[ABD] Custom Code

Any abandoned Extensions will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: Extension Development Forum rules

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 69228
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

Code: Select all

<!-- IF not S_GROUP_7 --> adsense code here <!-- ENDIF -->
look in your admin panel, manage groups, in the list will be the VIP group. hover your mouse over the settings link. you will see something like this;
XXXXXX/adm/index.php?i=acp_groups&sid=2791ec501fbb28af326d82ddcde8a25a&icat=12&mode=manage&action=edit&g=7

notice the g=7

7 is the group ID #

edit your switch with ID # of whatever group you do NOT want to see the code and surround your adsense code with the switch.

it will not show the code within the switch to people in the group with that ID#

also, I believe that you may have to make sure that the VIP group is the default group for all its members, but I am not sure if that is required or not.



robert
Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

I am pleased to announce that I have completed the first item on my bucket list. I have the bucket.
User avatar
martti
Registered User
Posts: 913
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:23 am
Location: Belgium

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by martti »

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF not S_GROUP_7 --> adsense code here <!-- ENDIF -->
look in your admin panel, manage groups, in the list will be the VIP group. hover your mouse over the settings link. you will see something like this;
XXXXXX/adm/index.php?i=acp_groups&sid=2791ec501fbb28af326d82ddcde8a25a&icat=12&mode=manage&action=edit&g=7

notice the g=7

7 is the group ID #

edit your switch with ID # of whatever group you do NOT want to see the code and surround your adsense code with the switch.

it will not show the code within the switch to people in the group with that ID#




You beat me by a few seconds.

also, I believe that you may have to make sure that the VIP group is the default group for all its members, but I am not sure if that is required or not.
It doesn't have to be the default group. For every group there is a template variable.

Here is the adapted version of the viewtopic-case that was quoted:

Edit :: viewtopic_body_postrow_post_after.html

Code: Select all

<!-- Google adsense -->
<!-- IF not S_GROUP_9 and (postrow.S_FIRST_ROW or postrow.S_ROW_COUNT == 5 or postrow.S_ROW_COUNT == 10) -->

Your Google adsense code here...

<!-- ENDIF -->
kooljp
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:52 pm

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by kooljp »

martti wrote:
Here is the adapted version of the viewtopic-case that was quoted:

Edit :: viewtopic_body_postrow_post_after.html

Code: Select all

<!-- Google adsense -->
<!-- IF not S_GROUP_5 and (postrow.S_FIRST_ROW or postrow.S_ROW_COUNT == 5 or postrow.S_ROW_COUNT == 10) -->

My Google adsense code here...

<!-- ENDIF -->
I have followed the steps but it's not removing the Adsense Ads for VIP group "5" with the above edited code.

I have done the Extension install into: marttiphpbb/grouptempvars in the ext directory. ext/marttiphpbb already existed because I have marttiphpbb/customcode

It's not showing up in the ACP under Module management to enable the extension.

Cheers
JP
User avatar
martti
Registered User
Posts: 913
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:23 am
Location: Belgium

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by martti »

kooljp wrote:
I have followed the steps but it's not removing the Adsense Ads for VIP group "5" with the above edited code.

I have done the Extension install into: marttiphpbb/grouptempvars in the ext directory. ext/marttiphpbb already existed because I have marttiphpbb/customcode

It's not showing up in the ACP under Module management to enable the extension.

Cheers
JP
Do you have the file composer.json directly under ext/marttiphpbb/grouptempvars ?
kooljp
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:52 pm

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by kooljp »

Fixed, I was looking to enable under ACP->System->Acp->Extensions

Should have been:ACP->Customise->Manage Extensions

All good now and performing as expected.

Thanks!
crf
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:19 pm

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by crf »

Really great extension!!!

Is there any way to randomly display some content. Like for example, show an ad 1 out of 10 times.

