why this happen sometimes!?

Archive of support for the automated MOD installation tool codenamed "Blinky". For support questions regarding AutoMOD please visit here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: IF YOU NEED SUPPORT FOR AUTOMOD PLEASE VISIT THE APPROPRIATE LOCATION HERE.
Locked
User avatar
emosbat
Registered User
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:25 pm

why this happen sometimes!?

Post by emosbat » Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:42 pm

sometimes this happen, not sure why!

1. install mod#1:

mod#1:
open file x.html
find:

Code: Select all

<body>
add after:

Code: Select all

<div>my example 1</div>
find:

Code: Select all

<head>
add after:

Code: Select all

<div>my example 1 part2</div>
2- I install some other mod in this stage:

mod#2:
find:

Code: Select all

<head>
add after:

Code: Select all

<div>my example 2 part2</div>
3. now source is:

Code: Select all

<head>
<div>my example 2 part2</div>
<div>my example 1 part2</div>
4- then uninstall mod#1 and automod tell me everything was successful except that could not find second part (<div>my example 1 part2</div>).

5- it is ok, I force uninstall and get success.

6. manually remove (<div>my example 1 part2</div>) from file x.html.

7- now I uninstall MOD#2 and get a success message.

8- source code should be clean now! and it is!

9- I delete mod#1 from acp and upload new version of mod#1.

version 2 of mod#1 is:
open file x.html
find:

Code: Select all

<body>
add after:

Code: Select all

<div>my example 1.v2</div>
find:

Code: Select all

<head>
add after:

Code: Select all

<div>my example 1.v2 part2</div>

10- I reinstall mod#1 and then mod#2

source code should be:

Code: Select all

<head>
<div>my example 2 part2</div>
<div>my example 1.v2 part2</div>
...
<body>
<div>my example 1.v2</div>
11. what I get is:

Code: Select all

<head>
<div>my example 2 part2</div>
<div>my example 1 part2</div>
...
<body>
<div>my example 1.v2</div>
wtf :shock: do you notice that? instead my example 1.v2 part2 I see old version's result: <div>my example 2 part2</div> :shock: :shock:

why this happen? something cached and automod do refer to it as original x.html ?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66324
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: why this happen sometimes!?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:35 pm

in some cases, automod can only uninstall in the reverse order it installed in.
if the next MOD changes the same lines in the same file, it won't be able to find the changes of some previous MOD install.

in other words. it can only uninstall the last MOD you installed then it can move on to the one before that.

that is why it is important to install one MOD at a time and check it out completely before you install another one.

make sure each MOD you install works properly in all styles that you use etc. make sure it is something that you and/or your members really need , otherwise, what is the point?



robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

User avatar
emosbat
Registered User
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:25 pm

Re: why this happen sometimes!?

Post by emosbat » Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:36 am

ah that answer it.
so this is because order for installation? this is very confusing me when try to debug MODs
remove some part and see that again :?
hope to update automod engine to remove such issue. for example it can not remove parts that moved with another modification (such as example I said):

<head>
example1

then installed another mod:

<head>
example2
example1

now automod can not remove first midfication because search for:

<head>
example1

so why do not add an optimistic option for add-after and add-before commands? I mean if it was something like: add-after-optimistic, instead of searching for

<head>
example1

search for

<head>
... anything can be here ...
example1
... until next modification ...

then it can success in most commands :roll:

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] AutoMOD”