Custom BBCodes [Deprecated]

Get help developing custom BBCodes or request one.
User avatar
AmigoJack
Registered User
Posts: 6108
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:33 am
Location: グリーン ヒル ゾーン
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by AmigoJack »

jesschen wrote:are these possible for phpBB?
Yes.
  • "The problem is probably not my English but you do not want to understand correctly. ... We will not come anybody anyway, nevertheless, it's best to shit this." Affin, 2018-11-20
  • "But this shit is not here for you. You can follow with your. Maybe the question, instead, was for you, who know, so you shoved us how you are." axe70, 2020-10-10
  • "My reaction is not to everyone, especially to you." Raptiye, 2021-02-28
xdamageincx
Registered User
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 1:47 am

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by xdamageincx »

Alright, I have tried everything to get photobucket to work- can someone point me in the right direction to make it work?
Meaning a custom code.I can get a blank white screen to appear on posts but not a video. Is there new code for this?
Jaymie1989 wrote:
Cdngal wrote:heres my BB Codes for photobucket

BB Code Usage
[Pbucket]<embed width="{TEXT1}" height="{TEXT2}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" src="http://{TEXT3}.photobucket.com/player.swf?file={TEXT4}">[/Pbucket]

HTML replacement

<embed width="{TEXT1}" height="{TEXT2}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" src="http://{TEXT3}.photobucket.com/player.swf?file={TEXT4}"></embed>

The BBCode is long and its best if parts are changed

Try this new one

BBCode:

Code: Select all

[Pbucket]<embed width="{NUMBER1}" height="{NUMBER2}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" src="http://{URL1}.photobucket.com/player.swf?file={URL2}">[/Pbucket]
or this shorter one
BBCode:

Code: Select all

[Pbucket{NUMBER1}{NUMBER2}]{URL1}{URL2}[/Pbucket]
HTML Replacement:

Code: Select all

<embed width="{NUMBER1}" height="{NUMBER2}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" src="http://{URL1}.photobucket.com/player.swf?file={URL2}"></embed>
You dont really need the URL1 in either ;)
Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by Pony99CA »

AmigoJack wrote:
jesschen wrote:are these possible for phpBB?
Yes.
:lol:

For Jess' future reference, please don't expect people to visit links just to understand what is being discussed. Describing what the codes do here and providing the link for more details will be more likely to get you real help.

I'm not even going to try to answer the question because I have no intention of visiting five separate links just to see what is being talked about. :roll:

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.
User avatar
AmigoJack
Registered User
Posts: 6108
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:33 am
Location: グリーン ヒル ゾーン
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by AmigoJack »

Pony99CA wrote:five separate links
Actually it's just one link... with 5 different anchors. ;)

Guys: HTML is no black magic. So is CSS. Invest one day in learning the basics - it's not more complex than putting a lasagna into the microwave.
  • [rainbow]{TEXT}[/rainbow] (note that you have to provide rainbow2.js by yourself)

    Code: Select all

    <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript" src="rainbow2.js"></script><span onmouseout="stopRainbow(this)" onmouseover="doRainbow(this)" style="">{TEXT}</span>
  • [p]{TEXT}[/p] (note that you have to provide php_space01.gif by yourself)

    Code: Select all

    <p style="margin-top: 0pt; margin-bottom: 0pt;"><img style="float: left;" src="php_space01.gif"/>{TEXT}</p>
  • [sarcasm]{TEXT}[/sarcasm]

    Code: Select all

    <span style="border-bottom: 1px dashed rgb(184, 162, 110); text-decoration: none;"><abbr title="This may or may not be sarcasm">{TEXT}</abbr></span>
  • [spacer]{TEXT}[/spacer]

    Code: Select all

    <span style="white-space: pre;">{TEXT}</span>
  • [spoiler]{TEXT}[/spoiler]

