[MODDB] Quote Post Back Link

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Anti-Spam Guide
frec
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:35 am

Re: [RC2] Quote Post Back Link

Post by frec » Sat Mar 13, 2010 12:17 am

can you please update the download link?
the file is not there anymore.

starstuff
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [RC2] Quote Post Back Link

Post by starstuff » Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:36 pm

frec wrote:can you please update the download link?
the file is not there anymore.
+1

getbrett
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:12 pm

Re: [RC2] Quote Post Back Link

Post by getbrett » Sun Aug 22, 2010 5:31 pm

Download link is still dead. Anyone got this kicking about on their hard drive?

User avatar
Erik Frèrejean
Former Team Member
Posts: 9899
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:09 am
Location: The Netherlands, 3.0.x Support Forum
Name: Erik Frèrejean
Contact:

Re: [RC2] Quote Post Back Link

Post by Erik Frèrejean » Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:38 pm

Just an heads up, I've requested this topic to be re-opened. I'll make a new package available in the next couple of days but please notice that: I will no longer support any earlier versions of this MOD!
For the time being you can find the new version of this MOD on my GitHub profile within the "QPBL" repository.
Support Toolkit | Support Request Template | Knowledge Base | phpBB 3.0.x documentation
I don't give support via PM or IM! (all unsolicited pms will be trashed!)

User avatar
Erik Frèrejean
Former Team Member
Posts: 9899
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:09 am
Location: The Netherlands, 3.0.x Support Forum
Name: Erik Frèrejean
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by Erik Frèrejean » Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:45 pm

QPBL 2.0.0-RC1 has been released through its github repository. If you find any problems with this version please post a ticket in the issue tracker @github.

~ Erik
Support Toolkit | Support Request Template | Knowledge Base | phpBB 3.0.x documentation
I don't give support via PM or IM! (all unsolicited pms will be trashed!)

autinhyeu
Registered User
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:34 am
Location: Vietnamese
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by autinhyeu » Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:46 pm

Thanks for update :)

but after i edit includes/bbcode.php file, i cant connect my board, it show:

Code: Select all

HTTP 500 - Internal Server Error
phpBB Community in Vietnamese: http://www.phpbbvn.com

Sorry, my English language is fine impossible

User avatar
Erik Frèrejean
Former Team Member
Posts: 9899
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:09 am
Location: The Netherlands, 3.0.x Support Forum
Name: Erik Frèrejean
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by Erik Frèrejean » Sun Dec 05, 2010 3:17 pm

The MOD has been updated and includes three changes that are noted in the install file.
https://github.com/erikfrerejean/quote_ ... ee/2.0.0.2
Support Toolkit | Support Request Template | Knowledge Base | phpBB 3.0.x documentation
I don't give support via PM or IM! (all unsolicited pms will be trashed!)

wolfman24
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:07 pm

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by wolfman24 » Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:22 pm

Nice work, but I found 2 things.

1) The first character of the quote text is missing so I need to change the line

Code: Select all

return str_replace(array_keys($replace), $replace, $this->bbcode_tpl($tpl));
to

Code: Select all

return str_replace(array_keys($replace), $replace, $this->bbcode_tpl($tpl)).$quote;
I don't know if this appears in a new phpBB3 board also, mine is heavily modded so this code may belong to some other mod I'm not aware of right now.

2) If someone removes the post_id in the quote (the ;p=1234) he will receive an sql error when viewing that post, because of some post_id = statement missing the value for post_id. You can add the following code after the code block for // Disabled?

Code: Select all

		// No post_id ?
		if ($post_id == '')
		{
			return $this->bbcode_second_pass_quote($username, $quote);
		}
And one question: Why do you use strtolower for the post title? Is there a technical reason? I think it is nicer to leave the case as is.

Thanks for your good work.

User avatar
Erik Frèrejean
Former Team Member
Posts: 9899
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:09 am
Location: The Netherlands, 3.0.x Support Forum
Name: Erik Frèrejean
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by Erik Frèrejean » Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:25 pm

wolfman24 wrote:Nice work, but I found 2 things.

