Page 11 of 14

Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 2:32 am
by ShadowTek
Hi, is this mod safe if only I use it (the board admin) or can it still be hacked (sorry for the dumb question)

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:26 pm
by spoonium
@recoha and Ryan O

If you have a backup copy of your admin_board.php located in the same directory as the altered admin_board.php, and it's name is very similar to it (like admin_board.ori.php as in my case), the board will access the old backup copy instead of the new, altered one.
Rename the backup copy to admin_board.ori or something like this, then at least this error margin is solved. If it doesn't help, good luck searching the thread, there have been some questions like this already.

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:21 am
by markus_petrux
ShadowTek wrote: Hi, is this mod safe if only I use it (the board admin) or can it still be hacked (sorry for the dumb question)

With this MOD authorized users are enabled to enter anything as if you had access to the templates, that's mainly HTML, but you could also enter javascript or whatever.

Now, if those enabled to use this MOD aren't 100% truested, they could do bad things, yes. If you don't trust'em, don't allow this MOD for them.

If you are the owner of the board, you could also enter anything on any PHP or template file, so this MOD doesn't add any hole for you, as long as the only one enabled is you.

For tips on the kind of bad that one could do, google for "cross site scripting" (aka XSS).

Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:58 pm
by Roks
I have posted this question earlier also here in the forum, but didn't get reply and was asked to post in the MODs support.

My simple query is: I want to enable posting of HTML, PHP, Javascript etc. Codes in my forum, same as here on this forum in Posting and PMs. But whenever I do post HTML, PHP ect Codes using any of the following tags, all the codes gets stripped off.

['code], ['html], ['php]

So, I had installed:

1. html_bbcode_mod_v1_1_4
2. php systax highlighter Beta 2.0

For testing, I have given permissions to Administraor Group. But even though it's still stripping off all codes, like pre-installation.

Can anyone advice?

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:35 pm
by Roks
Nobody there to respond. :?:

easyMOD

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:26 pm
by cbrain
Like I say in all my other posts, is this easyMOD compatible?

Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 6:47 pm
by cbrain
*coughs*

Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 6:58 pm
by igorw
Not sure if it is with the latest version. I'd rather install it manually if i were you. ;)

Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:11 pm
by Roks
Don't install with EM, install it manually and it'll work.

Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 2:43 am
by Candylover
Ok guys

Well I am thick, I have tried to install this MOD using that mod instaler program and I get this error.

Code: Select all

Critical Error

FIND FAILED: In file [includes/bbcode.php] could not find:

$EMBB_widths = array(''
$EMBB_values = array(''

MOD script line #267 :: FAQ :: Report
Could someone prehaps point me in the right direction of what I can do? Thnkas

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 11:58 pm
by [PT]BlueDragon
hi, i have instaled it correctly i'm sure... but, when i put some code on it...

the the post apears blank... and if i edit it...

Code: Select all

[html]<object><param><param><param><param><embed></embed></object>[/html]

SQL?

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:32 am
by purple2d
Hi, I'm so very new to this whole thing, so bare with me. =)
I am hoping to get html to work on my forums, but am a little confused about the instalation proccess. It seems that using EM for this is not the best way to go. I'm pretty good with search and replace but the first line:

#
#-----[ SQL ]-------------------------------------------------
#
# REMINDER --- Make backups BEFORE installing MODs
#
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('bbcode_html_group', '-1');
#


seems to be SQL query. (with the tag and all)
Is this so? I have no clue about SQL. Am I misunderstanding the instructions here? If this is not a query what exactly am I supposed to be doing? Where can I find phpbb_config to replace the values?
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks!

Re: SQL?

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 1:33 pm
by [PT]BlueDragon
purple2d wrote: Hi, I'm so very new to this whole thing, so bare with me. =)
I am hoping to get html to work on my forums, but am a little confused about the instalation proccess. It seems that using EM for this is not the best way to go. I'm pretty good with search and replace but the first line:

#
#-----[ SQL ]-------------------------------------------------
#
# REMINDER --- Make backups BEFORE installing MODs
#
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('bbcode_html_group', '-1');
#


seems to be SQL query. (with the tag and all)
Is this so? I have no clue about SQL. Am I misunderstanding the instructions here? If this is not a query what exactly am I supposed to be doing? Where can I find phpbb_config to replace the values?
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks!



hi, you have to go to your MySql administration and insert that tag into the query tool

Re: SQL?

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 10:23 pm
by purple2d
[PT]BlueDragon wrote: hi, you have to go to your MySql administration and insert that tag into the query tool


Thanks so much! I will now go wrangle with my server to figure out how to do that. =)

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 10:25 pm
by markus_petrux
@Candylover: see the author notes, you need to install de multiple bbcode mod, the buttons organizer mod is also recommended.

@purple2d: Yes, you need to execute that SQL statement. The KB has some articles that you may wish to look at, on how to install MODs, use phpMyAdmin, etc.

@[PT]BlueDragon: that's hard to tell. this mod should allow you to enter any HTML, as far as you are authorized to do so. Maybe there's another MOD breaking what this one is supposed to do, or a missing step installing...