[Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
User avatar
Brenakie
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:08 am
Location: Pascoag, RI - USA
Contact:

[Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Brenakie »

Brf wrote:Yes. The info for your old database is found in your old forum's config.php
I'm having the same issue. I went into the old config file and noted: $table_prefix = 'phpbb_'

So on the settings page of the conversion I entered phpbb_ (w/ db type set to mysql) and received:
The convertor was not able to find tables with the specified prefix. Please make sure you have entered the correct details for the board you are converting from. The default table prefix for phpBB 2.0.x is phpbb_.

w/ db set to mysql w/ mysqli ext I received:
The table prefix needs to be the one used by the software you are converting from.
» Specified table prefix was phpbb_.

What should I be entering???

Thanks,

Bren
Last edited by Pit$Bull on Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic icon changed
Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Pit$Bull »

Check the config.php file of your version 2, it will show the correct prefix to use.
Are you on the same server?
User avatar
Brenakie
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:08 am
Location: Pascoag, RI - USA
Contact:

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Brenakie »

Pitt,

Thanks for getting back to me. Both 2.x and 3.x state phpbb_

Bren
Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Pit$Bull »

Pit$Bull wrote: Are you on the same server?
User avatar
Brenakie
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:08 am
Location: Pascoag, RI - USA
Contact:

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Brenakie »

Yes, sorry.
Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Pit$Bull »

Please fill out the Support Request Template Generator and post it back here to enable us to assist you better. Include links.
User avatar
Brenakie
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:08 am
Location: Pascoag, RI - USA
Contact:

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Brenakie »

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.0.6
What is your board's URL? http://www.wallumlakerodgun.com/forum/
What is your board's URL? http://www.wallumlakerodgun.com/foruma/
Who do you host your board with? insiderhosting.com
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
Is your board a fresh install or a conversion? Fresh Install
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? No
What styles do you currently have installed? default
What language(s) is your board currently using? english
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? Comfortable with PHP and phpBB
When did your problem begin? Today
Please describe your problem. performing an upgrade from 2.x to 3.0.6

Stuck on the SETTINGS section of the CONVERSION

Prefix for tables in db: both 2.x & 3.x are phpbb_

Verifying conversion options: The convertor was not able to find tables with the specified prefix. Please make sure you have entered the correct details for the board you are converting from. The default table prefix for phpBB 2.0.x is phpbb_.
Generated by SRT Generator ($Rev: 3603 $)
Last edited by Brenakie on Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Pit$Bull »

Need a link to both boards.
User avatar
Brenakie
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:08 am
Location: Pascoag, RI - USA
Contact:

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Brenakie »

What is your board's URL? http://www.wallumlakerodgun.com/forum/
What is your board's URL? http://www.wallumlakerodgun.com/foruma/
Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Pit$Bull »

Looks like you are pointing to the wrong database walum357_phpbb3
User avatar
Brenakie
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:08 am
Location: Pascoag, RI - USA
Contact:

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Brenakie »

One problem fixed and another created

Fatal conversion error

Fatal conversion error

functions_phpbb20.php [ 1860 ]

Colliding usernames were found on your old board. In order to complete the conversion please delete or rename these users so that there is only one user on your old board for each clean username.

manny costa life is the clean username for:
» user id: 75 username: manny costa life (0 posts)
» user id: 110 username: Manny Costa Life (0 posts)

I enabled the site and This board has no forums.
Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Pit$Bull »

You didn't make the conversion successfully yet, now I find your old board can't connect to the database.
User avatar
Brenakie
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:08 am
Location: Pascoag, RI - USA
Contact:

Re: [Split From] "Prefix for tables in database"

Post by Brenakie »

I got going! Thanks for all your help Pit!!
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”