    Code: Select all

    <span style="background-color: #000; color: #000;" onmouseout="this.style.color=this.style.backgroundColor='#000'" onmouseover="this.style.color='#B8A26E';">{TEXT}</span>
  • "The problem is probably not my English but you do not want to understand correctly. ... We will not come anybody anyway, nevertheless, it's best to shit this." Affin, 2018-11-20
  • "But this shit is not here for you. You can follow with your. Maybe the question, instead, was for you, who know, so you shoved us how you are." axe70, 2020-10-10
  • "My reaction is not to everyone, especially to you." Raptiye, 2021-02-28
FNolan
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by FNolan »

I recently moved my forum to a new server and now some of my custom bbCodes don't work right. The original server had PHP4, the new PHP5 so I'm assuming that has something to do with it.

Here's the custom bbCode

Code: Select all

[zsb4] {TEXT1}, {NUMBER1}, {NUMBER2}, {TEXT2}, {NUMBER3}[/zsb4]
Here's the HTML

Code: Select all

<center><iframe frameborder="yes" height="700" width="630" src="http://www.nolansoft.com/fnolan/form/zug_zsb_12_125.php?storeName={TEXT1}&rfNumber={NUMBER1}&productID={NUMBER2}&keywords={TEXT2}&bkgrndColor={NUMBER3}&bg={NUMBER3}"></iframe></center>
What it does is get some items from a POD (Products On Demand) site and displays them with links to them along with an affiliate ID #. I works and brings up products but not what was requested so it leads to believe that it's (the custom bbCode) isn't getting picked up by the HTML so it's pulling the default items.

See sample HERE It's supposed to display ornaments that have a Maine theme but it shows other items instead. As stated it worked until I had the forum moved to a new server with the latest PHP. Any ideas ?
Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by Pony99CA »

FNolan wrote:I recently moved my forum to a new server and now some of my custom bbCodes don't work right. The original server had PHP4, the new PHP5 so I'm assuming that has something to do with it.

Here's the custom bbCode

Code: Select all

[zsb4] {TEXT1}, {NUMBER1}, {NUMBER2}, {TEXT2}, {NUMBER3}[/zsb4]
Here's the HTML

Code: Select all

<center><iframe frameborder="yes" height="700" width="630" src="http://www.nolansoft.com/fnolan/form/zug_zsb_12_125.php?storeName={TEXT1}&rfNumber={NUMBER1}&productID={NUMBER2}&keywords={TEXT2}&bkgrndColor={NUMBER3}&bg={NUMBER3}"></iframe></center>
What it does is get some items from a POD (Products On Demand) site and displays them with links to them along with an affiliate ID #. I works and brings up products but not what was requested so it leads to believe that it's (the custom bbCode) isn't getting picked up by the HTML so it's pulling the default items.

See sample HERE It's supposed to display ornaments that have a Maine theme but it shows other items instead. As stated it worked until I had the forum moved to a new server with the latest PHP. Any ideas ?
If you do a View Source on the IFRAME, it seems to have a URL of:

Code: Select all


http://www.nolansoft.com/fnolan/form/zug_zsb_12_125.php?storeName=mainlymainephotos&rfNumber=238222823042907956&productID=175&keywords=&bkgrndColor=000000&bg=000000

so it looks like the HTML is getting correct information (except possibly for keywords).

Maybe the beautifully-named :roll: zug_zsb_12_125.php script no longer works on the new host (possibly because of a different PHP configuration?).

There's also the possibility that the problem is on the Zazzle side. They could have changed something or there could be a problem with your account (maybe moving your server confused them?).

In any case, it doesn't seem like a phpBB problem. Even if the code still works on the old server, that doesn't eliminate the above issues.

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.
FNolan
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by FNolan »

Thanks Steve for you input. Actually I changed the source trying to see if I entered the info myself whetehr it would make a difference. It didn't :evil: Your idea of the file name is worth a try. I thought I read somewhere that PHP5 didn't like spaces, maybe it doesn't like "_"s either ??? I'll play with it some more and see what I can figure out.
User avatar
rarmy
Registered User
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:26 am
Location: San Diego, CA
Name: Roy Army
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by rarmy »

I notice that whenever I use the

Code: Select all

 tag, I do not get the option to "Select All" after the "code:" heading...

