[CDB] mChat

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
Locked
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17008
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by DavidIQ » Thu Sep 22, 2016 1:21 pm

kasimi wrote:Thanks David, this is what I just did. It seems HTTPS is supported since phpBB 3.1.8. Is there a way to make Github serve the version file over HTTP?
I don't think it's really worth the trouble as that was modified in the core anyways, but you can also make 3.1.8 the minimum required phpBB version so you don't have to worry about that.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

User avatar
dmzx
Registered User
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:48 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by dmzx » Thu Sep 22, 2016 8:52 pm

Changed version file.
Contact me on dmzx-web.net
 Need a Host or buy me a beer Donate and try binance.com

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17008
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by DavidIQ » Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:08 am

mrgtb wrote:Fair enough, but not like I share it with anyone else trying to take credit away from you and is only used on my site only. Actually, it isn't even called MCHAT used on my forum now, all files was changed to name it Shoutbox instead and some css was even changed for prosilver (to fix an issue with avatars being able to use a border) because you used padding wrong instead of margin spacing - and other things added like H Tag for main shoutbox page title. http://general-discussion.com/shoutbox

I have made a lot of changes to it for use with my site only and not for anyone else to use it. I wouldn't do that sharing it and try and take any credit away from you. It just modifications to suit my site only
Glad you're taking such an approach and not planning on sharing the code. :) I've used mChat for a client as well and have modified it plenty to fit in with what they want so it's not unusual to do things like that based on the site needs, although I didn't bother going as far as removing or modifying the file headers.

FYI for those seeing this: while a user might be well within their ability to remove or replace file header sections (aka credits), extension authors do also have the right to deny service/support/help/etc. if a user is found to have done so. In a different situation or platform, i.e. code is proprietary, litigation might even be possible.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 13773
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by 3Di » Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:42 am

kasimi wrote:Thanks David, this is what I just did. It seems HTTPS is supported since phpBB 3.1.8. Is there a way to make Github serve the version file over HTTP?
Yes, use gh-pages (served via HTTP).
viewtopic.php?p=14357191#p14357191
viewtopic.php?p=14358286#p14358286

like I do for all of my extensions..
i.e.: https://github.com/3D-I/online-since/bl ... on#L47-L52

Or else have a look to this:
https://github.com/phpbb/phpbb/pull/4453 ..
seems to me like it can use HTTPS, not sure though.
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
👨‍🏫 | Take a tour to | The Studio | 👨‍🏫

User avatar
mrgtb
Registered User
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:51 am

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by mrgtb » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:43 am

DavidIQ wrote:
mrgtb wrote:Fair enough, but not like I share it with anyone else trying to take credit away from you and is only used on my site only. Actually, it isn't even called MCHAT used on my forum now, all files was changed to name it Shoutbox instead and some css was even changed for prosilver (to fix an issue with avatars being able to use a border) because you used padding wrong instead of margin spacing - and other things added like H Tag for main shoutbox page title. http://general-discussion.com/shoutbox

I have made a lot of changes to it for use with my site only and not for anyone else to use it. I wouldn't do that sharing it and try and take any credit away from you. It just modifications to suit my site only
Glad you're taking such an approach and not planning on sharing the code. :) I've used mChat for a client as well and have modified it plenty to fit in with what they want so it's not unusual to do things like that based on the site needs, although I didn't bother going as far as removing or modifying the file headers.

FYI for those seeing this: while a user might be well within their ability to remove or replace file header sections (aka credits), extension authors do also have the right to deny service/support/help/etc. if a user is found to have done so. In a different situation or platform, i.e. code is proprietary, litigation might even be possible.
I added link in footer displayed on every page (not just mchat pages) last night to show I'm not trying to pretend I created it or anything. As said before also, I didn't make the modification changes to share it and pretend like I created it, no matter how it might look. it's only used on my site. To be honest my site is probably closing down for good in December, or before then anyway. As I was running WoltLab Burning 4.1 software with 3 extra paid add-ons (Gallery, Filebase and Blog) 2 months ago until selling licences because forums are dead - and only really installed phpBB again to play around with to see out rest of my years hosting left to run till Dec of this year. So come then it won't matter either way when no site is there and why I've not bothered installing RC6... no point me using it now.

