[CDB] mChat

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
Locked
User avatar
Mannix_
Registered User
Posts: 493
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by Mannix_ » Tue Mar 08, 2016 12:13 pm

I just updated my mchat version to 1.0.0-RC2 and my chat doesn't work I mean i can't input any messages and it does not refresh at all. Anyone know what is causing that? This problem exist since version 0-1-7 for me but when I use version 0-3-4 for example everything works fine.
Last edited by Mannix_ on Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-My Styles-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
HexagonHexagonRebornCleanSilverProject Durango
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Want me to port a style to 3.2.x etc. contact me here or on twitter.

User avatar
lopoto
Registered User
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 3:13 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by lopoto » Tue Mar 08, 2016 12:50 pm

@Mannix_

evilpeppard wrote:In order to successfully update, I had to disable the 1.0.0-RC1 extension, then delete the data. From there, I had to completely delete the mchat folder on my server, then copy over the new mchat folder for 1.0.0.-RC2. Following these steps, everything is working fine.

User avatar
Mannix_
Registered User
Posts: 493
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by Mannix_ » Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:10 pm

lopoto wrote:@Mannix_

evilpeppard wrote:In order to successfully update, I had to disable the 1.0.0-RC1 extension, then delete the data. From there, I had to completely delete the mchat folder on my server, then copy over the new mchat folder for 1.0.0.-RC2. Following these steps, everything is working fine.
Thank for the advice but i fixed my issue by updating my version of phpbb to 3.1.8 :D
PS. I'm Dumb sometimes :P
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-My Styles-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
HexagonHexagonRebornCleanSilverProject Durango
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Want me to port a style to 3.2.x etc. contact me here or on twitter.

User avatar
Agurri
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:14 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by Agurri » Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:21 pm

Hi,

After updating phpbb 3.0 to 3.1.8, I reinstalled everything for the mChat plugin and it's still not working. I tried the RC1 and RC2 versions, removeing everything, deleting data but I can't get it to work. When I try to send a message, the Green checked becomes a red X which is an error. A lot of people got the same problem, but I couldn't find an answer to my problem. If I open the Chrome console while trying to send a message, I'm getting these :

AJAX error. status: parsererror, message: SyntaxError: Unexpected token <
jquery.min.js?assets_version=19:4


XHR finished loading: POST "http://pholi.olilaf.com/forums/mchat/action-refresh"
.send @ jquery.min.js?assets_version=19:4n
.extend.ajax @ jquery.min.js?assets_version=19:4
ajaxRequest @ mchat.js?assets_version=19:38
$.extend.refresh @ mchat.js?assets_version=19:193

And it goes on and on and on.

board : http://pholi.olilaf.com/forums/
User Test : Russian Kenyan
User Password : Test1234

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks !

User avatar
boogi
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:38 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by boogi » Thu Mar 10, 2016 9:49 pm

Just updated from RC1 to RC2 on phpbb-3.1.8. Steps:
ACP disable mchat-rc1
FTP upload new files /ext/dmzx/mchat
ACP enable mchat-rc2 && purge cache
-> not working: when posting message, nothing happens, mchat couldn't auto-refresh; F5 and message i wrote is there; so:
ACP disable mchat-rc2, and then "delete data" on disabled extension, and then enable mchat-rc2
-> working, so manually reconfigured mchat settings, including moderators privileges.


After a few minutes of testing, users are happy with this new version. Thank you again!

kasimi wrote:
boogi wrote:In my modification when you click on "@" sign OR user login, then you mention this user
So far I couldn't think of a better solution that suits all scenarios.
Oh, I didn't think of smaller screens and no-avatars users.
One of users on my forum suggested, that another icon could be used. There are a few icons on the upper right corner of mChat posts, like e.g. Quote, IP, Like, PrivMsg - something like "@" icon could be put there, so when user clicks it, then another user is mentioned in mChat.


