[2.0.13] Navbar Mod

The cleanup is complete. This forum is now read only.
Post Reply

Rating:

Excellent!
4
27%
Very Good
3
20%
Good
3
20%
Fair
2
13%
Poor
3
20%
 
Total votes: 15

Extensions Robot
Extensions Robot
Extensions Robot
Posts: 27957
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 7:36 am

[2.0.13] Navbar Mod

Post by Extensions Robot » Wed Feb 16, 2005 10:48 pm

MOD Name: Navbar Mod
Author: reiyo_oki
MOD Description: Creates a left or right-aligned nav bar on all your phpBB pages, and removes the header and footer nav links, including the admin panel link, and login box (on the index)


MOD Version: 1.0.4 (Updated 03/17/05)

Download File: navbar_mod_104.zip
mods overview page: View
File Size: 5478 Bytes

Security Score: 0
Last edited by Extensions Robot on Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
(this is a non-active account manager for the phpBB Extension Customisations Team)

wGEric
Former Team Member
Posts: 8805
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Friday
Name: Eric Faerber
Contact:

Post by wGEric » Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:55 pm

MOD Validated/Released

Notes:
Moves the top navigation links and the bottom log in box to the side bar.
Eric

User avatar
mdbusa
Registered User
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:44 am
Location: Thailand
Contact:

Post by mdbusa » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:33 am

Demo??

reiyo_oki
Registered User
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 3:03 pm

Post by reiyo_oki » Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:57 pm

Check my website: dynamic.gamespy.com/~dragonsuprising/ I've customized it a bit, but it uses the same basic code.

EDIT: 2/21/06

I've had a number of people request the newest version of the mod I have, so I'm posting a link to it.

PLEASE NOTE: This version has NOT been validated by the phpBB mod team. I have done my best to eliminate any bugs in the mod, but there may be some that I missed. That being said, you use this at your own discretion/risk.

http://dragonsuprising.planetdiablo.gam ... od_220.zip

EDIT: 12/04/06
To fix the Edit Link option, do the following:

OPEN
phpbb_root_path/admin/admin_nav_links.php

FIND

Code: Select all

		if( $mode == "edit" )
		{
			if( $word_id )
			{
				$sql = "SELECT * 
					FROM " . NAV_LINKS_TABLE . " 
					WHERE link_id = $link_id";
REPLACE WITH

Code: Select all

		if( $mode == "edit" )
		{
			if( $word_id )
			{
				$sql = "SELECT * 
					FROM " . NAV_LINKS_TABLE . " 
					WHERE link_id = $word_id";
Last edited by reiyo_oki on Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Tom_S
Registered User
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 6:54 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by Tom_S » Fri Feb 18, 2005 5:27 pm

The download link for the mod isn't working.
I went back in Time...
Image

Chayyiel
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:46 pm

Post by Chayyiel » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:24 pm

Download works fine.

Tom_S
Registered User
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 6:54 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by Tom_S » Fri Feb 18, 2005 10:06 pm

Chayyiel wrote: Download works fine.


Then explain why I have been getting this error each of the 70 some odd times I have tried the download?
Image
I went back in Time...
Image

User avatar
DaMnY
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 10:09 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by DaMnY » Fri Feb 18, 2005 11:14 pm

Know Thyself

Tom_S
Registered User
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 6:54 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by Tom_S » Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:03 am

You are DaMan

Thanx 8)
I went back in Time...
Image

reiyo_oki
Registered User
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 3:03 pm

Post by reiyo_oki » Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:23 pm

working on an upgrade for it, both aesthetic and use-wise. One of the major parts is the table looks, but I'm also going to move the admin link into the navbar.

User avatar
webmacster87
Former Team Member
Posts: 3758
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:30 am
Location: San Mateo, CA
Name: Douglas Bell
Contact:

Post by webmacster87 » Sun Feb 20, 2005 10:18 pm

Nice MOD! I'm modifying it a bit for my use, but it's a helpful way to move the menu to the side, reserving the menu space for miscellaneous links for my site. Thanks!

kirk06
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 3:48 am

Post by kirk06 » Mon Feb 21, 2005 3:50 am

Tom_S wrote: Then explain why I have been getting this error each of the 70 some odd times I have tried the download?
Image


I'm not sure if this'll fix this problem, but it may fix many others:
...
DaMnY's avatar puts it best: Image

Tom_S
Registered User
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 6:54 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by Tom_S » Mon Feb 21, 2005 6:49 am

kirk06 wrote:
Tom_S wrote:
Then explain why I have been getting this error each of the 70 some odd times I have tried the download?
Image


I'm not sure if this'll fix this problem, but it may fix many others:
...
DaMnY's avatar puts it best: Image


Nope...even Firefox didn't get the job done on that one. Got em all. Dead link is a dead link. No matter. Got it thanks to DaMnY though :lol:
I went back in Time...
Image

reiyo_oki
Registered User
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 3:03 pm

Post by reiyo_oki » Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:45 pm

Fountain of Apples wrote: Nice MOD! I'm modifying it a bit for my use, but it's a helpful way to move the menu to the side, reserving the menu space for miscellaneous links for my site. Thanks!


:) I aim to please!

Oh, and any suggestions are always welcome. I was thinking about adding a customizable links block...but that would take a bit more coding than I'd care to do...I dislike making admin modules.

libertate
Registered User
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 11:13 pm
Location: Kiritimati
Contact:

Post by libertate » Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:33 pm

reiyo_oki, this is excellent.

Request - Can you make the sides dynamic? i.e. allow the nav to appear on the left OR the right?

Truth is, the menu is better to be on the right for most people per usability studies. :-D (Yes, I am a freak.) Most browsers have their vertical slide bars on the right side. So your cursor would be be default resting in that area. If you have to go to a different area on the menu, and the menu is on the left side, you have to move the cursor across the whole screen. This is not the case if it is on the right side. Surprisingly, that fraction of a second means annoyance or comfort for many users.

A small boolean switch in the code, to allow it to be on the right side would make this even better! Moving the switch onto to ACP would make it ultimate!
libertate

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Cleanup”