How and where is a good place to add Google +1?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
thatforumsite
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:08 pm
Contact:

How and where is a good place to add Google +1?

Post by thatforumsite » Fri Jul 01, 2011 6:37 am

I have tried adding Google +1 to That Forum Site and placed the following in the overall header:

Code: Select all

<head>

<!-- Place this tag in your head or just before your close body tag - Google Plus 1 -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js">
  {lang: 'en-GB'}
</script>
      
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset={S_CONTENT_ENCODING}" />
<title>{PAGE_TITLE}<!-- IF S_IN_MCP --> &bull; {L_MCP}<!-- ELSEIF S_IN_UCP --> &bull; {L_UCP}<!-- ENDIF --></title>
And the following in the overall footer:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF U_BUMP_TOPIC --><li class="icon-bump"><a href="{U_BUMP_TOPIC}" title="{L_BUMP_TOPIC}">{L_BUMP_TOPIC}</a></li><!-- ENDIF -->
				<!-- ENDIF -->
		
								<div id="fb-root">
								
								
								
								</div>
								
								<!-- Place this tag where you want the +1 button to render -->
<g:plusone></g:plusone>

<script src="http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1"></script><fb:like href="http://www.facebook.com/pages/That-Forum-Site/194781007232736" send="true" layout="button_count" width="450" show_faces="false" font=""></fb:like>
								
		
								
				<li class="rightside"><!-- IF U_TEAM --><a href="{U_TEAM}">{L_THE_TEAM}</a> &bull; <!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF not S_IS_BOT --><a href="{U_DELETE_COOKIES}">{L_DELETE_COOKIES}</a> &bull; <!-- ENDIF -->{S_TIMEZONE}</li>
I am not convinced this is working though as when i log back in it is not always on "1" so i have to tick it again. Also, should it change for every different page/url string? Or should it count up from counts from every page that has been +1'd? Thanks :)
That Forum Site - focussing on nothing, specialising in everything

carloclaessen
Registered User
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:55 pm

Re: How and where is a good place to add Google +1?

Post by carloclaessen » Fri Jul 01, 2011 7:22 am

the plus 1 is user based and doesnt tic each time you click on it, that would be total cheating the system and google aint that stupid in webdevelopment, as long your members and visitors will click it logged in prob with their google accounts it will tick +1 else they would prob have called it +unlimited

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21724
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: How and where is a good place to add Google +1?

Post by Mick » Fri Jul 01, 2011 7:28 am

What is Google +1? You need to address any concerns about 'Google +1' wherever you got the code. Or have a search around, I did find some reference to it in MOD requests.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

carloclaessen
Registered User
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:55 pm

Re: How and where is a good place to add Google +1?

Post by carloclaessen » Fri Jul 01, 2011 7:30 am

prob not a excisting mod its a html addition from google to boost your page abit

http://www.google.com/+1/button/

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21724
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: How and where is a good place to add Google +1?

Post by Mick » Fri Jul 01, 2011 7:49 am

I understand that but this forum is for phpBB support not third party widgets.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

carloclaessen
Registered User
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:55 pm

Re: How and where is a good place to add Google +1?

Post by carloclaessen » Fri Jul 01, 2011 7:57 am

he added it in the phpbb source code in footer header, i dont suppose it conflicts, sofar the phpbb related part

also he asks just he asks also if it ticks each page which loads which i kinda also answered to solve confusion

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”