Page 1 of 3

[2.0.7] Disable Censors Per Forum

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:07 am
by Extensions Robot
MOD Name: Disable Censors Per Forum
Author: Alex@PlanetWebComic
MOD Description: Allows Administrators to disable Word Censors on a forum-by-forum basis.

MOD Version: 1.0.2

Download File: DisableCensorsPerForum-v.102.zip
mods overview page: View
File Size: 5449 Bytes

Security Score:

Posted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:41 pm
by wGEric
MOD Validated/Released

Notes:
Administrators can choose whether they want the word censor to work or not in certain forums.

Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 5:39 am
by GameQber
Sweet mod. It's just what I was looking for. Thanks!

Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:05 pm
by Bealzabubba
Mod installed without incident[1] but the presence of admin_forum_censors.php prevents the left pane of the Admin Panel from loading.

Everything works if I change the filename to xadmin_forum_censors.php and access the Forum Censor Control panel directly by typing in the changed filename so I know everything else works.

I get the gist of how the left pane is built but apparently don't quite grok it well enough to debug this problem.

Any ideas why this file would make admin/index.php barf?
_____

Running phpBB 2.0.1x (not fully upgraded to .11, just security fixes). As far as I can tell, admin/index.php has been untouched by any mods and is still the plain vanilla v 1.40.2.6 2004/07/11 16:46:15 that came with 2.0.10)

[1] Used EM with just one minor edit to the install file to accomodate a change in includes/topic_review.php made by the calendar mod.

Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 4:16 pm
by xenontheblue
hmm ... i'm having the exact same problem ...

i have a couple ideas, i'll post back when i've tried them out ...

Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 4:41 pm
by xenontheblue
well ... quoting what the butcher said as he pointed to the mushroom "not a sausage" ...

I havn't a clue ... it's a toughie ... i can't get into the thing directly, it just redirects me to my index ...

that's one thing i don't like about how the ACP is built up ... for some reason, if there is an error, it'll just go blank ... it won't display the actual error involved ...

Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 5:51 pm
by SamuraiNigel
I'm having a problem with this code on my board, and I'm wondering if it's just bad code somewhere.

After installing this mod, I ended up getting some serious memory problems. Doing netstat -a shows that certain users are now making several socket connections, and many are getting stuck in a TIME_WAIT state. It's as if the sockets are never being closed, either because of the code or some bug in the PHP-MySQL-Apache love triangle. Anyone else having this problem? Any ideas on a fix? Could someone have a look at this code and make sure the syntax is correct and there aren't any weird bugs anywhere?

Thanks!

For reference, I'm still using phpBB 2.0.6, but all of the code near the places I was to edit looked the same as the installation noted.

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 10:53 pm
by SamuraiNigel
Also, this doesn't turn the filter off for quotes. When someone quotes someone else, the filter still kicks in and places the filtered words in their post entry box.

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:40 am
by Alex@PlanetWebComic
Bealzabubba wrote: Mod installed without incident[1] but the presence of admin_forum_censors.php prevents the left pane of the Admin Panel from loading.

Everything works if I change the filename to xadmin_forum_censors.php and access the Forum Censor Control panel directly by typing in the changed filename so I know everything else works.

I get the gist of how the left pane is built but apparently don't quite grok it well enough to debug this problem.

Any ideas why this file would make admin/index.php barf?
_____

Running phpBB 2.0.1x (not fully upgraded to .11, just security fixes). As far as I can tell, admin/index.php has been untouched by any mods and is still the plain vanilla v 1.40.2.6 2004/07/11 16:46:15 that came with 2.0.10)

[1] Used EM with just one minor edit to the install file to accomodate a change in includes/topic_review.php made by the calendar mod.

Honestly, I've never had this issue before. And because of this, I don't know what to look for in order to solve it. I DID find one discrepancy, which I have just fixed, but I'm not sure if it'll make the difference.

I've just submitted Version 1.0.3, which contains the possible fix. Also, SamuraiNigel, I've corrected it so quoted words aren't bleeped.

Hopefully, they'll approve it soon, and it'll be out within a day or so.

Final note: On the new 1.0.3, admin_forum_censors.php should be version 1.0.1, even though it says it's 1.0.0.

Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:37 pm
by RX Maverick
Is there anywhere we can get 1.0.3 before it's approved here? I'm going to add this mod soon and would like to install the latest version.

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 4:03 am
by who_cares
does this work with 2.0.18?
I'd like to use it

Problem with censor control panel

Posted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:30 pm
by ultimatehandyman
Hi, I have just installed this mod and I have the forum censor control panel in the left hand side administration panel, when I click on it the pane to the right hand side simply shows the forum index!

This mod is exactly what I have been looking for!

I'm no expert on installing mods so any help would be much appreciated.

I am on version 2.0.16

Thanks

chez

Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 3:26 pm
by Cerus98
I've just installed this mod on 2.0.21 and it works great. But like everyone else, I was dissapointed to find that the censors were still activated in quotes. So I added a couple lines so that quotes are no longer censored.

Here's what to do...

In posting.php Find:

Code: Select all

		if ( $mode == 'quote' )
		{
Add After:

Code: Select all

		if ($forum_disablecensors==0){
Find: (there are two of these, find the second one)

Code: Select all

			$orig_word = array();
			$replacement_word = array();
			obtain_word_list($orig_word, $replace_word);
Add After:

Code: Select all

		}
And that's all there is to it :)

Posted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 8:07 pm
by Coyote23
Nice mod - you made one of my forumers very very happy.

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:43 pm
by Seria
Like everyone above me, the ACP’s left pane is not showing up.

I notice that the version of the mod is still 1.0.2 and version 1.0.3 was submitted for approval over a year ago.

Has anyone else installed this mod and got it to work?

Please help me out with this

(i installed this on 2.0.21)

EDIT: i've got the left pane problem figured out

Thanks for this mod, I installed it and after I fixed the left pane problem, it works perfectly! thanks again... this mod was installed on 2.0.21