Is this another special BBCode? or is there a way to modify the current code?

I could really use it...
p.s. I notice that when I go to ACP-POSTING-BBCode, I do not see the system default codes, when I uninstalled a BBCode mod (mssti_abbc3_308pl2) did I do something, or go to far???
Host, Chief Geek and WebMaster
http://www.reenactorswire.net
User avatar
AmigoJack
Registered User
Posts: 6108
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:33 am
Location: グリーン ヒル ゾーン
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by AmigoJack »

rarmy wrote:I notice that whenever I use the

Code: Select all

 tag, I do not get the option to "Select All" after the "code:" heading[/quote]That's a feature of the style used. [i]Prosilver[/i]: yes, [i]Subsilver2[/i]: no.

[quote="rarmy"]when I go to ACP-POSTING-BBCode, I do not see the system default codes[/quote]It wouldn't make sense to list them, since you can't modify or delete them. This is an expected behaviour.
  • "The problem is probably not my English but you do not want to understand correctly. ... We will not come anybody anyway, nevertheless, it's best to shit this." Affin, 2018-11-20
  • "But this shit is not here for you. You can follow with your. Maybe the question, instead, was for you, who know, so you shoved us how you are." axe70, 2020-10-10
  • "My reaction is not to everyone, especially to you." Raptiye, 2021-02-28
Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by Pony99CA »

rarmy wrote:I notice that when I go to ACP-POSTING-BBCode, I do not see the system default codes, when I uninstalled a BBCode mod (mssti_abbc3_308pl2) did I do something, or go to far???
The default BBCodes have never been displayed there (at least, not without a MOD). Notice the text above the list that says:
From this page you can add, remove and edit custom BBCodes.
(Emphasis added)

Contrary to what AmigoJack thinks, I think that they should be, at least so that you can disable or reorder them (although that would require new function). In fact, I think most BBCodes should be treated as "custom" ones just for that reason.

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.
User avatar
rarmy
Registered User
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:26 am
Location: San Diego, CA
Name: Roy Army
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by rarmy »

Pony99CA wrote:
rarmy wrote:I notice that when I go to ACP-POSTING-BBCode, I do not see the system default codes, when I uninstalled a BBCode mod (mssti_abbc3_308pl2) did I do something, or go to far???
The default BBCodes have never been displayed there (at least, not without a MOD). Notice the text above the list that says:
From this page you can add, remove and edit custom BBCodes.
(Emphasis added)

Contrary to what AmigoJack thinks, I think that they should be, at least so that you can disable or reorder them (although that would require new function). In fact, I think most BBCodes should be treated as "custom" ones just for that reason.

Steve
OK, missed that, wasn't sure if I had seen them before or not. And I agree for the same reasons you stated. That being said, how do I get the "Select All" showing as I see on all these other boards?? like this one???
Host, Chief Geek and WebMaster
http://www.reenactorswire.net
Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by Pony99CA »

rarmy wrote:That being said, how do I get the "Select All" showing as I see on all these other boards?? like this one???
As AmigoJack said, you'd need to switch to a ProSilver-based style. There might also be a MOD for SubSilver to do it, but I don't know.

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10551
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by Noxwizard »

For subsilver2 based styles, you can use the edits found here: http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p5655675
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.
User avatar
rarmy
Registered User
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:26 am
Location: San Diego, CA
Name: Roy Army
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by rarmy »

Noxwizard wrote:For subsilver2 based styles, you can use the edits found here: http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p5655675

Thanks, it worked...now off to break other stuff...
Host, Chief Geek and WebMaster
http://www.reenactorswire.net
indra
Registered User
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 8:20 am
Name: Indra Gunawan
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by indra »

i do the step to make bbcode spoiler but i can't show the spoiler..
any idea..
Locked

Return to “Custom BBCode Development and Requests”