Thank you!
User avatar
martti
Registered User
Posts: 913
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:23 am
Location: Belgium

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by martti »

crf wrote:Really great extension!!!

Is there any way to randomly display some content. Like for example, show an ad 1 out of 10 times.

Thank you!
That would be possible with Javascript or by configuration of your ad server.
With Google Adsense you would violate the TOC by using Javascript. The Adsense must be in the page unaltered.
crf
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:19 pm

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by crf »

Thank you! I will work around that somehow.

Another thing.
Why is topiclist_row_append.html located inside the topic, and not between the topics.

I would like to position my ads between two topics in a list. Any idea?
User avatar
martti
Registered User
Posts: 913
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:23 am
Location: Belgium

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by martti »

crf wrote: Another thing.
Why is topiclist_row_append.html located inside the topic, and not between the topics.

I would like to position my ads between two topics in a list. Any idea?
It seems only possible with Javascript to move something there.

Edit : overall_footer_after.html

Code: Select all

<!-- content in between first and second topic -->

<!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME == 'viewforum'  -->
<ul >
  <li id="my-content" class="row bg1">
    <div>

        <h2>Your content ... </h2>

    </div>
  </li>
</ul>

<script>
$(document).ready( function() {
  window.setTimeout( function() {
    $('div.forumbg ul.topics li.row').eq(0).after($('#my-content'));
  }, 100);
});
</script>

<!-- ENDIF -->
Change the eq(0) (1, 2 , 3, ... ) to select after which topic your code must go.

Image
crf
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:19 pm

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by crf »

That works great! You are the BEST! Thank you!
crf
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:19 pm

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by crf »

Ups, Ijust found a small problem with the above code...

On forums vith less than...X topics, the "my code section" is displayed at total bottom of the page... How could this be fixed?

Thanx!
User avatar
martti
Registered User
Posts: 913
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:23 am
Location: Belgium

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by martti »

crf wrote:Ups, Ijust found a small problem with the above code...

On forums vith less than...X topics, the "my code section" is displayed at total bottom of the page... How could this be fixed?

Thanx!
You could wrap your code in <div style="display:none;"> :

Code: Select all

<div style="display:none;">
   <div id="#my-content" class="row bg1">
    Your content ...
  </div>
</div>
Take care when using Google Adsense, hiding an advert is probably against their TOC.
crf
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:19 pm

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by crf »

Thank you... Yes, you are probably right about the TOC. I'll just keep it displayed at the bottom.
User avatar
Meykota
Registered User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 5:19 pm
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by Meykota »

The EU has this wonderful new Cookie-thing, where you have to ask your visitors for allowance to use Cookies... I've got a code from Silktide and want to know, if and where I can implement this code with Custom Code. Is this possible? And which file do I have to use for this? :)

Here's the code:

Code: Select all

<!-- Begin Cookie Consent plugin by Silktide - http://silktide.com/cookieconsent -->
<script type="text/javascript">
    window.cookieconsent_options = {"message":"Wir verwenden Cookies, um dir eine bessere Benutzerfahrung mit personalisierten Anzeigen und Funktionen bieten zu können.","dismiss":"Verstanden!","learnMore":"Weitere Informationen","link":"http://gamers-palace.de/ucp.php?mode=privacy","theme":"dark-top"};
</script>

<script type="text/javascript" src="//s3.amazonaws.com/cc.silktide.com/cookieconsent.latest.min.js"></script>
<!-- End Cookie Consent plugin -->
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 20646
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am

Re: [RC] Custom Code

Post by david63 »

Meykota wrote:The EU has this wonderful new Cookie-thing, where you have to ask your visitors for allowance to use Cookies... I've got a code from Silktide and want to know, if and where I can implement this code with Custom Code. Is this possible? And which file do I have to use for this?
Or you could use the Cookie Policy extension which is designed for that purpose.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!

I now no longer support any of my extensions but they will start to become available here

Return to “Abandoned Extensions”