[2.0.13] disable spambots

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.

Rating:

Excellent!
17
47%
Very Good
3
8%
Good
8
22%
Fair
2
6%
Poor
6
17%
 
Total votes: 36

asuh
Registered User
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 12:14 am

Post by asuh » Sat Mar 19, 2005 6:55 am

Hey Fluffy,

I have changed my MOD from the original to what you just posted a few days ago, and unfortunately I get the same exact problem. Could it be because I added those lines to my forumfuncs.inc file as I stated here?

User avatar
magenta
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:16 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by magenta » Sat Mar 19, 2005 7:28 am

You're on your own for adding it to Quick Reply Hack, sorry.

asuh
Registered User
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 12:14 am

Post by asuh » Sat Mar 19, 2005 7:56 am

So you think that I might just have bad luck because of the quick reply hack?

User avatar
magenta
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:16 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by magenta » Sat Mar 19, 2005 8:12 am

I don't see any reason why Quick Reply Hack would be incompatible with this antispam mod, but you need to make sure that you understand what this mod does to posting.php and have it do the same thing to Quick Reply Hack. Personally I think QRH is a bad idea anyway (as it lowers the bar to idiocy), so I'm not going to go out of my way to support it.

asuh
Registered User
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 12:14 am

Post by asuh » Sat Mar 19, 2005 8:16 am

lol! :D I totally understand why you wouldn't want it. Most of my visitors that want to reply are not very computer literate so making it easy for them is a good thing for me. But I TOTALLY appreciate all the hard work you have already put into all of this. You ROCK!

ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 » Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:47 am

MOD Updated to version 1.1.4
See first post for Download Link

User avatar
magenta
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:16 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by magenta » Fri Apr 01, 2005 12:37 pm

*breathes huge sigh of relief*

You wouldn't believe how difficult it was to get a simple update out. :D

User avatar
magenta
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:16 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by magenta » Thu May 05, 2005 5:56 pm

Some people have been asking how to get this working with the Quick Reply mod. This is totally untested, but it should work... after installing Quick Reply mod, open viewtopic.php and look for

Code: Select all

$quick_reply_form .= "<textarea name='input' rows='10' cols='50'
wrap='virtual' class='post''></textarea><br />
Before it, add the following:

Code: Select all

$secretkey = 't' . $topic_id;

// Generate a signature to validate this page
$authkey = md5("nana" . $secretkey . "foofoo");
$authval = md5($HTTP_SERVER_VARS['HTTP_USER_AGENT'] . $secretkey . $HTTP_SERVER_VARS['REMOTE_ADDR']);
$timekey = md5("time" . $secretkey);
$timepad = preg_replace('/[^0-9]/', '', $HTTP_SERVER_VARS['REMOTE_ADDR']) + 0;
$timeval = time() ^ $timepad;

$quick_reply_form .= '<input type="hidden" name="' . $authkey . '" value="' . $authval . '">';
$quick_reply_form .= '<input type="hidden" name="' . $timekey . '" value="' . $timeval . '">';
If you've changed your "nana" and "foofoo" entropy pads in posting.php, change them to the same values here as well.

Saoshyant
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by Saoshyant » Thu May 05, 2005 9:50 pm

Thank you, magenta. Although you don't like Quick Reply lots of forums wouldn't work without it. It's human nature of retardness (kinda). Anyway, thank you. Now my forum can get Quick Reply back; I was tired of people complaining.

ncf
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:42 am
Contact:

Post by ncf » Sun Aug 14, 2005 3:02 am

I don't know too much about this, but I noticed you were using REMOTE_ADDR in part of the hash. I don't mean this harshly or as an insult, but AFAIK, the reason why /. doesn't default to running IP locking on the logins is because of ISPs like AOL. Could this cause a problem with that? (proxies and mixed IPs due to potential routing)

User avatar
magenta
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:16 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by magenta » Sun Aug 14, 2005 7:26 am

It could, and I considered it. I decided to err on the side of assertiveness in terms of spam-proofing, because even AOL doesn't seem to do that anymore. Likewise I didn't care that a lot of people are running anonymizing proxies which change the user-agent randomly. If it causes a problem it's easy enough to remove that stuff from the hash.

Of course, one obvious change would be to remove the check altogether for people who are logged in. Personally I got sick of the low quality of anonymous comments on my forum anyway (it was all spam, crap from people doing websearches on things like "i am bored," and posts from people who ended up just registering anyway, or who expected me to remember who they were or whatever) and have switched to registration-only, so I'm not even using this mod anymore. :)

Romario737
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 5:21 am
Contact:

Post by Romario737 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:41 pm


User avatar
magenta
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:16 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by magenta » Wed Aug 17, 2005 3:17 pm

Works fine for me...

maltre
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 9:15 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by maltre » Wed Oct 05, 2005 6:12 pm

Does anybody know what I have to add/change to make this work with quickreply ?

Everytime somebody uses the quick-reply box, they get the preview-page first.

Thanks in advance
Image

User avatar
magenta
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:16 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by magenta » Wed Oct 05, 2005 6:31 pm

See earlier in this thread, from May 5.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”