[2.0.16] Restrict Account To IP

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.

Rating:

Excellent!
2
50%
Very Good
2
50%
Good
0
No votes
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 4

Extensions Robot
Extensions Robot
Extensions Robot
Posts: 28595
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 7:36 am

[2.0.16] Restrict Account To IP

Post by Extensions Robot »

MOD Name: Restrict Account To IP
Author: geocator
MOD Description: Allows you to restrict an account to login from a specified IP or range only.


MOD Version: 1.0.1

Download File: restrict_account_to_ip_101.mod
mods overview page: View
File Size: 8570 Bytes

Security Score: 0
Last edited by Extensions Robot on Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
(this is a non-active account manager for the phpBB Extension Customisations Team)
ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

MOD Validated/Released

Notes:
A handy admin tool to allow a user account only login from a certain IP or range.
geocator
Registered User
Posts: 16242
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: On dry land
Contact:

Post by geocator »

Hello All,

As you may know I do not provide template changes for anything but subSilver in my MODs. I also only provide English language entries. I would now like to offer the opportunity to you, the users, the ability to change this.

What I have decided to do is accept Language and Template files for non-subSilver, and English setups. These files will go in the contrib directory of my MODs, and you will be given credit for your work on them.

If you are interested, please contact me, after you can meet these requirements:

For Templates:
  • Every template change must have been made, allowing full MOD functionality.
  • I will need access to a demo to verify the accuracy and completeness of the template changes.
  • In a zip file, you will need to provide me the complete template files that where changed, any extra template files, and all custom graphics needed.

Code: Select all

For Languages:
This one is a bit easier, the main requirement is a complete translation of all entries in the MOD.
»»EDDY««
Registered User
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 10:14 am
Location: Poland/Slupsk
Contact:

Post by »»EDDY«« »

Make a Tiny URL in excellent domain heh.pl


cooling system & water cooling
geocator
Registered User
Posts: 16242
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: On dry land
Contact:

Post by geocator »



And your point is. These MODs are unrelated, and do two diffrent things.
Clownzer
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2004 5:32 pm

Post by Clownzer »

Ok, I edited all the files I needed to and logged into the forums. But I do not see anything in the ACP to enable or set up prefrences for this mod.. Any ideas? Thanks

Clownzer
geocator
Registered User
Posts: 16242
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: On dry land
Contact:

Post by geocator »

Go to user managment and look up the user acount you want to restrict.
internetbrother
Registered User
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:30 pm

Post by internetbrother »

I have an important question and I need advice.
I have a forum with about 2000 Members, most of my members are people who are common workers in Korean . they are migrants . they do not have a PC at home so they use internet cafes to access my forum.

I suppose using this mod is not wise in this case because I have to limit them to on particular internet cafe all the time. what do you think?

On the other hand I have heard that in this country which most internet users are using ADSL the IP is not fixed and from time to time it changes.
so If Even I use this Mod I might get a lot of complaints from users.

what do you think?

finally can I use this mod to restrict using my forum and only those who are in a particular country can use it.

Is it possible to use this ip restricion based on particular forum rather than the whole site?

thanks
User avatar
bonelifer
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3511
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:35 pm
Name: William
Contact:

Post by bonelifer »

While you could use this on every account you have, that really wasn't the original intent. Most people use it to restrict Admn/Mod accounts to a specific IP.
Knowledge Base | phpBB Board Rules | Search Customisation Database
Image
Please don't contact me via PM or email for phpBB support .
internetbrother
Registered User
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:30 pm

Post by internetbrother »

what if my own IP changes ? because I do not have a fixed IP either!
of course I can use range of allowed IPs but is it possible to change this
in time of emergency through phpmyadmin or ftp and how?

just curious :D
internetbrother
Registered User
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:30 pm

Post by internetbrother »

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hey my curiosity always makes problem for me.
I am locked out :lol: Now what can I do :cry:
I seem I accidentally put wrong IP there :roll:
geocator
Registered User
Posts: 16242
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: On dry land
Contact:

Post by geocator »

You will have manually edit the database using phpmyadmin or simular tool.
internetbrother
Registered User
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:30 pm

Post by internetbrother »

Thanks I know how to go through phpmyadmin but do not know how to remove the ip? I think sooner or later some will face the same problem
would you please explain that

Thanks
geocator
Registered User
Posts: 16242
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: On dry land
Contact:

Post by geocator »

In the users table will be a field called user_restrictip, set it to 0 for the user.
geocator
Registered User
Posts: 16242
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: On dry land
Contact:

Post by geocator »

MOD Verified to install and work on 2.0.18
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”