1) The first character of the quote text is missing so I need to change the line

Code: Select all

return str_replace(array_keys($replace), $replace, $this->bbcode_tpl($tpl));
to

Code: Select all

return str_replace(array_keys($replace), $replace, $this->bbcode_tpl($tpl)).$quote;
I don't know if this appears in a new phpBB3 board also, mine is heavily modded so this code may belong to some other mod I'm not aware of right now.
You're correct, I can't believe I fall into that one again :oops:
wolfman24 wrote:2) If someone removes the post_id in the quote (the ;p=1234) he will receive an sql error when viewing that post, because of some post_id = statement missing the value for post_id. You can add the following code after the code block for // Disabled? Code block:

Code: Select all

		// No post_id ?
		if ($post_id == '')
		{
			return $this->bbcode_second_pass_quote($username, $quote);
		}
Can you please post a bug report for this one? You can find the issue tracker on the GitHub page :).
wolfman24 wrote:And one question: Why do you use strtolower for the post title? Is there a technical reason? I think it is nicer to leave the case as is.
No more visually. This is a MOD that I'm building for a particular forum and they like to have the title lowercase. I could add a switch in the ACP for that though.
wolfman24 wrote:Thanks for your good work.
Glad you like it :)
Support Toolkit | Support Request Template | Knowledge Base | phpBB 3.0.x documentation
I don't give support via PM or IM! (all unsolicited pms will be trashed!)

wolfman24
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:07 pm

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by wolfman24 » Mon Dec 06, 2010 2:47 pm

Erik Frèrejean wrote:Can you please post a bug report for this one? You can find the issue tracker on the GitHub page .
I opened an issue at GitHub, I hope this is what you meant with bug report. I am not very familiar with GitHub.

User avatar
Erik Frèrejean
Former Team Member
Posts: 9899
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:09 am
Location: The Netherlands, 3.0.x Support Forum
Name: Erik Frèrejean
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by Erik Frèrejean » Mon Dec 06, 2010 2:49 pm

Yes thats correct, on GitHub they call the bug tracker an issue tracker but its basically the same thing ;).
Support Toolkit | Support Request Template | Knowledge Base | phpBB 3.0.x documentation
I don't give support via PM or IM! (all unsolicited pms will be trashed!)

User avatar
Erik Frèrejean
Former Team Member
Posts: 9899
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:09 am
Location: The Netherlands, 3.0.x Support Forum
Name: Erik Frèrejean
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by Erik Frèrejean » Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:10 pm

2.0.0.3 has been released fixing three issues:

[Change] Allow the admin to define whether topic titles are forced to lower case or not.
[Fix] #1
[Fix] First character of quotes get cut off.
Support Toolkit | Support Request Template | Knowledge Base | phpBB 3.0.x documentation
I don't give support via PM or IM! (all unsolicited pms will be trashed!)

autinhyeu
Registered User
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:34 am
Location: Vietnamese
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by autinhyeu » Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:23 pm

i have a problem with multi-quote, when quote inside dont have ;p=xxx

--------------
eg:
i quote:

Code: Select all

[quote="user1";p=001][quote="user2"]
content 1[/quote]
content 2[/quote]
it show:
[quote="user1";p=001]
user2 wrote: content 1
content 2[/quote]

-------------

can i set ;p=xxx by default, if it isn't defined???
phpBB Community in Vietnamese: http://www.phpbbvn.com

Sorry, my English language is fine impossible

User avatar
Erik Frèrejean
Former Team Member
Posts: 9899
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:09 am
Location: The Netherlands, 3.0.x Support Forum
Name: Erik Frèrejean
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by Erik Frèrejean » Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:40 pm

autinhyeu wrote:i have a problem with multi-quote, when quote inside dont have ;p=xxx

--------------
eg:
i quote:

Code: Select all

[quote="user1";p=001][quote="user2"]
content 1[/quote]
content 2[/quote]
it show:
[quote="user1";p=001]
user2 wrote: content 1
content 2
-------------[/quote]
Please post a bug report in the tracker.
autinhyeu wrote:can i set ;p=xxx by default, if it isn't defined???
No, that also wouldn't make sense as the topic won't be in context with the quote
Support Toolkit | Support Request Template | Knowledge Base | phpBB 3.0.x documentation
I don't give support via PM or IM! (all unsolicited pms will be trashed!)

autinhyeu
Registered User
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:34 am
Location: Vietnamese
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Quote Post Back Link

Post by autinhyeu » Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:01 pm

Erik Frèrejean wrote: Please post a bug report in the tracker.
i posted :)

thanks!
phpBB Community in Vietnamese: http://www.phpbbvn.com

Sorry, my English language is fine impossible

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”

cron