[3.2][RC] Site Logo

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
Post Reply
Lady_G
Registered User
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: US

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Lady_G » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:31 pm

david63 wrote:
Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:59 am
Installation:
  • Download the latest release and unzip it.
  • Upload the unzipped files to root/ext/david63/sitelogo and enable it in the ACP
Although your instructions are clear, it is easy to miss that your extension needs a second directory created under david63/. Can you please clarify your description? Otherwise the extension will not be recognized in the Admin Control Panel.

To install from the board ext/ directory, the GitHub command line should be:

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/david63/david63-sitelogo.git david63/sitelogo

RamonSBorussia
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:31 am

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by RamonSBorussia » Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:23 pm

Lady_G, thanks for posting the instructions. That missing/mismatched folder structure tripped me up. Once files are in the expected place the extension worked great.

I can only second the proposal from other users to have this be part of the core phpBB, including a decent style editor to modify the look. I wished my PHP skills are good enough to contribute. :cry:

MarieNatalie
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 1:19 pm
Location: Athens Greece
Name: Maria

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by MarieNatalie » Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:38 pm

Thank you David for the nice ext...
I send you a big hug :)

Havym
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:50 pm
Location: Netherlands
Name: Marco

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Havym » Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:57 pm

I love your extension. I used the old one at my forum 3.1.10.
Now i am using phpbb 3.2.0
The only thing i cant get right is the background color behind the forum logo. I want it white.

What do i need to change?

Never mind.
Last edited by Havym on Wed Feb 01, 2017 3:02 am, edited 2 times in total.

kocureq
Registered User
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by kocureq » Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:09 pm

Guys could we move it to release state so it's stable? I fear that asking for more and more features will cause this to be in constant development mode and never complete.

User avatar
KhurramMunawar
Registered User
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:20 am
Location: Islamabad, Pakistan
Name: Khurram Munawar
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by KhurramMunawar » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:35 pm

while loading the internal link of the board , it shows the default logo and site description placement.

Once the page loaded completely. Extension settings took over.

seems like a bug.

please browse my board (see my link in signature) to verify the issue.
My forum:
DearHelper.org
Get Free Traffic To Your Website
Trafficonic.com - Free Traffic To Your Website

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16693
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:52 pm

KhurramMunawar wrote:
Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:35 pm
please browse my board (see my link in signature) to verify the issue.
I cannot see anything abnormal
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
KhurramMunawar
Registered User
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:20 am
Location: Islamabad, Pakistan
Name: Khurram Munawar
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by KhurramMunawar » Sun Jan 29, 2017 11:46 pm

i tried everything, but problem still persists.
Please keep an eye on header while browsing the board. may be its a browser issue. I am using chrome latest version
My forum:
DearHelper.org
Get Free Traffic To Your Website
Trafficonic.com - Free Traffic To Your Website

User avatar
null2
Registered User
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:03 am

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by null2 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:42 am

KhurramMunawar wrote:
Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:35 pm
while loading the internal link of the board , it shows the default logo and site description placement.

Once the page loaded completely. Extension settings took over.

seems like a bug.

please browse my board (see my link in signature) to verify the issue.
Same problem here using chrome.
Sorry for my bad english. I'm from USA.

User avatar
KhurramMunawar
Registered User
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:20 am
Location: Islamabad, Pakistan
Name: Khurram Munawar
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by KhurramMunawar » Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:57 am

Same problem here using chrome.
Is it working fine with other browsers on your pc ??
My forum:
DearHelper.org
Get Free Traffic To Your Website
Trafficonic.com - Free Traffic To Your Website

User avatar
Puchahawa
Registered User
Posts: 768
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 10:33 pm
Name: Randy

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Puchahawa » Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:58 am

I think that happens when the person has a slow response from the server or maybe they're pc. I just looked at KhurramMunawar's board with chrome and didn't see the problem but I have seen it on other boards.
Avatar courtesy of artist Faith Coyotë

User avatar
KhurramMunawar
Registered User
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:20 am
Location: Islamabad, Pakistan
Name: Khurram Munawar
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by KhurramMunawar » Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:01 am

Puchahawa wrote:
Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:58 am
I think that happens when the person has a slow response from the server or maybe they're pc. I just looked at KhurramMunawar's board with chrome and didn't see the problem but I have seen it on other boards.
i disabled the extension before you view it . ;)
My forum:
DearHelper.org
Get Free Traffic To Your Website
Trafficonic.com - Free Traffic To Your Website

User avatar
javiexin
Code Contributor
Posts: 1157
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:46 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Name: Javier
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by javiexin » Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:58 am

What you are seeing is a consequence of the way the extension is coded.
As it uses Javascript for the changes, these are performed AFTER the page has completely loaded AND displayed. So, in slow environments you will see the original page without changes followed by the correct page. The time between both depends on the speed of the conection and the browser.
These days, both browsers and networks are faster, so usually you will barely see a glitch.

In my view, no way to fix this without major rewrite to avoid JS. Don't know if it is worth it...
I think it is good as is...

prl
Registered User
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:13 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by prl » Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:00 am

Hello, I installed this extension and everything seems fine. There's only one problem: I added a 600px x 112px logo and have it centered on my header. But when I resize the window below the 600px I was expecting that the logo would resize with the window, which is not happening. Any way this extension allows me to do that?

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16693
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:12 am

prl wrote:
Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:00 am
when I resize the window below the 600px I was expecting that the logo would resize with the window
If you resize below 600 then the logo should be removed, same as basic prosilver.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Post Reply

Return to “Extensions in Development”