[2.0.6] FIND - Forum Integrated News Delivery - Input

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.

Rating:

Excellent!
93
62%
Very Good
34
23%
Good
14
9%
Fair
3
2%
Poor
6
4%
 
Total votes: 150

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

|GM| wrote: Completed: with problems:
http://slashdot.org/slashdot.rdf

There's a problem with that feed. Try browsing to it, and you'll see it doesn't work. Do you have any urls for the others you tried?
Defend the game:
Image

|GM|
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 9:44 pm

Post by |GM| »


netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

That's strange because i've just tested all of them without any problems :?

I'll try and get some debug stuff together for you so we can see where it's going wrong.
Defend the game:
Image

|GM|
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 9:44 pm

Post by |GM| »

Thanks, i'll be waiting :)

Edit: Weeeeeeird, Just now I tested for a last time and worked fine :?

Edit 2: And now, after reinstalling the forum from zero (problems with other mod) and reinstalling this mod, well... it's not working again :(
The same error than before :?

Crumpet2k3
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 12:04 pm

Post by Crumpet2k3 »

I am Seeming to Have a Problem with this Mod There is No News Feed Sources in the List Can some 1 help this i my first Mod i have ever done and i am really BeMufled

User avatar
Haywood Jahelpme
Registered User
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 9:16 am
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Post by Haywood Jahelpme »

You have to find them. There is a link in the Admin Panel. That is a good starting place....

[edit] Also be on the lookout for the Orange XML or RSS button when you visit news-y sites[/edit]

Crumpet2k3
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 12:04 pm

Post by Crumpet2k3 »

i dont understand what you mean

i keep getting this


Completed: successfully:
None


Completed: with problems:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/syndication/feeds/ ... rss091.xml


http://www.computerworld.com/news/xml/0,5000,597,00.xml

|GM|
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 9:44 pm

Post by |GM| »

|GM| wrote: Thanks, i'll be waiting :)

Edit: Weeeeeeird, Just now I tested for a last time and worked fine :?

Edit 2: And now, after reinstalling the forum from zero (problems with other mod) and reinstalling this mod, well... it's not working again :(
The same error than before :?


Ok... after some more testing I think I have my problem discovered, my host doesn't allow outside connection. For example I can include a local rdf in the server and works fine, but if I link to other site it's doesn't work...

User avatar
Haywood Jahelpme
Registered User
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 9:16 am
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Post by Haywood Jahelpme »

Crumpet2k3 wrote: i dont understand what you mean

i keep getting this


Completed: successfully:
None


Completed: with problems:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/syndication/feeds/ ... rss091.xml


http://www.computerworld.com/news/xml/0,5000,597,00.xml
I take it nothing is showing up in your configured forums? That one works fine for me. Does it do that with all other feeds? Not sure what the problem is here, but I bet netclectic can figure it out if you give him enough data...


[edit] after thinking about it for a second, it looks like you are running two feeds at the same time. Try doing just one, and you will see that the second one you listed is having some problems...[/edit]

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

|GM| wrote: Ok... after some more testing I think I have my problem discovered, my host doesn't allow outside connection. For example I can include a local rdf in the server and works fine, but if I link to other site it's doesn't work...

Did you manage to work around this?
You could do a two stage process, use wget (assuming you're on linux) to grab the rss file and store it locally then do the insert.
Defend the game:
Image

dwarves
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 10:15 am

error message every time i try to feed news....!

Post by dwarves »

I receive this error message every time i try to feed news....!

MY FORUM ERROR PAGE!


any idea???

|GM|
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 9:44 pm

Post by |GM| »

netclectic wrote: Did you manage to work around this?


For external files no, but anyway, I wanted this mod for interchanging news between the original site and the forum, therefore, all the files are, already, local.

pengrus
Registered User
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2002 6:13 am
Contact:

Post by pengrus »

I was upgrading this great mod from 0.9.6 Beta to current 1.0.2 version today by uploading and replacing all the files (there is no upgrade instruction on 0.9.6 to 1.0.0, and I got the following error:

Code: Select all

Couldn't obtain newsfeeds list

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1054 Unknown column 'n.user_id' in 'where clause'

SELECT f.forum_name, n.*, c.cat_id, c.cat_title, u.user_id, u.username FROM phpbb_newsfeeds n, phpbb_forums f, phpbb_categories c, phpbb_users u WHERE f.forum_id = n.forum_id AND c.cat_id = f.cat_id AND u.user_id = n.user_id ORDER BY c.cat_order ASC, f.forum_order ASC, n.news_name ASC

Line : 298
File : /home//html/forum/admin/admin_newsfeeds.php
My guess is that it is missing this

Code: Select all

user_id mediumint(8) NOT NULL default '0',
from the following action. How can I manually insert the above?

Code: Select all

CREATE TABLE phpbb_newsfeeds (
      feed_id smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
      forum_id smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
      user_id mediumint(8) NOT NULL default '0',
      news_url varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
      news_name varchar(60) default NULL,
      news_limit smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
      news_active tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      include_channel tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      include_image tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      PRIMARY KEY  (feed_id),
      KEY forum_id (forum_id)
    );

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

pengrus wrote: My guess is that it is missing this

Code: Select all

user_id mediumint(8) NOT NULL default '0',

Your guess would be correct, try this...

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE `phpbb_newsfeeds` ADD `user_id` MEDIUMINT NOT NULL ;
Defend the game:
Image

pengrus
Registered User
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2002 6:13 am
Contact:

Post by pengrus »

Thank you! :lol:

That got rid of the error. But when I added a rss url there, and try get news now, it says completed successfully, but no news were inserted into that forum.

I've already had several newsfeed before I upgraded to 1.0.2, but after the upgrading, all those newsfeed do not appear on the list, it looks like they are gone. But when I tried to insert them again, it says that newsfeed url already exists.

What should I do?

What could be wrong?

Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”