[2.0.13] Change forum banner

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.

Rating:

Excellent!
17
47%
Very Good
11
31%
Good
2
6%
Fair
3
8%
Poor
3
8%
 
Total votes: 36

steve1983
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 8:53 pm

Post by steve1983 » Wed Mar 22, 2006 7:08 pm

@915855

thanks
i have managed to get this far what do i need to do because i dont
understand this:

Testing selected write method
Testing FTP access...
1) Logged in successfully

FTP ERROR: could not cd to ftp://steve:12345
You successfully logged into the server, but could not change direcory (CD) to the easymod directory. The following is recommended:



Are you sure you entered the correct path? Below is a directory listing of the files in the FTP root directory. The FTP root directory is simply the starting point when you connect. The path to the phpBB2 installation should begin with one of the directory names listed below.
Directory names are case sensitive. Be sure the easymod directory is all lowercase.
In some *very rare* cases it's possible that you are not connecting to the proper FTP Server. Try specifying the hostname in the FTP Server field and the port in the FTP Port field.
Some servers have issues with the passive mode that EasyMOD attempts to use by default. If you have the PHP FTP extension loaded, then enable that option in step 1.

FTP root directory:
/


Directory listing: your FTP Path should start with one of the directories listed below
public_ftp
tmp
www
mail
Banner
etc
public_html
Do you collect Tuskers & Henry by Country Artists ?

http://tuskershenrycollectors.com/

steve1983
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 8:53 pm

Post by steve1983 » Wed Mar 22, 2006 8:09 pm

Can someone please help me i am stuck


Could not open [admin/admin_easymod.php] for reading.

mod_install.tpl: verifying existence

Error

Could not find [templates/subSilver/admin/mod_install.tpl].


Install Failed
EM is not properly installed and you will need to fix the above error(s).


(formatted for forum posting)
EM installer v0.3.0 wrote: EM status: New Install
phpBB version: 2.0.19
Working Dir: /home/tuskersh/public_html/forum/admin/mods/easymod
Install Step: 7
Mode:

The Error wrote: Could not find [templates/subSilver/admin/mod_install.tpl].



Permissions: (including system errors)

read access :: OK
write access :: No
root path write :: No
chmod access :: unattempted
unlink access :: unattempted
mkdir access :: unattempted
tmp path write :: OK
FTP extension :: OK
Safe Mode :: OFF
copy access :: No


Additional System Information:

System: Linux cp.needzhost.com 2.6.9-22.ELsmp #1 SMP Sat Oct 8 19:11:43 CDT 2005 i686
Configure Command: './configure' '--with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs' '--prefix=/usr/local' '--with-xml' '--enable-bcmath' '--enable-calendar' '--enable-ftp' '--with-gd' '--with-jpeg-dir=/usr/local' '--with-png-dir=/usr' '--with-xpm-dir=/usr/X11R6' '--with-mcrypt' '--enable-magic-quotes' '--with-mysqli' '--with-mysql=/usr' '--enable-discard-path' '--with-pear' '--enable-sockets' '--enable-track-vars' '--with-ttf' '--with-freetype-dir=/usr' '--enable-gd-native-ttf' '--enable-versioning' '--with-zlib'
PHP version: 4.4.1
register_globals: OFF
magic_quotes_gpc: ON
magic_quotes_runtime: OFF
allow_url_fopen: ON
sockets_support: enabled


Recommendations:
write: buffer & ftp
move: automated FTP

Selected settings:
write: local
move: ftpm
ftp dir: /
ftp host: localhost
ftp port: 21
ftp debug: false
ftp ext: fsock
ftp cache: false

CWD Listing:

Code: Select all

-rw-r--r-- easymod_display_functions.php 
drwxr-xr-x . 
drwxr-xr-x languages 
-rw-r--r-- easymod_install.php 
drwxr-xr-x em_includes 
drwxr-xr-x templates 
drwxr-xr-x includes 
drwxr-xr-x .. 
-rw-r--r-- easymod.gif 

Not testing FTP since it is not being used.
Do you collect Tuskers & Henry by Country Artists ?

http://tuskershenrycollectors.com/

2buckets
Registered User
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 6:55 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Post by 2buckets » Sat May 06, 2006 1:15 am

I installed the Mod with EM. No problems at all with that.
Found the new Change Banners link in Admin cp and clicked on it. Everything was fine.
At the time I had no additional banners uploaded to the right directory. The time was late and I shut it down.
Tonight, I can't find the CHANGE BANNERS in the General config heading in the Admin cp. Tried FF and IE both and EM tells me that this mod is installed.

Could sure use some help with this one.

Running 2.0.20 with FTP access.

Peso
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 5:32 pm

Problem with your Change Forum Banner

Post by Peso » Sat May 27, 2006 10:30 pm

I am logged in as an admin for my site, and I can see the new Banner properly.
My girlfriend tried to view the new page (the old page with standard banner she could see just fine) and she could not see the new banner at all! All there is, is a blank space

My source looks like:
<!-- Start add - Change Forum Banner MOD -->
<td><a href="index.php"><img src="images/banners/Linedanceportalen---logo.gif" border="0" width="200" height="91" alt="Forumindex" vspace="1" /></a></td>
<!-- End add - Change Forum Banner MOD -->

but my girlfriends source looks like this
<!-- Start add - Change Forum Banner MOD -->
<td><a href="index.php?sid=3718fdc9e7579b00a2f226fe1e24e054"></a></td>
<!-- End add - Change Forum Banner MOD -->

What is wrong? Please help me...

mjatas
Registered User
Posts: 270
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 6:43 am
Contact:

Post by mjatas » Sun May 28, 2006 12:50 am

I see the banners in my controlpanel, however it does not upload to the main page

Peso
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 5:32 pm

Post by Peso » Sun May 28, 2006 8:48 am

mjatas wrote: I see the banners in my controlpanel, however it does not upload to the main page


Same here. I am using phpBB 2.0.20

Peso
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 5:32 pm

Re: Problem with your Change Forum Banner

Post by Peso » Sun May 28, 2006 9:09 am

I have done some more investigation.

