Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at its End of Life stage and support will NOT be provided after July 1st, 2018.
Post Reply
melecosse
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:11 am

Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by melecosse » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:25 am

V 3.1.8, downloaded, nzipped, uploaded as instrutions, all settings ame up as yes, and think "wow" this is easy!

Open board, register as Admin and can klik on Faqs OK, but on ACP and MCP I get

General Error
Module not accessible

BACKTRACE

FILE: (not given by php)
LINE: (not given by php)
CALL: msg_handler()

FILE: [ROOT]/includes/functions_module.php
LINE: 563
CALL: trigger_error()

FILE: [ROOT]/adm/index.php
LINE: 81
CALL: p_master->load_active()

Completely new install, no previous versions or other BB's to confuse things. can register as a user and login/out all ok, can post OK, just the above on the ACP and MCP links

so what have I missed anyone? Any help appreciated - - I'm 70 years old, so take it easy on the oldie newbie please? :D

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 67676
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by KevC » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:29 am

What version of php is running on the server?

It must be more than 5.3.3 and less than 7.0
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

melecosse
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:11 am

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by melecosse » Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:10 pm

Hello Kevin, tnx for coming back I'm with "one.com" and I have a choice of php 5.5, 5.6 or 7.0 - - so currently it's default set to 7/0. I'm guessing you'll say try 5.6 and see what happens?

But SHOULD it go with 7.0 or does it have to be a prior version?

TIA

Mel

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 67676
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by KevC » Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:14 pm

phpBB 3.1.x is not compatible with php7 so just downgrade to one of the others and you should be ok.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 63636
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:15 pm

must be at least 5.3.3 and less than 7.0
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

User avatar
3Di
Registered User
Posts: 12131
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT), Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by 3Di » Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:28 pm

KevC wrote:It must be more than 5.3.3 and less than 7.0
Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:must be at least 5.3.3 and less than 7.0
I suggested @area51/tracker to take into consideration to do something about and deny the new installations onto servers running PHP7 for Ascraeus. No need, though :) to be redundant.
Last edited by 3Di on Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades

melecosse
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:11 am

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by melecosse » Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:06 pm

Well, thanks guys, at present it doesn't seem to like the php 5.6 n the server choices, wil try the "last" choice and see hwat happens - - and report back to you all!

I knew it was TOO easy! :mrgreen:

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 63636
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:46 pm

it will work fine at that php version.

it will NOT work with php 7 and it will not work with php below version 5.3.3

it is that simple.


robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

melecosse
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:11 am

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by melecosse » Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:03 pm

Robert said :-

"it will work fine at that php version.

it will NOT work with php 7 and it will not work with php below version 5.3.3

it is that simple."

I dropped the PHP version down to 5.5 on the server php control, but still the same? I can go and look at the php entries and they all appear to be there in the php using the "phpbb_" prefix to the files, so it all seems to have loaded OK, just not wrking for me.

The board is on test at:-

http://www.webtheon.com/phpbb3/

if anyone wants to have a look, I'd be interested if you can post or register to it with this ACP link not working?

Thanks for the help so far guys, hoping someone can solve this for me, it's starting to get me down, and I've only one and a half beers left in the fridge :roll:

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 67676
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by KevC » Tue Apr 12, 2016 6:12 pm

Can you put the /install folder back on the server. It has a php checker in it.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

melecosse
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:11 am

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by melecosse » Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:44 am

KevC wrote:Can you put the /install folder back on the server. It has a php checker in it.
Hey! I now know to reply with a quote! :oops: (found the quotes button :? )

I've done that, and the php check bit recognises php as 5.3.3 and all the check boxes come up with what looks like the correct answers. Moving on - - do I now have to fill in all the boxes on the next pages again to get it going? and then rename/remove the install folder again?

Sorry for all the obvious questions, but this is a very first attempt at any kind of BB installation, and at my advanced age, I even need to ask the wife what my name is now and then :lol:

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 67676
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by KevC » Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:46 am

Just delete /install and it'll work again.

Your php version should be fine now.

I would either try and clear the browser cache as you might be looking at a cached error page, or, now the php version is correct, delete everything and reinstall it.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

melecosse
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:11 am

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by melecosse » Wed Apr 13, 2016 4:46 pm

KevC wrote:Just delete /install and it'll work again.

Your php version should be fine now.

I would either try and clear the browser cache as you might be looking at a cached error page, or, now the php version is correct, delete everything and reinstall it.
Hmm! looks like I need to stock up on some Brandy - - still not working so maybe tomorrow I'll gather together my wits, clean it all out and try to do a clean install again :cry:

I'm not winning - - - :?

and yet I feel I'm so near - - BTW the "Languages" selection button doesn't seem to do anything and won't now let me register as a user!

Get same results on an Android tablet - :arrow: :!:

melecosse
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:11 am

Re: Help an old man get it goin - - ACP problem

Post by melecosse » Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:12 pm

Thanks to various bits of help from diverse folk, I now seem to running a (very) basic forum of sorts, but I still have a learning curve to cimb. ;)

Still going to have questions I guess. As KevC suggested, clean it all out and re-install did the trick, so tomorrow I'll try setting up some Forum Sections and so on! It's past my bedtime now :roll:

Thanks to all concerned, a Brandy with ice and off to sleep!

Post Reply

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests