[2.0.6] RSS Content Syndicator

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.

Rating:

Excellent!
119
64%
Very Good
41
22%
Good
13
7%
Fair
5
3%
Poor
7
4%
 
Total votes: 185

eyerouge
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:36 am
Location: Sweden

Post by eyerouge »

This an easy one, but I simply can't find where I modify it so that the rss-feed doesn't display it the default way, which semms to be
forumcategoryname :: topic


I wan't to remove the forum categoryname and I also want to remove the :: -signs. I've tried to edfit the rss_body.tpl but have no success at all, and I also can't find it in the php-code. See an example of how it currently looks at http://www.persika.com - it's the stuff to the right under "/senaste"

The feed is here: http://www.chaosrealm.net/persika/forum/rss.php?t=1


A hint anyone?

_____________________

Edit:

Solved. Don't know what I did but it seemed to be something with a catch somewhere (but not the browsers since I tried several different). Is there another catch anybody, and if so, how long until it times out?

User avatar
Quimbly
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 5:56 pm

Post by Quimbly »

Do you know if it's possible or not make this mod operate on a forum-by-forum category, rather than for the entire board. That is, I'd like my users to be able to subscribe to an RSS feed for each individual forum, instead of for the entire board.

Anyone know? The documentation is quite slim...

n00bf0rce
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:51 am

Post by n00bf0rce »

Quimbly wrote: Do you know if it's possible or not make this mod operate on a forum-by-forum category, rather than for the entire board. That is, I'd like my users to be able to subscribe to an RSS feed for each individual forum, instead of for the entire board.

Anyone know? The documentation is quite slim...

the url then would look like this
http://www.yourdomain.com/phpbb/rss.php?f=1 or 2 or 3 depending on the forum you want to show

User avatar
Quimbly
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 5:56 pm

Post by Quimbly »

Cool, thanks for the tip. I'll check it out.

User avatar
Quimbly
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 5:56 pm

Post by Quimbly »

n00bf0rce wrote:
Quimbly wrote:Do you know if it's possible or not make this mod operate on a forum-by-forum category, rather than for the entire board. That is, I'd like my users to be able to subscribe to an RSS feed for each individual forum, instead of for the entire board.

Anyone know? The documentation is quite slim...

the url then would look like this
http://www.yourdomain.com/phpbb/rss.php?f=1 or 2 or 3 depending on the forum you want to show


This works for f=1, but seems to fail for anything else. When I try to browse to http://www.yourdomain.com/phpbb/rss.php?f=2 , I get an error in my feed reader.

I have more than one forum, but when I set up the RSS mod, I only had one. I've since added more forums. Should that make any difference?

What configuration do I need to do in order to make rss.php recognize new forums?

apc1
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:34 pm

Using with templates other than sub-silver

Post by apc1 »

Hi,

I am using a different template to sub-silver.

I have copied the relevant file to my template directory as instructed for sub-silver but it is not displaying RSS.

Does this mod require sub-silver, if so can it be modified?

Thanks.

n00bf0rce
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:51 am

Post by n00bf0rce »

Quimbly wrote:
n00bf0rce wrote:
Quimbly wrote:Do you know if it's possible or not make this mod operate on a forum-by-forum category, rather than for the entire board. That is, I'd like my users to be able to subscribe to an RSS feed for each individual forum, instead of for the entire board.

Anyone know? The documentation is quite slim...

the url then would look like this
http://www.yourdomain.com/phpbb/rss.php?f=1 or 2 or 3 depending on the forum you want to show


This works for f=1, but seems to fail for anything else. When I try to browse to http://www.yourdomain.com/phpbb/rss.php?f=2 , I get an error in my feed reader.

I have more than one forum, but when I set up the RSS mod, I only had one. I've since added more forums. Should that make any difference?

What configuration do I need to do in order to make rss.php recognize new forums?

offcourse it depends how many forums you have on you're phpbb-board.
so if you have only one forum you will get only one result also notice that the sql code only reads the forums that can be seen by the public

User avatar
Quimbly
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 5:56 pm

Post by Quimbly »

n00bf0rce wrote: offcourse it depends how many forums you have on you're phpbb-board.
so if you have only one forum you will get only one result also notice that the sql code only reads the forums that can be seen by the public


Yes, of course. That's not what I was wondering.

