[2.0.6] FIND - Forum Integrated News Delivery - Input

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.

Rating:

Excellent!
93
62%
Very Good
34
23%
Good
14
9%
Fair
3
2%
Poor
6
4%
 
Total votes: 150

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

What was the user id of the user you were using for the feeds before you upgraded?

Try this...

Code: Select all

UPDATE phpbb_newsfeeds SET user_id=YOUR_USER_ID_HERE
Defend the game:
Image

pengrus
Registered User
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2002 6:13 am
Contact:

Post by pengrus »

Thank you. That took care of the old rss and they show up now.

I was trying manually to get news from
: http://radio.weblogs.com/0100058/rss.xml

Nothing returned. Can I get old news from this site?

Thanks a lot!

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

I think that's not working due to the lack of 'title' tags for the items.

I've not seen that before but i should probably look at some work around for it.
Defend the game:
Image

User avatar
subdude
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 5:39 pm
Location: Vancouver
Contact:

Post by subdude »

I'm using version 1.0.0 of FIND and it works great except that the "Read More" links sometimes do not show up - only about half the time. Is this a known problem? Any fixes? Thank you.

pengrus
Registered User
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2002 6:13 am
Contact:

Post by pengrus »

When I manually run news_insert.php, it returns the following message:
XML error: not well-formed (invalid token) at line 13

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

subdude wrote: I'm using version 1.0.0 of FIND and it works great except that the "Read More" links sometimes do not show up - only about half the time. Is this a known problem? Any fixes? Thank you.

Yes, this was a know problem. You should update to the latest version (1.0.2, see first post).
Defend the game:
Image

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

pengrus wrote: When I manually run news_insert.php, it returns the following message:
XML error: not well-formed (invalid token) at line 13

Do you have a url for the feed you are using. Did you try it from the admin control panel (check the box and hit 'Get News Now')?
Defend the game:
Image

pengrus
Registered User
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2002 6:13 am
Contact:

Post by pengrus »

pengrus wrote: Thank you. That took care of the old rss and they show up now.

I was trying manually to get news from
: http://radio.weblogs.com/0100058/rss.xml

Nothing returned. Can I get old news from this site?

Thanks a lot!


That is the one I wanted but cannot get it.

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

Ah, ok the same one.
netclectic wrote: I think that's not working due to the lack of 'title' tags for the items.

There is a problem with feeds that don't include a title tag. I've not had a chance to have a look at fixing it yet, sorry.
Defend the game:
Image

User avatar
flash4203
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:25 pm
Location: Suffolk
Contact:

Post by flash4203 »

ok i know i am new at this i want to know what this means
##############################################################
## Author Notes:
##
## Requires you to be able to setup a script to run as a cron job (or similar).
## Includes addition of 1 table to your database and 1 insert into config table.
##
## IMPORTANT!!
##
## Step 1 : Follow the instructions below.
## Step 2 : Browse to your Admin Control Panel and configure the Newsfeeds.
## Step 3 : Perform news insert by clicking the 'Get News Now' button.
##
## Ensure everything works as expected before setting up the automation in step 4.
##
## If you do not have access to any automation tools then you will have to stop at
## this point and regularly run the news insert script manually from the newsfeed admin page.
##
## Step 4 : Finally, set up an automated task to run the news insert automatically.
##
## LINUX SYSTEMS
## -------------
## Set up a cron job (I use a quarter daily cron job) containing the following...
## (if anyone knows a better way of doing this, please let me know!)
##
## get all - GET http://www.YOURDOMAIN.com/YOURFORUMS/news_insert.php > /dev/null
## get 1 - GET http://www.YOURDOMAIN.com/YOURFORUMS/ne ... rt.php?n=1 > /dev/null
## get multiple - GET http://www.YOURDOMAIN.com/YOURFORUMS/ne ... hp?n=1,2,3 > /dev/null
##
## beginners guide to cron - http://www.unixgeeks.org/security/newbi ... ron-1.html
##
##
## WINDOWS SYSTEMS
## ---------------
## Create a batch (.bat) file containging the following...
##
## YOUR_PATH_TO_PHP -q YOUR_PATH_TO_NEWS_INSERT.php
##
## Set up a windows system task as follows...
##
## [*] open Windows Task Scheduler
## [*] create a new task
## [*] enter YOUR_PATH_BAT_FILE (with the quotes!)
## [*] give it a scheduled time to run
## [*] on the settings tab, check the Stop the task box and set the value to 0 hrs 1 minute
## (this should be plenty long enough and is probably longer than your php timeout setting).
##
##
##############################################################
##
## MOD History:
##
## 2003-08-23 - Version 1.0.3
## - you can now specify a feed id (or ids - with a comma seperated list) when calling news_insert.php
## this should make it easier to break up your feed inserts into seperate cron jobs to get around any
## problems with individual feeds timing out.
##
## 2003-08-06 - Version 1.0.2
## - Minor fix in rss_parser to trim item parts
## - Minor fix in prepare_newsfeed_messaage function
##
## 2003-08-05 - Version 1.0.1
## - Lots of fixes.
## - Fixed annoying bug with forum list in admin page.
## - Split newsfeed source to seperate admin page, now uses it's own rss feed.
## - Fixed parsing issues.
##
## 2003-03-12 - Version 1.0.0
## - Out of BETA.
##
##############################################################
##
## Known Issues:
##
## PHP Versions < 4.1.0 - There appears to be a problem with parsing the xml
##
##############################################################
## Before Adding This MOD To Your Forum, You Should Back Up All Files Related To This MOD
##############################################################

