Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
rob2211
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:59 am

Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by rob2211 »

I believe this is a bug.

I'm trying to install phpbb with MS SQL using a database name that is longer than 30 characters. When examining the config file the 31st character that is written is replaced with three question marks "???". For example: DatabaseName_Intranet_AppData_???orum.

I have tried re-writing the config.php file before the installation is completed but this seems to have no effect. Any help would be appreciated.
rob2211
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:59 am

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by rob2211 »

I've tracked this to the PHP global $_REQUEST.

$_REQUEST['dbname'] is for some reason replacing the 31st character with: �

Anyone know what might be the cause of this??

Edit: This only occurs between installation steps an interrogation of $_REQUEST['dbname'] directly after it has been submitted returns the correct value. This would suggest that phpbb is corrupting the data while persisting it between installation steps.
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51404
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by stevemaury »

Please post a bug report.

What point does the installation reach? Has the database schema been applied? Are there 62 tables in the database?
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
rob2211
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:59 am

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by rob2211 »

I've even tried installing phpbb to a database that has a name below the 30 character threshold, then moving the created tables into my 30+ character named database. Once the config.php is changed to my desired database name phpBB then throws up a 'general' error.

I've even tried renaming the database to a string of 30 k's "kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk", this works fine.

Surely I'm not the only person that's come across this?
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51404
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by stevemaury »

I just tested this on a MySQL database. phpbb had no problems with a database name of 33 characters.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith
Contact:

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by ToonArmy »

What are you trying to name the database?
Chris SmithGitHub
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51404
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by stevemaury »

Or, to put it another way, what exactly is the 31st character in the actual name?
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
rob2211
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:59 am

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by rob2211 »

I'm using Microsoft SQL Server 2005

I've re-named the database "kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk" - this works correctly, no problems.

When changing it to "kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkp" - a 'general' error is thrown.

Where do I log this as a bug? I've looked on the 'bug tracker' and can't find a 'submit bug' procedure.
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51404
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by stevemaury »

http://tracker.phpbb.com/secure/Dashboard.jspa, but be advised that the staff here cannot reproduce this with either MSSQL or MySQL:
Attachments
bug.png
bug.png (20.67 KiB) Viewed 331 times
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51404
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by stevemaury »

This is a known MSSQL issue. See the first usernote at http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.mssql.php#

It is a php/mssql issue, not a phpbb issue.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith
Contact:

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by ToonArmy »

stevemaury wrote:This is a known MSSQL issue. See the first usernote at http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.mssql.php#

It is a php/mssql issue, not a phpbb issue.
That's not related at all.
Chris SmithGitHub
rob2211
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:59 am

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by rob2211 »

Are you referring to "lostaircryptic at hotmail dot co dot uk"s comment on 30-Apr-2007 10:34 ?

He seems to be discussing column name lengths rather than database names.

Sorry to hassle you further but if you can't replicate this issue at your end using MSSQL there must be a php / db setting that differs from my settings, any ideas what that might be?
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51404
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by stevemaury »

See this:

http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.m ... .php#80991

And do this google search:

MS SQL database name 30+ characters long
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith
Contact:

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by ToonArmy »

You might want to try out the repackage we made with the support for the new MSSQL PHP driver: http://area51.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=32736
Chris SmithGitHub
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51404
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Intall using MS SQL database name 30+ characters long

Post by stevemaury »

What is your SQL server version?

EDIT - I see it - 2005.

Known issue with that version. The attempts to unsuccessfully reproduce were server 2008.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”