[MODDB] Jabber Support for userprofiles

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
ptlis
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

[MODDB] Jabber Support for userprofiles

Post by ptlis »

MOD Title: phpBB Jabber Support
MOD Description: Adds support for the Jabber IM network
MOD Version: 1.0.1

This Modification has been validated/released, please see this topic for the latest version and support/feature requests: phpBB Jabber Support

Demo Board: http://forums.ptlis.com/ (you cannot access the ACP to this board, screenshots of it are provided in the page linked below.).

Further information, screenshots and such can be found on this phpBB Jabber Support page, most of the information was moved here in accordance with the new rules for the MOD Development forum. Additionally my contact details can be found in my userprofile if you think you've discovered a bug in this modification.
Last edited by ptlis on Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:06 pm, edited 29 times in total.
Shof515
Registered User
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 4:36 am

Post by Shof515 »

http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article.php?article_id=38
http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article.php?article_id=39

that will make your mod more user-friendly when they need to install your mod
..and you also wana reduce the replaces..Like for example,for the first part,you do this:
Find:
$sql = "SELECT u.username
In-Line Find:
u.user_msnm,
In-Line After Add:
u.user_jabber,
Whos missing up my sig?
ptlis
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Post by ptlis »

I will read through these two kb articles and edit my original post accordingly.

ptlis
User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix »

you forgot to provide the SQL request need by the MOD :wink:
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:
Shof515
Registered User
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 4:36 am

Post by Shof515 »

.....and not to bust any bubbles but jabber is in phpBB 2.2.1 or w/e it is.. :roll:
Whos missing up my sig?
ptlis
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Post by ptlis »

I've updated my original post using the Mod Template system Shof515 graciously linked me to, hopefully the syntax is correct because the description of the use of the IN-LINE FIND widget was not great and I was left unsure as to whether I needed to use a regular find to find the line first or not (I simply used the IN-LINE FIND as it was described in the KB).
morpheus2matrix wrote: you forgot to provide the SQL request need by the MOD :wink:


There was actually a little bit of text explaining that but i've added the correct SQL syntax for it now.
Shof515 wrote: .....and not to bust any bubbles but jabber is in phpBB 2.2.1 or w/e it is.. :roll:


Yes, in my search for this mod I found that out but I went ahead for several reasons:
  • I needed this mod now, and I saw on the page on the Mod Request Forum I linked to in my first post that other people were in the same boat and infact phpBB lost users because of the lack of this Mod/Feature.
  • The phpBB developers not giving a release date for the release of phpBB 2.2.xx.
  • The fact that even when phpBB 2.2.xx is released many people, myself included will not install it on our websites until it has proven to be sexure and reliable (a 3month wait at least is normal).
ptlis
I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed or numbered.....my life is my own.
servalan
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:56 am

Post by servalan »

Hiya,

I've just installed this on our test server. A few buglets with the code snippets above...

Code: Select all

$jabber_img = ( $postrow[$i]['user_jabber'] ) ? '<a href="' . $temp_url . '"><img src="' . $images['icon_jabber'] . '" alt="' . $lang['JABBER'] . '" title="' . $lang['MSNM'] . '" /></a>' : '';
#
should be:

Code: Select all

$jabber_img = ( $postrow[$i]['user_jabber'] ) ? '<a href="' . $temp_url . '"><img src="' . $images['icon_jabber'] . '" alt="' . $lang['JABBER'] . '" title="' . $lang['JABBER'] . '" border="0" /></a>' : '';
i.e. changed the lang & added a null border to the icon.

Other than it seems to be working ok.

Thanks!
ptlis
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Post by ptlis »

servalan wrote: Hiya,

I've just installed this on our test server. A few buglets with the code snippets above...