As for kasimi, I understand him him getting miffed off, he's a helpful guy towards others in this topic, has even helped me out with a few times. If he maybe wants a copy of the mod to look at some of the changes I've made with css for prosilver with avatars and displaying the H2 tag title on main shoutbox page to help improve RC6 further, he can PM me and I'll send him the mod attachment to look at via private message

I also noticed last night while adding the footer append template back to show link in footer. Why are you using a DIV wrapped around copyright code that means another DIV gets displayed inside the phpBB copyright DIV used. It really shouldn't be using a DIV and only needs a <br> added at start of copyright so the Admin Panel login link sits flush right below the MCHAT copyright using a <br> also before it - instead of it creating some whitespace between that and mchat copyright because it uses a DIV and the admin panel links uses a <br> after it.

it should look like this viewing source code not using a DIV with MCHAT copyright footer append, it only needs a <br> adding before the start of code
<div class="copyright">
Powered by <a href="https://www.phpbb.com/">phpBB</a>® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
<br>Modified custom shoutbox powered by <a href="https://kasimi.net/mchat/">mChat</a> <br><strong><a href="./adm/index.php?sid=391c78d36c89b4ecbf8aae1ada706d30">Administration Control Panel</a></strong> </div>
Using the DIV it looks like this (no need for a DIV inside another DIV and creates unwanted space between MCHAT copyright and Admin Panel login):
<div class="copyright">
Powered by <a href="https://www.phpbb.com/">phpBB</a>® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
<div>Modified custom shoutbox powered by <a href="https://kasimi.net/mchat/">mChat</a></div> <br><strong><a href="./adm/index.php?sid=391c78d36c89b4ecbf8aae1ada706d30">Administration Control Panel</a></strong> </div>
Last edited by mrgtb on Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:42 am, edited 8 times in total.

User avatar
martin123456
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:44 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by martin123456 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:24 am

Capital first letter in your messages dont work in RC6 tested on 6 sites.

Just so you know.

Fixed it on mine.
Last edited by martin123456 on Fri Sep 23, 2016 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_CODE_UNTIDY and S_MESS_ON_INDEX Good If_Not_TIDY_Then_SUBMIT -->

User avatar
kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 3717
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by kasimi » Fri Sep 23, 2016 11:37 am

Thanks 3Di for pointers. It's good to know that GitHub offers a way to do this but I prefer bumping the minimum required version after all.
mrgtb wrote:he can PM me and I'll send him the mod attachment to look at via private message
Feel free to share your ideas here so that other users can voice their opinions about them as well.
mrgtb wrote:Why are you using a DIV wrapped around copyright code
It was fixed in RC6.
martin123456 wrote:Capital first letter in your messages dont work in RC6 tested on 6 sites.
The bug only affects 3.2.x, it works fine on my 3.1.9 board. Here's a fix: https://github.com/kasimi/mChat/commit/ ... d103a95781

User avatar
mrgtb
Registered User
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:51 am

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by mrgtb » Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:02 pm

kasimi wrote:Feel free to share your ideas here so that other users can voice their opinions about them as well.
The keep with phpBB way of doing things using a different H2 title tag on two main pages.

In the mchat_body.html template change top of template to this to add H2 Title tag

Code: Select all

<!-- IF MCHAT_IS_ARCHIVE_PAGE -->
	<!-- INCLUDE overall_header.html -->
	
	<h2>{L_MCHAT_ARCHIVE_H2}</h2>
<!-- ELSEIF MCHAT_IS_CUSTOM_PAGE -->
	<!-- INCLUDE overall_header.html -->
	
	<h2>{L_MCHAT_H2}</h2>
<!-- ENDIF -->
Then add two new titles for each page in common.php language file pulled.