Check out my site, if you like: http://www.cowtowndance.com/forum/

There are currently two forums, in separate categories.

These work:
http://www.cowtowndance.com/forum/rss.php
http://www.cowtowndance.com/forum/rss.php?f=1

but

http://www.cowtowndance.com/forum/rss.php?f=2

...gives an error.

How come? There are two forums: f=1 and f=2 (I assume). If the second forum is numbered 2, why then doesn't the feed work for it?

n00bf0rce
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:51 am

Post by n00bf0rce »

you should have a post in forum 2 and then it will work :)

n00bf0rce
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:51 am

Re: Using with templates other than sub-silver

Post by n00bf0rce »

apc1 wrote: Hi,

I am using a different template to sub-silver.

I have copied the relevant file to my template directory as instructed for sub-silver but it is not displaying RSS.

Does this mod require sub-silver, if so can it be modified?

Thanks.

my guess is that you should use the standard-template on the website, if you haven't logged in that is

User avatar
Quimbly
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 5:56 pm

Post by Quimbly »

Interesting...

I'm not sure if it's a problem with the mod or with my feed reader (SharpReader).

In my opinion, a feed should NOT give an error just because there are no messages currently in the queue. That's seems a little crazy. In other words, should be able to subscribe to a feed even if there are no messages yet in it.

Anyway, that's fixed it. Thanks very much!

User avatar
Quimbly
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 5:56 pm

Post by Quimbly »

Next question:

I notice that the title for the feed, regardless of which forum you're subscribed to, is the name of the board. So,
http://www.your-domain.com/phpBB/rss.php?f=1
and
http://www.your-domain.com/phpBB/rss.php?f=2

both have a feed title of Your-Domain.com.

Is there a documented way to configure this? Or should I just start tweaking with the code?

Ideally, I'd like to have a feed title that would be dependant on the forum subscription. In other words:

http://www.your-domain.com/phpBB/rss.php
would have a title of Your-Domain.com

http://www.your-domain.com/phpBB/rss.php?f=1
would have a title of Your-Domain.com: Forum1

http://www.your-domain.com/phpBB/rss.php?f=2
would have a title of Your-Domain.com: Forum2

Any thoughts?

n00bf0rce
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:51 am

Post by n00bf0rce »

Quimbly wrote: Interesting...

I'm not sure if it's a problem with the mod or with my feed reader (SharpReader).

In my opinion, a feed should NOT give an error just because there are no messages currently in the queue. That's seems a little crazy. In other words, should be able to subscribe to a feed even if there are no messages yet in it.

Anyway, that's fixed it. Thanks very much!

if you don't want that error
search for this line

Code: Select all

message_die(GENERAL_MESSAGE, $lang['No_match']);
and change it to

Code: Select all

//message_die(GENERAL_MESSAGE, $lang['No_match']);
then it should work

n00bf0rce
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:51 am

Post by n00bf0rce »

Quimbly wrote: Next question:
Ideally, I'd like to have a feed title that would be dependant on the forum subscription. In other words:
http://www.your-domain.com/phpBB/rss.php
would have a title of Your-Domain.com
http://www.your-domain.com/phpBB/rss.php?f=1
would have a title of Your-Domain.com: Forum1
http://www.your-domain.com/phpBB/rss.php?f=2
would have a title of Your-Domain.com: Forum2
Any thoughts?

i would advice you to have a look at the rss 2.0 specifications, i also have rss 2.0 template that i submitted with a new version of this mod, but it still needs to be validated by the mod-team. you could always have a look at this feed if you would be curious
http://www.jocdirksen.be/rss.php

User avatar
Quimbly
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 5:56 pm

Post by Quimbly »

i would advice you to have a look at the rss 2.0 specifications, i also have rss 2.0 template that i submitted with a new version of this mod, but it still needs to be validated by the mod-team. you could always have a look at this feed if you would be curious
http://www.jocdirksen.be/rss.php


Any ideas on how I could hack the .php code to include the forum name in the feed title?

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”