Code: Select all

$jabber_img = ( $postrow[$i]['user_jabber'] ) ? '<a href="' . $temp_url . '"><img src="' . $images['icon_jabber'] . '" alt="' . $lang['JABBER'] . '" title="' . $lang['MSNM'] . '" /></a>' : '';
#
should be:

Code: Select all

$jabber_img = ( $postrow[$i]['user_jabber'] ) ? '<a href="' . $temp_url . '"><img src="' . $images['icon_jabber'] . '" alt="' . $lang['JABBER'] . '" title="' . $lang['JABBER'] . '" border="0" /></a>' : '';
i.e. changed the lang & added a null border to the icon.

Other than it seems to be working ok.

Thanks!


Thanks very much for the feedback, the $lang['MSNM'] part was a stupid oversight on my behalf, thanks for the heads-up. The border="0" part was actually intentionally because i've modified all the themes on my board to be XHTML 1.0 STRICT compliant so rather than having border="0" for each instance of an image i've added the line:

Code: Select all

      img {
        border: 0; }
Into the stylesheet for each theme; as it is this is non-standard for SubSilver so i'll change the code above to reflect this, thanks again! :D

ptlis
I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed or numbered.....my life is my own.
joefish
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:32 pm
Contact:

Post by joefish »

This mod is not easymod compliant. Does someone who knows what they're doing willing to do this for me?
ptlis
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Post by ptlis »

joefish wrote: This mod is not easymod compliant. Does someone who knows what they're doing willing to do this for me?


I need to check it to make sure it works fine with phpBB 2.0.11 (although I can't see there being any problems). If you can tell me what the error messages are i'll fix the problems at the same time; as I stated above I wasn't sure how the IN-LINE FIND widgit worked but I suspect it's a case of finding the line itself and then doing an in-line find within that whole line for the specific string that needs to be replaced. Can anybody confirm this for me?

EDIT: Okay, i've added [ FIND ]s before the [ IN-LINE FIND ]s and checked that it does indeed work fine with phpBB 2.0.11, any info as to whether it works with this EasyMod would be welcomed.

ptlis
I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed or numbered.....my life is my own.
joefish
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:32 pm
Contact:

Post by joefish »

Thanks. I'll check it when I come back from holiday in a week or so.
Rondom
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 1:26 pm
Contact:

Post by Rondom »

Good mod. You should replace the $table_prefix with phpbb, though.
ptlis
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Post by ptlis »

Rondom wrote: Good mod. You should replace the $table_prefix with phpbb, though.

The problem with doing that is that there is no standard prefix for the tables used by phpBB, instead it suggests "phpbb_" but the user is free to enter their own prefix. Out of intrest, did you install this using EasyMod or by hand?

ptlis
I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed or numbered.....my life is my own.
joefish
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:32 pm
Contact:

Post by joefish »

Well, 2 things stopped the installation working on easymod for me

The first was the find on mod line #197. For the life of me I couldn't figure out why easymod couldn't find the search string. In the end I just did that one bit manually. (This has happened to me before with other mods). It's not because I have another mod interferring, cos I didn't have any other mods change usercp_register.php

The second thing was the SQL statement with '$table_prefix_users' in it. I just did that manually.

Thanks for the mod.
ptlis
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Post by ptlis »

Well I figure most people probably use the default prefix for the tables, and those that have not should not find it a problem to change that little snippit of SQL so i'll change that. Now looking at the mod in JEdit line 197 is actually a #, but the bit following it is:

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------
#
         $sql = "INSERT INTO " . USERS_TABLE . "   (user_id, username, user_regdate, user_password, user_email, user_icq, user_website, user_occ, user_from, user_interests, user_sig, user_sig_bbcode_uid, user_avatar, user_avatar_type, user_viewemail, user_aim, user_yim, user_msnm, user_attachsig, user_allowsmile, user_allowhtml, user_allowbbcode, user_allow_viewonline, user_notify, user_notify_pm, user_popup_pm, user_timezone, user_dateformat, user_lang, user_style, user_level, user_allow_pm, user_active, user_actkey)
Was this the problem area and did you have to manually edit in ", user_jabber" after the ", user_msnm"?

ptlis
I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed or numbered.....my life is my own.
Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”