Page 1 of 13

[2.0.13] Navbar Mod

Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 10:48 pm
by Extensions Robot
MOD Name: Navbar Mod
Author: reiyo_oki
MOD Description: Creates a left or right-aligned nav bar on all your phpBB pages, and removes the header and footer nav links, including the admin panel link, and login box (on the index)


MOD Version: 1.0.4 (Updated 03/17/05)

Download File: navbar_mod_104.zip
mods overview page: View
File Size: 5478 Bytes

Security Score: 0

Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:55 pm
by wGEric
MOD Validated/Released

Notes:
Moves the top navigation links and the bottom log in box to the side bar.

Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:33 am
by mdbusa
Demo??

Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:57 pm
by reiyo_oki
Check my website: dynamic.gamespy.com/~dragonsuprising/ I've customized it a bit, but it uses the same basic code.

EDIT: 2/21/06

I've had a number of people request the newest version of the mod I have, so I'm posting a link to it.

PLEASE NOTE: This version has NOT been validated by the phpBB mod team. I have done my best to eliminate any bugs in the mod, but there may be some that I missed. That being said, you use this at your own discretion/risk.

http://dragonsuprising.planetdiablo.gam ... od_220.zip

EDIT: 12/04/06
To fix the Edit Link option, do the following:

OPEN
phpbb_root_path/admin/admin_nav_links.php

FIND

Code: Select all

		if( $mode == "edit" )
		{
			if( $word_id )
			{
				$sql = "SELECT * 
					FROM " . NAV_LINKS_TABLE . " 
					WHERE link_id = $link_id";
REPLACE WITH

Code: Select all

		if( $mode == "edit" )
		{
			if( $word_id )
			{
				$sql = "SELECT * 
					FROM " . NAV_LINKS_TABLE . " 
					WHERE link_id = $word_id";

Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 5:27 pm
by Tom_S
The download link for the mod isn't working.

Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:24 pm
by Chayyiel
Download works fine.

Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 10:06 pm
by Tom_S
Chayyiel wrote: Download works fine.


Then explain why I have been getting this error each of the 70 some odd times I have tried the download?
Image

Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 11:14 pm
by DaMnY

Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:03 am
by Tom_S
You are DaMan

Thanx 8)

Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:23 pm
by reiyo_oki
working on an upgrade for it, both aesthetic and use-wise. One of the major parts is the table looks, but I'm also going to move the admin link into the navbar.

Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 10:18 pm
by webmacster87
Nice MOD! I'm modifying it a bit for my use, but it's a helpful way to move the menu to the side, reserving the menu space for miscellaneous links for my site. Thanks!

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 3:50 am
by kirk06
Tom_S wrote: Then explain why I have been getting this error each of the 70 some odd times I have tried the download?
Image


I'm not sure if this'll fix this problem, but it may fix many others:
...
DaMnY's avatar puts it best: Image

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 6:49 am
by Tom_S
kirk06 wrote:
Tom_S wrote:
Then explain why I have been getting this error each of the 70 some odd times I have tried the download?
Image


I'm not sure if this'll fix this problem, but it may fix many others:
...
DaMnY's avatar puts it best: Image


Nope...even Firefox didn't get the job done on that one. Got em all. Dead link is a dead link. No matter. Got it thanks to DaMnY though :lol:

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:45 pm
by reiyo_oki
Fountain of Apples wrote: Nice MOD! I'm modifying it a bit for my use, but it's a helpful way to move the menu to the side, reserving the menu space for miscellaneous links for my site. Thanks!


:) I aim to please!

Oh, and any suggestions are always welcome. I was thinking about adding a customizable links block...but that would take a bit more coding than I'd care to do...I dislike making admin modules.

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:33 pm
by libertate
reiyo_oki, this is excellent.

Request - Can you make the sides dynamic? i.e. allow the nav to appear on the left OR the right?

Truth is, the menu is better to be on the right for most people per usability studies. :-D (Yes, I am a freak.) Most browsers have their vertical slide bars on the right side. So your cursor would be be default resting in that area. If you have to go to a different area on the menu, and the menu is on the left side, you have to move the cursor across the whole screen. This is not the case if it is on the right side. Surprisingly, that fraction of a second means annoyance or comfort for many users.

A small boolean switch in the code, to allow it to be on the right side would make this even better! Moving the switch onto to ACP would make it ultimate!