2 Domains, 2 Forums, 1 Database with 2 Styles. How?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
gch5185
Registered User
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:29 am

2 Domains, 2 Forums, 1 Database with 2 Styles. How?

Post by gch5185 »

Hi,

Let's say I have a phpBB3 forum Forum A, (http://www.A.com). Now, I'm going to duplicate the forum to another Forum B, (http://www.B.com) with different style but pointing to the same database. I just copied everything in the root and pasted them in a folder. I tried to access the Forum B, everything is okay. I can make new thread, new reply, every single action will write into the database but when it comes to the style, I cannot change it. When I change the style in http://www.B.com, the effect will take place in both Forum A and Forum B as well.

Last time, I just have duplicated everything in the root folder to another folder and then copied the style I want into the /templates folder in phpBB2 forum. phpBB3 is different, can anyone help me please? :cry:

Can anyone help me? Please. Thank you.
Last edited by lurttinen on Sun Nov 15, 2009 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: -> support
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith
Contact:

Re: 2 Domains, 2 Forums, 1 Database with 2 Styles. How?

Post by ToonArmy »

You should just be able to rename the style folder to match that of your other style. However what have you don't about attachments, uploaded avatars?
Chris SmithGitHub
gch5185
Registered User
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:29 am

Re: 2 Domains, 2 Forums, 1 Database with 2 Styles. How?

Post by gch5185 »

I have renamed it, but the CSS and Imageset are still following the old Forum A settings. Can you help me?

Don't worry about attachment, I have edited this file download/file.php and the attachment is linkable to both forums now. :) I'm just worrying about the styles, it gives me a lot of troubles. I even replaced the style.cfg, imageset.cfg and template.cfg in every 3 folders with the old one. It is still not working for me. :(

Then, I try to edit it manually through ACP. After finished with the editing, I click on purge cache. The effect taken is to both of the forums, not only the one I'm editing. Can you explain me more about the cache, please? Thank you.
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51579
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: 2 Domains, 2 Forums, 1 Database with 2 Styles. How?

Post by stevemaury »

If you edit styles in the ACP, the edits will be lost when you purge the cache. Download the files with FTP, edit and upload and then purge the cache.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
gch5185
Registered User
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:29 am

Re: 2 Domains, 2 Forums, 1 Database with 2 Styles. How?

Post by gch5185 »

Hi. Thank you for your fast response. Meaning to say that if I download the file from Forum B, edit it and upload to the FTP. With this way, it will not affect Forum A. Am I right? Sorry. Just dont want to screw up again and cause disaster in my forum. I have spent a few days to explore this and Im very exhausted. :( Thank you for willing to help, man.
gch5185
Registered User
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:29 am

Re: 2 Domains, 2 Forums, 1 Database with 2 Styles. How?

Post by gch5185 »

Hi. It's working but not the imageset and theme (CSS). Take a look.

Forum A - http://www.mobile38.com
Forum B - http://www.mobile38.com/AAA

As you can see, Forum B is still using Forum A CSS and imageset. Can you help me to solve this out? Thank you.
craiga
Registered User
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:14 am
Contact:

Re: 2 Domains, 2 Forums, 1 Database with 2 Styles. How?

Post by craiga »

will Google not frown on duplicate content? Or will teh different styles stop this?
gabgab
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 12:40 pm

Re: 2 Domains, 2 Forums, 1 Database with 2 Styles. How?

Post by gabgab »

I'm trying to do the same, but when the forums is on different domains, the session doesn't work.
So after login (on the secondary forum) when you're sent back to the board you aren't logged in anyway...

I guess this is due to the cookie_domain which i stored in the db, I have tried to 'hardcode' the secondary domain into the session.php file and use it on the secondary forum, but it doesn't work, still can't login :?

could anyone please assist how to fix the login so the login works from the secondary forum aswell?

Regards. 8-)
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”