Question: Some users prefer mChat with messages appearing on top, others prefer new messages that shows at bottom. Is there possibility to select this in UCP (so every user can choose what he likes)?


Funny observation: I enabled "show topic posted" in mChat settings. And got into something interesting. You see, my users use "http://forum.mysite.com/" link, but I use "https://mysite.com/forum", (notice http->https protocol, and different path), so when I post topic, then on mChat there my link (with https) put. And since there is certificate from other domain, so users gets message about "not secure connection". And that's OK. But when using paths like forum.domain.com and domain.com/forum, with some secure cookies settings, user can open link in new tab and will be not logged in there (different uri).
I wonder, if mChat could use topic/post id and construct link based on url where user viewing mchat is.

User avatar
kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 3800
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by kasimi » Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:07 pm

boogi wrote:"delete data"
Yes, this step is required as there are no incremental migrations yet. It is also required for the next RC.
boogi wrote:something like "@" icon could be put there, so when user clicks it
This is an interesting idea, it will be looked into. :)
boogi wrote:Some users likes mChat with messages appearing on top, some likes more new messages that shows at bottom.
This is already being worked on. RC3 will offer a lot more UCP settings and the possibility for the administrator to control which settings can be changed by users.
boogi wrote:my users use "http://forum.mysite.com/" link, but I use "https://mysite.com/forum"
Is this a problem specific to mChat or is it also the case for HTTPS links that you use in posts or in your signature for example?

Thanks for your feedback!

User avatar
aduh
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Poland
Name: Hans'
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by aduh » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:00 am

forum address: http://www.2012apocalypse.pl
style: Elegance (customized)

After update to RC-2 my bbcodes on reply window are moved to the right:
Image
2012 APOCALYPSE NNC
gaming community
http://www.nonameclan.pl/2012

User avatar
kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 3800
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by kasimi » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:23 am

aduh wrote:After update to RC-2 my bbcodes on reply window are moved to the right
  • Open /ext/dmzx/mchat/styles/all/theme/mchat.css
  • Find (all the way at the bottom)

    Code: Select all

    #abbc3_buttons {
    	margin: 0 !important;
    	padding-bottom: 5px;
    }
    
    #abbc3_buttons .abbc3_buttons_row {
    	margin: 0 auto !important;
    }
  • Replace with

    Code: Select all

    #mchat-panel #abbc3_buttons {
    	margin: 0 !important;
    	padding-bottom: 5px;
    }
    
    #mchat-panel #abbc3_buttons .abbc3_buttons_row {
    	margin: 0 auto !important;
    }

User avatar
aduh
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Poland
Name: Hans'
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by aduh » Fri Mar 11, 2016 9:16 am

2012 APOCALYPSE NNC
gaming community
http://www.nonameclan.pl/2012

User avatar
boogi
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:38 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by boogi » Fri Mar 11, 2016 4:44 pm

kasimi wrote:
boogi wrote:"delete data"
Yes, this step is required as there are no incremental migrations yet. It is also required for the next RC.
So I confess: I did upgrade without reading instructions first ;)
kasimi wrote:This is already being worked on. RC3 will offer a lot more UCP settings and the possibility for the administrator to control which settings can be changed by users.
Cool, great to know that :)
kasimi wrote:Is this a problem specific to mChat or is it also the case for HTTPS links that you use in posts or in your signature for example?
In short I think it is not specific to mChat, but let me elaborate more:
It is not specific for mChat in this regard, that there is more than one address that forum can be accessed with (of course for ordinary users there is one address, but technically there are more available). So when I put a https link in my signature, then user clicking on it will be redirected to page where he's not logged in.
But it can be thought of as specific for mChat because mChat constructs links automatically based on what url is in my browser. When I put a link manually in post or signature (copy-paste from web browser url field), then I change it so it is http, not https.
And that is what I had in mind when I wrote about constructing url's based on what's in users browser. But when I think more and more about it, then I'm not so sure anymore if it would be good solution.
Just some thoughts :)