#
#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------
#
# See schemas directory for databases other than mysql
#
CREATE TABLE phpbb_newsfeeds (
feed_id smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
forum_id smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
user_id mediumint(8) NOT NULL default '0',
news_url varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
news_name varchar(60) default NULL,
news_limit smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
news_active tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
include_channel tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
include_image tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
PRIMARY KEY (feed_id),
KEY forum_id (forum_id)
);


can anyone help

also what is the
schemas
folder for and where does it go?

As this is the last part for my forum to work

also i get this in my admin panel when on Input Newsfeeds
Couldn't obtain newsfeeds list

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1146 Table 'fflachio4203_uk_db.phpbb_newsfeeds' doesn't exist

SELECT f.forum_name, n.*, c.cat_id, c.cat_title, u.user_id, u.username FROM phpbb_newsfeeds n, phpbb_forums f, phpbb_categories c, phpbb_users u WHERE f.forum_id = n.forum_id AND c.cat_id = f.cat_id AND u.user_id = n.user_id ORDER BY c.cat_order ASC, f.forum_order ASC, n.news_name ASC

Line : 298
File : /data/members/free/tripod/uk/f/f/l/fflachio4203/htdocs/phpBB2/admin/admin_newsfeeds.php
also can you help please?

Flash4203
flash4203
========
Cheep subdomains Perfict for php forums, have your own database and much more,

Only £20 a year

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

flash4203 wrote: ok i know i am new at this i want to know what this means

Code: Select all

# 
#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------ 
# 
# See schemas directory for databases other than mysql
#
CREATE TABLE phpbb_newsfeeds (
      feed_id smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
      forum_id smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
      user_id mediumint(8) NOT NULL default '0',
      news_url varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
      news_name varchar(60) default NULL,
      news_limit smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
      news_active tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      include_channel tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      include_image tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      PRIMARY KEY  (feed_id),
      KEY forum_id (forum_id)
    );

This requires you to be able to modify your database. Have a read of these - [Tutorial] How to use phpMyadmin & [Tutorial] How to install a MOD.
flash4203 wrote: also what is the
schemas
folder for and where does it go?

It doesn't need to go anywhere. It contains sql files which should be used instead of the sql above, if you do not use mysql as your database.

flash4203 wrote: also i get this in my admin panel when on Input Newsfeeds

This will be because you have not modified your database.
Defend the game:
Image

User avatar
flash4203
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:25 pm
Location: Suffolk
Contact:

Post by flash4203 »

ok is there away i can add

Code: Select all

#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------ 
# 
# See schemas directory for databases other than mysql
#
CREATE TABLE phpbb_newsfeeds (
      feed_id smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
      forum_id smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
      user_id mediumint(8) NOT NULL default '0',
      news_url varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
      news_name varchar(60) default NULL,
      news_limit smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
      news_active tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      include_channel tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      include_image tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      PRIMARY KEY  (feed_id),
      KEY forum_id (forum_id)
    );

# 
#-----[ COPY ]------------------------------------------ 

that with out phpMyAdmin cos i dont understand the install of that as i am new at this
flash4203
========
Cheep subdomains Perfict for php forums, have your own database and much more,

Only £20 a year

charley
Registered User
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: Motherwell, Scotland

Post by charley »

I am having trouble getting this excellent mod to work automatically. I want to use the windows instructions (using task scheduler), but I don't understand them fully....

Code: Select all

Create a batch (.bat) file containging the following...
                          
YOUR_PATH_TO_PHP -q YOUR_PATH_TO_NEWS_INSERT.php
I know the path to news_insert.php..... but I don't understand why I need a path to php??? Also I don't understand what the "-q" means..

Say my path to news_insert was

Code: Select all

http://www.mysite.net/phpBB2/mods/netcelectic/get_input/news_insert.php
What text would I put in my batch file?

TIA.

netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

The windows instructions are meant for if your site is running on a windows server (or run from your own pc), not for setting up on your home pc to call the script on a remote server.

It will be much more secure (and simpler) to set up the automation to run on the server, by default the script will only allow it to be run from the server.
Defend the game:
Image

User avatar
Haywood Jahelpme
Registered User
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 9:16 am
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Post by Haywood Jahelpme »

flash4203 wrote: ok is there away i can add

Code: Select all

#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------ 
# 
# See schemas directory for databases other than mysql
#
CREATE TABLE phpbb_newsfeeds (
      feed_id smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
      forum_id smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
      user_id mediumint(8) NOT NULL default '0',
      news_url varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
      news_name varchar(60) default NULL,
      news_limit smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
      news_active tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      include_channel tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      include_image tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '1',
      PRIMARY KEY  (feed_id),
      KEY forum_id (forum_id)
    );

# 
#-----[ COPY ]------------------------------------------ 

that with out phpMyAdmin cos i dont understand the install of that as i am new at this
You could have a read of this and make your own DB installer file...

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”