how to test bots permissions?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Get Involved
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
yakusha
Registered User
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:30 pm

how to test bots permissions?

Post by yakusha » Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:54 am

I adding and deleting, and changing very much users permissiong...

all time, testing user permissions...

on acp -> manage users -> Select anonymous user...

and anonymous users testing...

but, how to testing bots permissions?

manage bot page, ı not finded a link for testing bots permissions... :o
Last edited by Oyabun1 on Wed May 23, 2012 10:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic icon changed

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51826
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: how to test bots permissions?

Post by Brf » Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:14 am

Try http://yourforumaddress/memberlist.php? ... ofile&u=14 to get to Googlebot's profile. Then you can click the test user link....
You can also go directly to http://yourforumaddress/ucp.php?mode=switch_perm&u=14

NoDigital
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:04 pm

Re: how to test bots permissions?

Post by NoDigital » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:24 am

Hello everybody.

Just a question: what are the default permissions of a bot / bots group? And what are the correct permissions for bots?
I'm asking this question because I just found - and today for the first time - on google's page, searching for my site, the link to the moderator panel attributed to google's spider...
I checked, selecting bots group -> choosing google -> grab permission , and found it has full moderating privileges.
The same was for MSNbot, I didn't check for others but I think they are all identical.
So I selected again bots group -> permission privileges -> switched all to "no" and now bots have no more moderating privileges.

I'm running a 3.0.8 version bridged with 1.5.12 coppermine, and some minor mods on the style.
Was it correct, a bug or other?

Thanks for help.

User avatar
HGN
Former Team Member
Posts: 4706
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Alfred
Contact:

Re: how to test bots permissions?

Post by HGN » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:41 am

Groups' permissions for bots should all be "No" for types "User permissions", "Global moderator permissions" and "Admin permissions".
Groups' forum permissions for bots should be "Bot access" role for type "Forum permissions" for the forums that should be indexed, and "No access" for the forums that should not be indexed.
Groups' forum permissions for bots should all be "No" for type "Moderator permissions" for all forums.

NoDigital
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:04 pm

Re: how to test bots permissions?

Post by NoDigital » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:00 am

Thanks for answer.
So I did the right thing switching all of them to "no" ...
But WHY and HOW those permission were setted to "yes"? Or WHAT did it?

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”