Clickable Banner

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Scam Warning
Santiago Munez 26
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:59 pm

Clickable Banner

Post by Santiago Munez 26 »

Hi friend,
I want to make clickable the forum's logo.
How can I do?

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 1451
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 7:27 am
Location: Romania
Name: Dragos Valentin Rădulescu
Contact:

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Dragosvr92 »

Sorry but you will have to give us some more data.
What style do you use?
Could we have a url to your board?

If you can locate your forums logo (its inside the overall_header.html file) all you have to do is add the A html element around your image code.

For example:
<a href="www.example.com">YOUR_LOGO_CODE_HERE</a>"
Formerly known as TheKiller
3.0| Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3
User avatar
GMan2008
Registered User
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:52 am
Location: Virginia
Name: Gary
Contact:

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by GMan2008 »

Go into your ACP>Styles>Imagesets

Change your logo of your forum to the image you want.......You will need to upload your new logo to the styles/imageset folder of course. But once you've changed it, it will now be a clickable banner to your forum index page. :)
So that a PHPBB Support Tech can help...Please provide the information necessary to assist you by filling out the Support Request Template.

Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.
User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Oyabun1 »

However, if you do it that way the change will be lost when you purge the cache or refresh the imageset. It is much better to follow the instructions in this article, Changing your board logo.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests
Santiago Munez 26
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Santiago Munez 26 »

TheKiller wrote:Sorry but you will have to give us some more data.
What style do you use?
Could we have a url to your board?

If you can locate your forums logo (its inside the overall_header.html file) all you have to do is add the A html element around your image code.

For example:
<a href="www.example.com">YOUR_LOGO_CODE_HERE</a>"
My style is "we_clearblue".
After what I have to insert this?
GMan2008 wrote:Go into your ACP>Styles>Imagesets

Change your logo of your forum to the image you want.......You will need to upload your new logo to the styles/imageset folder of course. But once you've changed it, it will now be a clickable banner to your forum index page. :)
I do this, but the logo isn't clickable
Oyabun1 wrote:However, if you do it that way the change will be lost when you purge the cache or refresh the imageset. It is much better to follow the instructions in this article, Changing your board logo.
Yes, I know, thanks :D
User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Oyabun1 »

The logo isn't clickable because it's not actually a logo, in the we_clearblue style the header image is set as a background, and backgrounds aren't clickable.

So, we need to come up with some sort of workaround.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests
User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 1451
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 7:27 am
Location: Romania
Name: Dragos Valentin Rădulescu
Contact:

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Dragosvr92 »

Id recommend you to ask the author for support.
http://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/style ... e/support/

We could try helping you, but we will need to know if the banner is the default banner of the style, with the same size.. Do you want to qeep the description also ?

You may try this.... But be ware, its a dirty way of doing it, and it wont be validated.

Find:

Code: Select all

		<div id="illustration">
			<div id="site-description">
				<h1><a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}">{SITENAME}</a></h1>
				<p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>
			</div>
		</div>
Replace With:

Code: Select all

		<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}">
		<div id="illustration">
			<div id="site-description">
				<h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
				<p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>
			</div>
		</div>
		</a>
Formerly known as TheKiller
3.0| Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3
Santiago Munez 26
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Santiago Munez 26 »

The actual banner is mine and it is 600x199 px.
I want that if an user click on the banner, the banner redirect to the homepage...
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68289
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

Santiago Munez 26 wrote:The actual banner is mine and it is 600x199 px.
I want that if an user click on the banner, the banner redirect to the homepage...
yes you can do this with css.
however, we need to see your site so we know exactly what banner and where you are using it etc. etc.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
User avatar
Boardtalk.net
Registered User
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 8:12 pm
Location: Ireland
Name: Colette
Contact:

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Boardtalk.net »

You could try this, it makes the entire header clickable to the index page;
Demo: http://boardtalk.org/forum/index.php (demo will stay up for a day or until until you tell me you've seen it)

Open; styles/we_clearblue/template/overall_header.html
Find:

Code: Select all

		<div id="illustration">
Replace with:

Code: Select all

		<div id="illustration" onclick="location.href='{U_INDEX}';" style="cursor: pointer;" title="{L_INDEX}">
Hope that's what your looking for,
;)
Santiago Munez 26
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Santiago Munez 26 »

Boardtalk.net wrote:You could try this, it makes the entire header clickable to the index page;
Demo: http://boardtalk.org/forum/index.php (demo will stay up for a day or until until you tell me you've seen it)

Open; styles/we_clearblue/template/overall_header.html
Find:

Code: Select all

		<div id="illustration">
Replace with:

Code: Select all

		<div id="illustration" onclick="location.href='{U_INDEX}';" style="cursor: pointer;" title="{L_INDEX}">
Hope that's what your looking for,
;)
Perfect! Thanks a lot!
Fantastic :D
User avatar
Boardtalk.net
Registered User
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 8:12 pm
Location: Ireland
Name: Colette
Contact:

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Boardtalk.net »

Ah great, glad to of been a help :D
agafed
Registered User
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 3:36 am

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by agafed »

Boardtalk.net wrote:Open; styles/we_clearblue/template/overall_header.html
Find:

Code: Select all

		<div id="illustration">
Replace with:

Code: Select all

		<div id="illustration" onclick="location.href='{U_INDEX}';" style="cursor: pointer;" title="{L_INDEX}">
What about if I want to open another URL?? So when you click the banner it redirects you to another page...
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68289
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

change the {U_INDEX} to whatever your link is.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
agafed
Registered User
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 3:36 am

Re: Clickable Banner

Post by agafed »

Thanks for your answer...

I did this:

Code: Select all

	        <div id="illustration" onclick="location.href='http://www.clubpeugeotsport.com/';" style="cursor: pointer;" title="{L_INDEX}">
But nothing happens...

What I'm doing wrong??
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”