[2.0.6] Topic Description MOD

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.
Post Reply

Rating:

Excellent!
32
47%
Very Good
17
25%
Good
5
7%
Fair
4
6%
Poor
10
15%
 
Total votes: 68

Jon Reid
Registered User
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom

Post by Jon Reid »

Hello, lovely MOD, installed- works- kind of :S

The error I am getting is this: When a topic description is added, it replaces the subject (title), instead of being displayed beneath the subject.

and it is only letting my post new messages with a name in the description box, and not in the subject box

I am using FISubSilverSh

ty in advance.
Administrator of Star Trek Online || Moderator of The Admin Zone
User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix »

8O

have you check your modifications ?
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:
Jon Reid
Registered User
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom

Post by Jon Reid »

Hey :) I've looked over the files I altered and everything seems to be in order, so I am somewhat quite confused, which file affects where the Description is inserted ?
Administrator of Star Trek Online || Moderator of The Admin Zone
User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix »

posting.php, functions_post.php and posting_body.tpl
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:
Jon Reid
Registered User
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom

Post by Jon Reid »

Cheers ! I'll take a look over them now, any chance you might have a quick idea as to what I may have done wrong? why it would replace the subject instead of inserting beneath ?
Administrator of Star Trek Online || Moderator of The Admin Zone
User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix »

no, i don't have any idea of the origin of your problem :?
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:
Jon Reid
Registered User
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom

Post by Jon Reid »

hmm, here is an error I am all of a sudden getting, when editing a post:

Parse error: parse error in /home/rks/public_html/jon/posting.php on line 928


Code as it looks, after Modifying...

Code: Select all

//
// This enables the forum/topic title to be output for posting
// but not for privmsg (where it makes no sense)
//
$template->assign_block_vars('switch_not_privmsg', array());
//
// Enable the Topic Description MOD only if this is a new post
// or if you edit the fist post of a topic
//
if ( $mode == 'newtopic' || ( $mode == 'editpost' && $post_data['first_post'] ) )
{
   $template->assign_block_vars('topic_description', array());
}

could this be the cause of my error?
Administrator of Star Trek Online || Moderator of The Admin Zone
User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix »

there is no error here :?


what's your line 928 ?
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:
Jon Reid
Registered User
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom

Post by Jon Reid »

I can only get online at college for the rest of the week now, and only have use to a crappy web based FTP (cant install anything else here) -

so I cant find line 928 - unless I count, which I am not gonna do .. lol. I'll have to tackle this again on friday.
Administrator of Star Trek Online || Moderator of The Admin Zone
Jon Reid
Registered User
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom

Post by Jon Reid »

Hey, I couldn't be bothered looking for the error, I restored the files and started again, all works well now :D

Great MOD, cheers !

See it: HERE

:D
Administrator of Star Trek Online || Moderator of The Admin Zone
User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix »

Ah !! Glad to see that :)
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:
mushy
Registered User
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 1:07 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Post by mushy »

I wish I could use the mod too :( :(
User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix »

try to re-make all the modifications in all the files
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:
inque187
Registered User
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 9:17 am
Contact:

Post by inque187 »

Ok, I added this mod and I am getting a similiar problem as well.

The Topic Description Field box shows in posting of new topics. The topics_desc shows in the database fine. The line under the Topics only shows the words: Topic Description

What went wrong?

My Forum setup:

phpBB 2.0.6
mysql database
forum is heavily modded but none were affected by your mod.
User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix »

check your modification in viewforum_body.tpl
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”