[2.0.15] Latest active topics on index

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.

Rating:

Excellent!
80
54%
Very Good
41
28%
Good
14
10%
Fair
7
5%
Poor
5
3%
 
Total votes: 147

naylinz
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 8:10 am

moving the last Active posts to the top of the page

Post by naylinz » Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:43 am

HI,

I have seen a site where the last active posts have been at the top of the page, just under the header rather than at the bottom of the page. Can someone tell me how to do that please

cheers
Naylin

Blue Ninja
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: moving the last Active posts to the top of the page

Post by Blue Ninja » Thu Mar 16, 2006 4:06 pm

naylinz wrote: HI,

I have seen a site where the last active posts have been at the top of the page, just under the header rather than at the bottom of the page. Can someone tell me how to do that please

cheers
Naylin


When modifying "index_body.tpl", instead of putting the new code under this line:

Code: Select all

<!-- END switch_user_logged_out -->
Put it under these lines:

Code: Select all

		<a href="{U_SEARCH_UNANSWERED}" class="gensmall">{L_SEARCH_UNANSWERED}</a></td>
  </tr>
</table>
Note: My index_body.tpl has had a LOT of changes, so that might not be the exact "vanilla" version. Basically, it goes below stuff like {L_SEARCH_UNANSWERED} which is the link to see unanswered posts, but above the first <table> line above <!-- BEGIN catrow -->, which is where the categories and topics start.

User avatar
felguard
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:41 am
Contact:

Post by felguard » Wed Mar 22, 2006 8:33 am

I'm not sure if the error only happened to me, but I think I found an error.

When you edit the index.php page you're suppose to add this:
(This is just the one line of the code added)

Code: Select all

'USER_PROF' => append_sid($phpbb_root_path . 'profile.'.$phpEx.'?mode=viewprofile$amp;u='.$row[$i]["user_id"]), 
When it's suppose to be:
(This is just the one line of the code added)

Code: Select all

'USER_PROF' => append_sid($phpbb_root_path . 'profile.'.$phpEx.'?mode=viewprofile&u='.$row[$i]["user_id"]), 
The difference between the two codes is the $ and &.

What this does is allow you to click on someones profile when it has the username scrolling on the Latest Active Topic box.
Last edited by felguard on Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
iHeartLED.com - Love Your LED Endlessly

User avatar
Phant0m``
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 7:55 pm

Post by Phant0m`` » Fri Mar 24, 2006 11:53 am

Hey folks,

Excellent work! And I just love this convenient mod that has been done up by zparta.

I was in hopes someone who have the time may help me with a minor difficulty of adaptation,

I have this Simple Subforums MOD v1.0.1 by pentapenguin applied, and I’m trying to figure out how to go about updating this ‘Latest active topics *’ MOD to prevent sub-forum information replacing the parent-forum information when listing.

I tried to figure how to update the following line in index_body.tpl file to place back the parent information in addition with the sub-forum information used but I’m at a lost.

Code: Select all

 					<span class="forumlink"><a href="{marqueerow.TOPIC_URL}" onMouseOver="document.all.recent_topics.stop()" onMouseOut="document.all.recent_topics.start()"><span class="gensmall">{marqueerow.FORUM_CAT}</span>-><span class="genmed">{marqueerow.FORUM_NAME}</span>->{marqueerow.TOPIC_TITLE}</a></span> 
Any help be much appreciated, thanks.

squat45
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 4:23 pm

Post by squat45 » Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:27 pm

Shote wrote: thanks squat45

its exactly like you said.. it's working already.. but anyone can see all the topics :?

anyone can help us please?


Ok, will anyone help us out? Looks like the mod designer has not posted in some time and it's a shame to have a pretty cool mod like this with no support. About to rip this out and look for something else. Anyone have ideas?

PLEASE!!!! HELP!!!! :lol:

billyhoyle
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:25 am
Contact:

Post by billyhoyle » Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:46 am

s3rro wrote: thanks for the image,

Whenever I try to change that value to 5, 10 etc ... and submit it accepts it , but hen i go back to General configuration panel that field is empty again and I still dont have the topics on the forum index.


I'm having the same problem at the moment - did you get a fix for this?

fixed it.
Last edited by billyhoyle on Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

billyhoyle
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:25 am
Contact:

Post by billyhoyle » Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:52 am

is it possible to run this mod down the left hand side of the forum as well?

User avatar
The Suite
Registered User
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 11:11 am
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Post by The Suite » Sun Apr 02, 2006 12:33 am

Ok, i've seen a screenshot os the MOD and I like it. I would prefer to have the posts srolling from right to left of the screen though.

I would like to have just the topic of the post scrolling from right to left and be able to choose which area of the forum it pulls the post from.

