How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
carsten88888
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:22 am

How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by carsten88888 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:57 am

We've had a lovely hobby forum for years, but now we are ready to move our free-hosted forum to our own website. But the host of the free forum does not want to give us, or sell us, the database. We are willing to pay for our own content, but as we can not buy it, we feel like our content is taken hostage.

We managed to download the forum as html pages. So far I have not found a script that can import from html, so I'm stuck there.

Are there other options to import-export when the host is unwilling to cooparate?

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by Oyabun1 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:49 am

Since the database contains the data which is the forums. topics, posts, users, permissions and other settings without it you don't have much. There is a [CONVERT] Crawler Converters (Forumer, ZetaBoards, etc.), but it requires an old version of Python and hasn't been updated for some years.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

carsten88888
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:22 am

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by carsten88888 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:40 am

Thank you for the reply. Unfortunately I have no idea where to start with that python thing.

In the admin of the forum I can make a widget. Can I paste a code to make a backup?

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by RMcGirr83 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 12:26 pm

Do you know the database credentials or have access to the config.php file of the forum?
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

carsten88888
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:22 am

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by carsten88888 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 1:11 pm

RMcGirr83 wrote:Do you know the database credentials or have access to the config.php file of the forum?
no I'm just administrator on a forum hosted with software from forumotion.com. So I can't upload any phpbb extensions or see db stuff.

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by RMcGirr83 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:25 pm

Then you are, pardon, screwed.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

User avatar
mrgtb
Registered User
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:51 am

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by mrgtb » Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:35 pm

RMcGirr83 wrote:Then you are, pardon, screwed.
With free forums like ProBoards and the one he mentioned. You are pretty much stuffed, that is how they operate letting you run a free forum but with no way of getting the database later from them if you want to go host your own site for it

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16414
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by david63 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:41 pm

Does the free host in question have paid for service? If they do then that might be route to pursue - pay for hosting, get the database and then move somewhere else.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

carsten88888
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:22 am

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by carsten88888 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:53 pm

Yes, I think we are.

We've downloaded the whole forum as html pages, so I hope I can find a script to transfer that into a database.

Our forum is hosted at actieforum.com (dutch language sorry). As far as I can see there is no way to upgrade. Someone also emailed about buying the database, but they would not sell us the content. The backend help links to forumotion.com, so I assume its their software version op phpbb.

User avatar
mrgtb
Registered User
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:51 am

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by mrgtb » Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:59 pm

carsten88888 wrote:Yes, I think we are.

We've downloaded the whole forum as html pages, so I hope I can find a script to transfer that into a database.

Our forum is hosted at actieforum.com (dutch language sorry). As far as I can see there is no way to upgrade. Someone also emailed about buying the database, but they would not sell us the content. The backend help links to forumotion.com, so I assume its their software version op phpbb.
They make money from ads displayed in your content and why they won't sell you the database most likely.

There have been some scripts knocking around in past that could scape your content but they don't allow that and those type of scripts are usually old and don't work anymore. There used to be one for doing it with ProBoards sites, or so I read another person say.

Only thing to do is copy and paste all content adding member accounts you create (same names) on new forum and then invite all members later from the free forum to go join new one and reset their password given having same content copied to them from free forum

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16414
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by david63 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 3:17 pm

Having just been reading their site two things attracted my attention.

The first is that according to their terms of service they do have some paid for services (although I could not see any mention of what they were.

The second is that they offer an import service for existing boards. This is not something that I have any experience with so I really cannot say how it works. But if they off such a service then it is possible that others do as well, so if you could find a suitable host that would import your forum from then they might be more amenable to letting you have the db.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
mrgtb
Registered User
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:51 am

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by mrgtb » Thu Jan 01, 2015 3:37 pm

david63 wrote:The second is that they offer an import service for existing boards.
Read that also but there is no mention of being able to export your database. They also fail to mention in TOC anything about them not offering the database export option.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66569
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Jan 01, 2015 4:44 pm

If you do not know how to use the convertor, see if you can get someone to do the convertor for you.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

User avatar
mrgtb
Registered User
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:51 am

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by mrgtb » Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:39 pm

I found this here, it's very old topic but has a download attached to it for forummotion.

viewtopic.php?f=65&t=861505

carsten88888
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:22 am

Re: How to move a forum when host refuses database?

Post by carsten88888 » Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:54 pm


Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”