When trying to reach and see the gif picture directly from
http://forum.mysite.com/images/logo.gif
it shows properly in my webbrowser.

I can see the picture from my girlfriend's computer but when trying to see the logo from
http://forum.mysite.com/images/banners/logo.gif
if doesn't work! CHMOD gives 755 for both directories and both files.

From my computer, I can see the logo from both source directories in my webbrowser.

Any ideas?

Haros
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:25 pm

Post by Haros » Tue Jun 06, 2006 8:46 pm

Code: Select all

SQL Erroring.

#1136 - Column count doesn't match value count at row 1 
Any suggation?

MarioKnight
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:42 pm
Location: Oswego, NY
Contact:

Post by MarioKnight » Thu Jun 08, 2006 4:44 pm

Peso wrote:
mjatas wrote:I see the banners in my controlpanel, however it does not upload to the main page


Same here. I am using phpBB 2.0.20


Be sure to double check the page_header.php file to see if it was editted properly. If it wasn't, then the path and filename won't be passed on to the index and you won't be able to see it.
Haros wrote:

Code: Select all

SQL Erroring.

#1136 - Column count doesn't match value count at row 1 
Any suggation?


It would appear that your config table has more than the standard two columns that phpBB traditionally has the table set at. I'm not sure if there's a MOD you installed that changed that, but I would take a look at the table to see how many columns there are in it. Since I assume that people are installing this on a triditional phpBB board, the code is written for the two column standard. So all that you would have to do is edit the SQL in my installation file to account for the extra columns. For example, if you have three columns:

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_config values ('banner_source', 'logo_phpBB.gif', '');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config values ('banner_path', 'images/banners', '');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config values ('banner_cols', '2', '');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config values ('banner_width', '200', '');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config values ('banner_height', '91', ''); 
Dan Bednarski ~ MarioKnight
My mods: Change forum banner

gpohls
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 5:03 pm

Post by gpohls » Thu Jun 08, 2006 5:06 pm

This is an awesome mod....Had no problems installing it....My only question is how do I change the hyperlink on the banner?

I would also like to add another banner can it be done? both I want them to have different links...
Thanks

Lianna
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:31 pm

Post by Lianna » Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:52 pm

Hi

I installed this mod in a almost fresh forum, just with CH and easyMod, it's working now but I encontered the folowing problems:


- Sql errors, just as the other users said and MarioKnight, thanks for the awnser;

- Error in the last file, and this is weird, easy mod does not search for the correct path of the subSilver template, it tries to find the file in the ptifo template directory, maybe it's easyMod's problem, I thought I just let you all know. I just made the change manually;

- And the last one, the 'Change Banner' link in the adminpanel... It doesn't work in firefox ( the frame on the left just disapears and goes to adminIndex), I changed to ie and it works!


Hope I helped. :)

Edit:
Actually after testing, this mod doesn't work in the ptifo template... :(
It's not like the other templates, it uses css.

Zere
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 4:58 pm

Post by Zere » Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:01 pm

Hi, I didnt read all the ten pages but I got question...


Im using BBtech as mine skin. Does this work with it?

I mean everything wrosk fine, only when I push Change Banner after I've chosen another banner and put the right size of the image nothing happens.

There still comes the same logo as that style gots. Its that flash with Your logo here or something...


Thanks for the help!

humanbot
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 6:22 pm

error

Post by humanbot » Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:20 am

Code: Select all

http://img142.imageshack.us/my.php?image=error2ja.jpg
the problem is the box to browse banner file is not appearing at all...i mean problem can be viewed in image for which i ve posted the lonk
is there some way out???
plzzzz help

guy_enjoy
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:57 pm

Post by guy_enjoy » Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:38 pm

Hello!

Can i see the demo of this mod. ??

I really would love to install it.

NICE

-Ryan-
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 5:31 am

Post by -Ryan- » Mon Sep 04, 2006 10:43 pm

Hello everyone, I have a question to ask and I'm hoping that I can get some direction.

I downloaded this MOD and installed it into my message board. I went into my ACP to check things over, and everything seemed to be perfect. It even showed the banners which I had stored in my banner directory. I decided to change the banner, and when I hit submit, a message came up saying that the banner had been changed successfully. Then I went into the forum index and the banner had not been changed. I was confounded, because the install went smoothly, as did the [apparent] process in my ACP.

I installed this MOD with EasyMOD - I'm very new to the world phpBB message boards, but I thought EasyMOD would take care of everything. I've read the past few pages and other members have mentioned a similar problem. In fact, another member alluded to the fact that he had to change the code in the .txt document (using Notepad). My question is this. Can someone please give me some instruction on how to make this MOD work? I still don't know exactly how to install MODs manually, so my experience and knowledge in this field is limited - and I have read the tutorial. I've been messing around with this for days and I can't seem to be making any progress; I'm becoming frustrated with the whole thing, I'm sure many of you know how I feel.

Perhaps someone can show me what the changes in the code should be, and even a copy of the correct code? That would be much appreciated!

I need some serious help here, so if anyone knows what my problems are and how to fix them, I would be very thankful. Thank-you!

Cheers
--
Ryan

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”