Can that be done?
That'd be awesome.
Much appreciloved,

The Suite
Thank you :-)
The IT Security Information Center

User avatar
The Suite
Registered User
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 11:11 am
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Post by The Suite » Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:53 pm

I guess this MOD has been abondaned :-(
Haven't seen anything from the author in a while and every post is requesting support :-)

Has anyone tried this on 2.0.19?
Much appreciloved,

The Suite
Thank you :-)
The IT Security Information Center

User avatar
The Suite
Registered User
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 11:11 am
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Post by The Suite » Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:01 pm

How do I get rid of the gap between the last scroll post and the beginning?
Last edited by The Suite on Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Much appreciloved,

The Suite
Thank you :-)
The IT Security Information Center

User avatar
The Suite
Registered User
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 11:11 am
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Re: Include more info in marquee, like Category and Forum Na

Post by The Suite » Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:33 pm

riesgo wrote: Hello,

I think this mod is neat. I modified it a bit to include more information in the marquee. Namely, to include the Category->Forum Name->Topic instead of just the Topic. It helps the user determine where it came from.

Just wanted to share in case anyone was interested. This is my first post, so hope it's okay. :D

Changes to index.php

Changed sql to query Category table and return the cat_title from the cat table and the forum_name fromm the forums table.
$sql = "SELECT t.topic_id, t.topic_title, t.topic_last_post_id, t.forum_
id, t.topic_type, t.topic_status, p.post_id, p.poster_id,
p.post_time, u.user_id, u.username, u.user_lastvisit,
c.cat_title,f.forum_name

FROM " . TOPICS_TABLE . " t, " . FORUMS_TABLE . " f, " . POSTS_T
ABLE . " p, " . USERS_TABLE . " u, " . CATEGORIES_TABLE . " c
WHERE t.forum_id IN " . $auth_view_forum_sql . " AND t.topic_id = p.topic_id
AND f.forum_id = t.forum_id
AND t.topic_status <> 2
AND p.post_id = t.topic_last_post_id
AND p.poster_id = u.user_id
AND f.cat_id = c.cat_id
ORDER BY t.topic_last_post_id DESC";


Changed the marqueerow variable to include the cat_title and forum_name.
$template->assign_block_vars('marqueerow', array(
'FOLD_URL' => $pic,
'TOPIC_TITLE' => $row[$i]["topic_title"],
'FORUM_NAME' => $row[$i]["forum_name"],
'FORUM_CAT' => $row[$i]["cat_title"],


Modified templates/subSilver/index_body.tpl

Also changed the sizes of the Category and Forum name displayed to be different so the users eyes focus on the topic first and the rest if they care about it.
<td class="row2" width="352">
<span class="forumlink"><a href="{marqueerow.TOPIC_URL}" onMouseOver="do
cument.all.recent_topics.stop()" onMouseOut="document.all.recent_topics.start()"
><span class="gensmall">{marqueerow.FORUM_CAT}</span>-><span class="genmed">{marqueerow.FORUM_NAME}</span>->{marqueerow.TOPIC_TITLE}</a></span>

thanks,
--Eli


Eli, I tried those changes on 2.0.19 and got errors. Any ideas on how to fix it.

Code: Select all

Could not query recent posts marquee information

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1064 You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'FROM phpbb_topics t, phpbb_forums f, phpbb_posts p, phpbb_users 
Much appreciloved,

The Suite
Thank you :-)
The IT Security Information Center

hackerzlab
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:09 pm

Post by hackerzlab » Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:50 am

this script is working perfectly... but is there any possibility to add this latest topic in another page of my website. i mean can i add this feature in my homepage?

thank you.

kaoruline^^
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:45 pm

Post by kaoruline^^ » Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:48 pm

halfwing2 wrote: This thing is so cool! Image

CLICKY

I had to massage it a little, but it's a very nice piece of work!

Thanks zparta!


Can you tell me what changes you do to put the latest topics on the top ? please :D

geekgirl101
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2002 11:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by geekgirl101 » Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:50 am

Problem fixed, nvm.

User avatar
garble
Registered User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 9:57 am

Post by garble » Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:12 pm

In index.php there is a line added that looks like this...

Code: Select all

'USER_PROF' => append_sid($phpbb_root_path . 'profile.'.$phpEx.'?mode=viewprofile$amp;u='.$row[$i]["user_id"]),
When I installed the mod, I discovered a small problem. If you click on the user name in the mod window, it doesn't go to the profile, it just refreshes the index page. The URL for a user profile looks like this...

Code: Select all

http://localhost/phpbb/profile.php?mode=viewprofile$amp;u=3
but if I change the original code to this:

Code: Select all

'USER_PROF' => append_sid($phpbb_root_path . 'profile.'.$phpEx.'?mode=viewprofile&u='.$row[$i]["user_id"]),
(change $ to &) then the URL is ok ie

Code: Select all

http://localhost/phpbb/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&u=3
I also tried this line which seemed to work ok:

Code: Select all

'USER_PROF' => append_sid($phpbb_root_path . 'profile.'.$phpEx.'?mode=viewprofile&u='.$row[$i]["user_id"]),
(deleted the "amp;" and changed $ > &) but I'm not sure if this is correct PHP coding since I saw the other profile links on the page were coded like this

Code: Select all

"profile.$phpEx?mode=viewprofile&"
As I don't have a clue what I'm doing with PHP (I just tried looking at other lines in index.php and made pseudo-random guesses to try different possibilities), I don't know if the change I've made is acceptable and/or correct. Can anyone more enlightened tell me please?

Thanks :).
Ignore garble :mrgreen:

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”