[2.0.7] Disable maximum signature length for admin

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.

Rating:

Excellent!
7
58%
Very Good
2
17%
Good
2
17%
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
1
8%
 
Total votes: 12

User avatar
Cardcaptor Stacey
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:04 pm
Location: England
Name: Stacey
Contact:

Post by Cardcaptor Stacey » Sun Apr 02, 2006 12:49 pm

I think this is conflicting with Available characters in signature mod. Is there anyway for this to work? Really want this mod :(

edit: TasDevil's add doesn't seem to work either
Call me Stacey.

TasDevil
Registered User
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:49 am

Post by TasDevil » Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:38 pm

Cardcaptor Stacey wrote: I think this is conflicting with Available characters in signature mod.

Whatever this MOD changes, somewhere in the code the signature length gets compared with $board_config['max_sig_chars']. Just add a condition for admins and/or mods there. Without this specific MOD you mentioned it works on our forum.

Tas.

UrbanIntensity
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:50 am
Contact:

Post by UrbanIntensity » Sun Apr 02, 2006 6:55 pm

I did what TasDevil recommended. It seems to work on mine

User avatar
Saeru
Registered User
Posts: 622
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 5:44 am
Location: Under a pile of PHP code.
Contact:

Post by Saeru » Tue Apr 04, 2006 12:55 am

Love the mod, works fine on 19 as well.
"Naku ga yousuru ichidanto tsuyosa kyaku ga icchuu wo yusuru."[/size]

FragInc
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 11:57 pm
Location: Grand Canyon State
Contact:

Post by FragInc » Tue May 23, 2006 12:14 am

TasDevil wrote: Unfortunately I found an error in this useful MOD: You can save longer signatures for Admins in the admin's user profile, but you cannot save them under ACP > User Admin > Management > "Admin Nick". If you try to save the ACP profile page, you get a "signature too long" error.

Fix (add this to the MOD):

Code: Select all

# 
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------ 
# 
admin/admin_users.php

# 
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------ 
# 
			if ( strlen($sig_length_check) > $board_config['max_sig_chars'] )

# 
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]------------------------------------------ 
# 
			if ( strlen($sig_length_check) > $board_config['max_sig_chars'] && $userdata['user_level'] != ADMIN)

# 
#-----[ SAVE/CLOSE ALL FILES ]------------------------------------------ 
# 
Tas.



Running phpBB 2.0.19 and completed the original MOD, np. I then got the ACP error and look here and found the above listed solution and tried to use it but when I attempted to search for the string listed in admin/admin_users.php, nothing. The search returned a "Not found" error. Anyone else have this issue or is the string actually different from that stated above? Also, if this or something similar fixes this issue, why has it not been added to the original MOD?

Thanks for any/all help!
Last edited by FragInc on Mon Jun 12, 2006 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
FragIncorporated.com
COME... GET YOUR FRAG ON!
Powered by Nuke Evolution/phpBB/Linux!

TasDevil
Registered User
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:49 am

Post by TasDevil » Tue May 23, 2006 1:54 am

FragInc wrote: when I attempted to search for the string listed in admin/admin_users.php, nothing. The search returned a "Not found" error.

The string is still there in phpBB 2.0.20. Try so search for it without leading or trailing spaces, afaik this forum can't display the tab key correctly which is usually used in the source code.
FragInc wrote: Also, if this or something similar fixes this issue, why has it not been added to the original MOD?

Because the MOD author is lazy? ;-)

Tas.

User avatar
Saeru
Registered User
Posts: 622
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 5:44 am
Location: Under a pile of PHP code.
Contact:

Post by Saeru » Tue May 23, 2006 2:41 am

This works fine for me in 2.0.20. O.o
"Naku ga yousuru ichidanto tsuyosa kyaku ga icchuu wo yusuru."[/size]

FragInc
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 11:57 pm
Location: Grand Canyon State
Contact:

Post by FragInc » Mon Jun 12, 2006 5:53 pm

UPDATE:

It seems to be working fine now. Not sure the issue before but all good! 8)
FragIncorporated.com
COME... GET YOUR FRAG ON!
Powered by Nuke Evolution/phpBB/Linux!

ham1299
Registered User
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:12 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by ham1299 » Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:16 pm

OK. I installed it last night, and it was working. Today, it's not working! :? I checked my codes, and the code is there. Any idea what's going on?
Heather

edetore
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:34 am
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Contact:

Post by edetore » Fri Feb 16, 2007 5:58 pm

The link is bad and won't download! I really want to put this on my site...i had it beofre and accidentally overwrote it.
Thanks so much!
~Beth

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”