts at the Board Index after the header image?
In overall_header.html, find:

Code: Select all

		<div class="navbar">
Before, add:

Code: Select all

		<div class="panel bg1">
			<div class="inner"><span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>
			<h3>Welcome</h3>
			Welcome to my site!
			<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
		</div>
Refresh your template.
eyeforbeauty wrote:the image wouldn't stop repeating towards the right?
Refresh your theme.
Need help with MOD/style installations or other phpBB problems? Contact me for a quote.

own3dbydsquared
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 5:39 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by own3dbydsquared » Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:25 pm

prototech wrote:
own3dbydsquared wrote:I need some help getting the header image to link correctly. I got it to link but it messed up the navbar and the site description and name. It moved the site description name down into the navbar section. Here is my colours.css

Code: Select all

a#header-link {
  display: block;
  width: 200px;
  height: 150px;
  text-indent: -1000px;
}
Can you post a link to your board, please? :)
Yes it is here
Last edited by own3dbydsquared on Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”