[2.0.7] Printer-friendly topic mod

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.
Post Reply

Rating:

Excellent!
48
45%
Very Good
26
25%
Good
11
10%
Fair
9
8%
Poor
12
11%
 
Total votes: 106

imagedude
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2002 10:28 pm
Location: /home/kai
Name: Kai Ponte
Contact:

Post by imagedude » Wed Dec 10, 2003 1:39 am

Having done some reasearch now, is this able to be used with easymod? If so, I'll give it another go either tonight or tomorrow morning.

K

Svyatozar
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 5:38 am

Post by Svyatozar » Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:06 am

Yes, this mod works with easymod.

Make sure to back up all files that will be modified, especially the file viewtopic.php

Good luck!

imagedude
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2002 10:28 pm
Location: /home/kai
Name: Kai Ponte
Contact:

Post by imagedude » Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:36 am

Svyatozar wrote: Yes, this mod works with easymod.

Make sure to back up all files that will be modified, especially the file viewtopic.php

Good luck!


Thanks!

Okay, I did it. This time I added the mod using easymod. I ran into a few snags only because I was trying to do it in the fisubice theme as opposed to subsilver.

The easymod did most of the work and I only had to hand code a couple of lines. (Of course I'm very annoyed that easymod requires a password and that it only does the mod once.)

I then also added a target="_blank" to the anchor tag so the printer topic opens in a new window. I might fiddle around with opening in a window which sends the document to the printer then closes automatically.

My only thing is this: There are some wierd characters hanging aroudn the top part of the page: There are a couple of boxes with numbers then a box with a large and small zero. Go figure.

Svyatozar
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 5:38 am

Post by Svyatozar » Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:33 pm

Hello!
imagedude wrote: My only thing is this: There are some wierd characters hanging aroudn the top part of the page: There are a couple of boxes with numbers then a box with a large and small zero. Go figure.

There should have been a FAQ section of the same name as this mod on your forum. Please read it.

Best regards!

imagedude
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2002 10:28 pm
Location: /home/kai
Name: Kai Ponte
Contact:

Post by imagedude » Mon Dec 15, 2003 9:01 pm

Svyatozar wrote: Hello!
imagedude wrote: My only thing is this: There are some wierd characters hanging aroudn the top part of the page: There are a couple of boxes with numbers then a box with a large and small zero. Go figure.

There should have been a FAQ section of the same name as this mod on your forum. Please read it.

Best regards!


Oh.. RTFF... I see. I should read the rest someday.

K

fyfcc
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:53 pm

Post by fyfcc » Fri Dec 19, 2003 9:51 am

I just installed 1.0.7 in phpNuke7.0 with phpBB 2.0.6. The printer-friendly page seems funny... it goes up side down!! :roll:

I double checked that the code I changed is exectly the code in INSTALL!!

the lower part of the page goes at the top!! So, the upper part are at the bottom...

Please have a look at my site and help!!!

http://community.fyf.cc
Image

Svyatozar
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 5:38 am

Post by Svyatozar » Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:08 am

Hello!
fyfcc wrote: I just installed 1.0.7 in phpNuke7.0 with phpBB 2.0.6. The printer-friendly page seems funny... it goes up side down!! :roll:

Please have a look at my site and help!!!

http://community.fyf.cc

This is because phpNuke creates its own header and footer so the printable page gets squeesed in between tables. I currently don't know how to fix that, for I don't know if there is a way to tell phpNuke not to use its headers and footers.

I am sorry, but this mod is not compatible with phpNuke for that reason. If someone has an idea of how to fix that, please, say it here.

Regards,

Svyatozar

Cliff
Registered User
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2002 1:13 am
Location: Boston, MA

Post by Cliff » Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:32 pm

Thanks, I like this mod.

Is there a way to get it to open in a new page instead of the same page? I don't know php well or I'd try myself.

Thanks!

Svyatozar
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 5:38 am

Post by Svyatozar » Fri Dec 26, 2003 4:19 am

Cliff wrote: Thanks, I like this mod.

Is there a way to get it to open in a new page instead of the same page? I don't know php well or I'd try myself.


Thanks!


That's easy. Open file templates/subSilver/viewtopic_body.tpl
and just find both instances of the following:

Code: Select all

<a href="{U_PRINTER_TOPIC}"><img src="{PRINTER_IMG}" border="0" alt="{L_PRINTER_TOPIC}" align="middle" /></a>
in the beginning change to

Code: Select all

<a target="_blank" href
in both instances

Have fun!

Cliff
Registered User
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2002 1:13 am
Location: Boston, MA

Post by Cliff » Fri Dec 26, 2003 5:51 am

Thank you!

User avatar
Tresclub
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 6:28 am
Location: Oroville, CA USA
Contact:

Post by Tresclub » Sat Dec 27, 2003 7:45 pm

I am running php 2.0.6, and just installed printer_topic_1.0.7.
It appears to work fine, but I'm not sure what the numbers in the three boxes are supposed to represent.

Image

Here is the url to the page:

http://www.tresclub.com/phpBB2/viewtopi ... viewresult

Warren

grrad
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2003 11:39 pm

Moby and printer friendly

Post by grrad » Sat Dec 27, 2003 11:54 pm

I have the Moby thread mod installed. I made the mods to install the printer friendly addition---it worked just fine on the "flat" view. Then I noticed the catch---the threading no longer appears on the threaded page.

Has anyone come across this and does anyone have any ideas as to a solution?

James Cridland
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 1:56 pm

Post by James Cridland » Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:29 pm

Chiming in here a little late, doubtless, but there is no need whatsoever for a 'print-friendly' view which needs any extra coding.

If you go to:
http://www.mediauk.com/discussions/view ... hp?t=31303
...and hit 'print preview', you'll notice that you get a print-formatted version of the page, with various items (the ad banners, the buttons, etc) missing, and even extra text for those printing the page. It's a silly thing to do to add any mod or extra code to do this - you're cracking a nut with a sledgehammer.

It's simply done with one extra line of code, using a print CSS stylesheet. http://www.alistapart.com/articles/goingtoprint/ is a fine article which tells you exactly how to do it - and, again, see what happens if you hit 'print preview' on that.

I don't mean to pour scorn on this mod: I'm sure it was built with the best of intentions. However, with CSS, it's totally pointless, I'm afraid. Sorry.

grrad
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2003 11:39 pm

Post by grrad » Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:09 pm

James...

Brilliant! I really must get entirely up to speed on CSS---it's the perfect solution. I have applied a rough version---it does the job nicely, no mod conflicts...all that's needed is to refine the print style a bit...

Bonus. Not one more clickable link is added to an already *cluttered* page design---which we have been doing our best to simplify and reorganize we make over the templates for our site.

many thanks.

wirewolf
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2003 11:33 pm
Location: New York City
Contact:

That may be true....But...

Post by wirewolf » Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:52 pm

For forums with a small header, that may work. But if you have a custom header with lots of info on it, then "Print Preview" will display all of it.
This Print Mod works quite well with a little tweaking. Installed on my board and it works very nicely. It eliminates all of the grapics so the user can just print out the text portion of the message. Needs a little work on the page selection and that "Rewind" button on the top (Some of my members found that confusing, even after reading the instructions on the "FAQ" page).
I agree. Sometimes one can over look the forest for the trees, and make things more complex than they have to be. Some of my members tell me they just highlight the text, copy and paste to Wordpad and print/save it out. Simple and easy! With no extra coding needed on my part.

I have always been a believer in "Keep it Simple" and "The more you have, the more that can go wrong"

wirewolf

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”