User avatar
alex75
Registered User
Posts: 358
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Name: Alessandro
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by alex75 » Fri Mar 11, 2016 5:23 pm

Thank you for your answer...
kasimi wrote:
alex75 wrote:I not see the delete button
Have you correctly set the permissions?
Yes, I set the permissions for all groups.
In 1.0.0 rc1 and rc2 not see the delete key (the one to clear all the chat page).
with the previous version (0.3.2) is working properly for admin, but the moderators with my own permission not see the delete button.
kasimi wrote:
alex75 wrote:if I click on the "view more smilies" I get error
Please test again with RC2. If you still have the problem, send me a PM with a link to your board so that I can have a look.
In 1.0.0 rc1 and rc2 does not work. as I said before, I lead me to a wrong link:

Code: Select all

http://www.vitara.ithttp//www.vitara.it/posting.php?mode=smilies
with the previous version (0.3.2) is working properly

Code: Select all

http://www.vitara.it/posting.php?mode=smilies&f=0

User avatar
kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 3800
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by kasimi » Fri Mar 11, 2016 7:09 pm

boogi wrote:mChat constructs links automatically based on what url is in my browser.
Sorry, I still don't understand this part. Does mChat construct a link differently than when posting the same link in a topic? If so then this is a bug, otherwise you need an extension that adjusts the protocol for all the links on your board, globally (including mChat), according to your wishes. Thanks for your patience. :)
alex75 wrote:In 1.0.0 rc1 and rc2 not see the delete key (the one to clear all the chat page).
Ah, I thought you were talking about the Delete message button next to each message but what you mean is the Purge button. This button was moved to mChat's configuration page in the ACP. ;)
alex75 wrote:In 1.0.0 rc1 and rc2 does not work. as I said before, I lead me to a wrong link:
I can't reproduce it but please give this a try:
  • Open /ext/dmzx/mchat/core/mchat.php
  • Find 'U_MORE_SMILIES'
  • Delete the entire line, save the file and test again.

User avatar
boogi
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:38 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by boogi » Fri Mar 11, 2016 8:29 pm

kasimi wrote:otherwise you need an extension that adjusts the protocol for all the links on your board, globally (including mChat), according to your wishes.
You're right, I understand now. Of course mChat creates links properly, my thinking was wrong. Case closed :)

User avatar
Agurri
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:14 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by Agurri » Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:53 pm

Agurri wrote:Hi,

After updating phpbb 3.0 to 3.1.8, I reinstalled everything for the mChat plugin and it's still not working. I tried the RC1 and RC2 versions, removeing everything, deleting data but I can't get it to work. When I try to send a message, the Green checked becomes a red X which is an error. A lot of people got the same problem, but I couldn't find an answer to my problem. If I open the Chrome console while trying to send a message, I'm getting these :

AJAX error. status: parsererror, message: SyntaxError: Unexpected token <
jquery.min.js?assets_version=19:4


XHR finished loading: POST "http://pholi.olilaf.com/forums/mchat/action-refresh"
.send @ jquery.min.js?assets_version=19:4n
.extend.ajax @ jquery.min.js?assets_version=19:4
ajaxRequest @ mchat.js?assets_version=19:38
$.extend.refresh @ mchat.js?assets_version=19:193

And it goes on and on and on.

board : http://pholi.olilaf.com/forums/
User Test : Russian Kenyan
User Password : Test1234

Thanks !
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm still having issue.

User avatar
kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 3800
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by kasimi » Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:31 pm

It looks like you have configured some kind of catch-all route that displays a blog when browsing to a non-existing path, for example http://pholi.olilaf.com/forums/thisdoesnotexist. When mChat contacts your server it always gets back this blog content, so it's obvious why you get errors. You need to add an exception to whatever routing system you're using so that mChat and pretty much every other extension that uses custom routes can work correctly.

Locked

Return to “Extensions in Development”