[2.0.6] RSS Content Syndicator

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.

Rating:

Excellent!
119
64%
Very Good
41
22%
Good
13
7%
Fair
5
3%
Poor
7
4%
 
Total votes: 185

NightriderXP
Registered User
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:17 am
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Post by NightriderXP » Thu Aug 04, 2005 9:28 pm

It works for me...

:lol:

blahdc
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 6:48 pm

Post by blahdc » Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:05 pm

Someone please help me. I have carp installed, it works with other RSS feeds but its not working when I put my feed in. I validated my feed and it looks like it is working. But Carp just keeps timing out.

http://forum.umrsigs.com/rss.php

Thanks.

NightriderXP
Registered User
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:17 am
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Post by NightriderXP » Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:27 am

blahdc, your newsfeeds are working for me in Opera too. When I click on your link, I get this normal page in my browser:

Image

Opera automatically subscribes the newsfeed and displays it like you would expect:

Image

What part isn't working???

:lol:

blahdc
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 6:48 pm

Post by blahdc » Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:55 am

Hmm, Weird......

Okay Carp must not be configured correctly... This makes me angry. :evil:

http://forum.umrsigs.com/forumposts.php

I can run other rss feeds from there but not mine....

This is the code:

Code: Select all

<?php
require_once '/www/u/umrsigscom/carp/carp.php';
// Add any desired configuration settings below this line using "CarpConf" and other functions
CarpCacheShow('http://forum.umrsigs.com/rss.php');
?> 
I don't get it.

NightriderXP
Registered User
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:17 am
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Post by NightriderXP » Fri Aug 05, 2005 2:35 am

I don't know if they offer support for their software, but if possible, I would go to CaRP and explain your situation to them. Perhaps they can give you a workaround for your problem...

:lol:

dcristo
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 1:55 pm

Post by dcristo » Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:55 pm

Great mod, got it to work without a problem.

Question though, is it possible to edit the template files so that you link out to http://www.domain.com/forum/ instead of just http://domain.com/forum/ ?

Cheers

blahdc
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 6:48 pm

Post by blahdc » Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:06 am

man this has taken me 4 days to try to get to work....
Im getting closer I hope. Now I'm getting this error:

[CaRP] XML error: syntax error at line 1

Which sounds to me like the RSS feed is bad....

Here is my feed:
http://forum.umrsigs.com/rss.php

Carp can display other feeds fine. I fixed my Timing out problem by changing my filename to:
http://localhost.umrsigs.com/rss.php.

I use powweb.com for webhosting, hopefully this will help others. Just need to figure out the XML error now.

User avatar
itsonlybarney
Registered User
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 5:06 am
Location: /home/Sydney/public_html
Contact:

Post by itsonlybarney » Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:52 am

this RSS feed works with 2.0.17??
Enjoy talking about trains?

NightriderXP
Registered User
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:17 am
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Post by NightriderXP » Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:54 am

NightriderXP wrote: It works for me...

:lol:

elkyle
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:38 pm

Post by elkyle » Sat Aug 06, 2005 4:31 pm

I made myself an interesting issue that I resolved, but was interesting while it lasted...

I like to open any mod files just to see what they are doing, etc., etc. So I opened rss.php into jEdit (a totally awesome F/OSS editor btw) and went ahead and ftp'ed it using the ftp plugin. I then opened the tpl file. It appeared blank, but I figured, "The author must know what they are doing" and proceeded to upload it as well. Once I got done upgrading my board (needed to upgrade from 2.0.11 to 2.0.17 manually - not a particularly pleasant experience), I went to rss.php. Firefox spits out a XML parsing error on line 3, char 1. So I view source, and there is absolutely nothing in the file that was served to my browser. I ftp to my site using FileZilla and notice that the tpl file is 1 byte in size. I knew that the tpl file on my hard drive was 900 bytes, so I uploaded the tpl using FileZilla and returned to rss.php. Lo and behold, it worked!

I can only assume that rss_body.tpl contains some sort of voodoo wizardry that vanished in the presence of jEdit :). I'm still not quite sure why it happened, but the good news is, it works now. Thanks for making such an awesome mod.

Kyle Lady
We're all capable of mistakes, but I do not care to enlighten you on the mistakes we may or may not have made.
-- Vice President Dan Quayle

fictionised
Registered User
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 1:29 am

Post by fictionised » Sun Aug 07, 2005 9:42 am

I've uploaded both files to respective folders (forum/rss.php, and forum/templates/invision_blue/rss_body.tpl), and still get this error:
Template->make_filename(): Error - file does not exist


www.fictionised.net/forum/rss.php is the location, and the config. section looks like this:

Code: Select all

//
// BEGIN Configuration
//
// Set the relative path from this file to your phpBB root folder
$phpbb_root_path = './';
// How many posts do you want to returnd (count)?  Specified in the URL with "c=".  Defaults to 15, upper limit of 50.
$count = ( isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['c']) ) ? intval($HTTP_GET_VARS['c']) : 15;
$count = ( $count == 0 ) ? 15 : $count;
$count = ( $count > 50 ) ? 50 : $count;
// Which forum do you want posts from (forum_id)?  specified in the url with "f=".  Defaults to all (public) forums.
$forum_id = ( isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['f']) ) ? intval($HTTP_GET_VARS['f']) : '';
$sql_forum_where = ( !empty($forum_id) ) ? ' AND f.forum_id = ' . $forum_id : ' ';
// Return topics only, or all posts?  Specified in the URL with "t=".  Defaults to all posts (0).
$topics_only = (isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['t']) ) ? intval($HTTP_GET_VARS['t']) : 0;
$sql_topics_only_where = '';
if ( $topics_only == 1 )
{
	$sql_topics_only_where = 'AND p.post_id = t.topic_first_post_id';
}
//
// END Configuration
//
I haven't edited it, and am still not sure why it won't work. Any ideas?

4rum
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 3:21 am

Post by 4rum » Sun Aug 07, 2005 12:35 pm

@ fictionised. !! Could this be the same problem. He sorted it.
techiem2 wrote: /me beats head on server for not realizing .tpl file goes in dir of default theme.

:)


http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... 764#868764

fictionised
Registered User
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 1:29 am

Post by fictionised » Sun Aug 07, 2005 11:52 pm

EDIT: Finally working- placed it in every template and it works now (despite being in the default already :?).

Oh, question- how do I get firefox to have that neat little rss thing down the bottom to add the RSS feed?

EDIT: nm, <link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="RSS" href="http://www.urlhere.com/forum/rss.php" /> goes in overall_header.tpl file...:P

enriquein
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:18 pm

Post by enriquein » Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:24 pm

This mod is pretty good indeed. I was wondering though, since there seems to be no easy way to view Private Forums/Posts, if it was possible then to create a user specifically for the RSS Mod and have that user have access to all forums. Then maybe add some code to the php file so it uses that specific user to retrieve the posts. So far, in theory it sounds nice... but I don't have a clue if it's possible and how much different would the SQL query be in that case. Is this possible? Ideas?

meaje
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 9:16 am

To save people time... [Setup]

Post by meaje » Sat Aug 13, 2005 9:20 am

If you have other themes as your default or turned on place the rss_body.tpl file in each templates/{theme name]/ directory for the rss feed to work properly.

I hope this helps someone it had me pounding my head for half an hour.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”