That then give Archive Page and Main Shoutbox page two different H2 title tags used, which matches other forum areas using H2 titles for pages

User avatar
mrgtb
Registered User
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:51 am

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by mrgtb » Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:17 pm

I added a border around avatars with posts displayed on forum by editing the forums "functions.php" file located in "includes" directory. Done by adding this red code extra in it below.
$html = '<img style="background-color: #FFFFFF; border: 1px solid #4692BF; padding: 1px;" class="avatar" ' . $src . ' ' .
While doing that worked fine adding a border around all avatars displayed on forums. I noticed there was problems with same border being added to avatars displayed in MCHAT also. Looking at the css used for Prosilver theme with MCHAT I had to change the css used for avatar in two places to this instead to get it working proper. I think I had to define width of avatar in both places and also you used padding-right instead of margin-right that causes issues when border is added.

Code: Select all

.mchat-avatar {
	float: left;
	width: 30px;
	margin-right: 9px;
}

.mchat-avatar a, .mchat-avatar img {
	display: block;
	width: 30px;
}
Last edited by mrgtb on Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
mrgtb
Registered User
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:51 am

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by mrgtb » Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:26 pm

When you add text after CODE box used in MCHAT no space is being created between bottom of code box and text added (which gets added with QUOTE box used). I had to add this extra to css for prosilver to also cover the code box.

.mchat-text .codebox

Code: Select all

.mchat-text blockquote, .mchat-text .codebox {
	margin-bottom: 5px;
}
I would also think about changing font-size used in shout to this for text to match better the same size of font used for forum descriptions. The larger font used with shoutbox displayed on forum index for Prosilver looks out of place.

font-size: 1.1em;

Code: Select all

.mchat-text {
	clear: both;
	overflow: hidden;
	padding: 2px 5px;
	font-size: 1.1em;
}

User avatar
kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 3717
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by kasimi » Fri Sep 23, 2016 6:59 pm

mrgtb wrote:different H2 title tag on two main pages
I might add this to the next version as I agree that it's more in line with phpBB's and prosilver's page layout.
mrgtb wrote:I added a border around avatars
It does indeed make sense to use margin-right instead of padding-right for the avatar.
mrgtb wrote:.mchat-text .codebox
Already fixed in RC6.
mrgtb wrote:font-size: 1.1em;
The current font size was chosen to resemble the one used in posts. In my opinion 1.1em is too small. I'm happy to go with what the crowd says but so far nobody has mentioned it. I'll keep it in mind.

Jon_Hart
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:03 am

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by Jon_Hart » Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:53 am

I installed RC6 and really like all the new features and bug fixes. Great work!

I have noticed that even when the newest post is visible it stops scrolling with the new messages after a few messages have been posted. So the users have to periodically scroll to get to the new messages and then it auto-scrolls for a bit, then stops again. Is this a bug, just how it works now, or perhaps just a bug in my installation? Thanks!

User avatar
kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 3717
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by kasimi » Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:41 am

This sure sounds like a bug. To be clear, this happens even if you don't touch the scrollbars? How often does that happen? Is there any special content (BBCode, image, content from another extension) in those messages that stop the auto-scrolling?

leschek
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by leschek » Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:03 am

I find at the bottom of settings in ACP the following:
ACP wrote:Messages to retain when pruning:
You can specify either a number to keep a fixed number of messages (example: 42) or a time period (examples: 24 hours, 5 days, 2 weeks, 1 month). All messages older than the time period at the time of pruning will be deleted.
It seems there is missing selector for hours/days/months/weeks.

User avatar
kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 3717
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by kasimi » Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:11 am

No selector needed, just type 48 hours, 1 day, 11 weeks etc. :)

Locked

Return to “Extensions in Development”