message_die() was called multiple times... Help, new to this

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
FlameLover
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 8:52 am

message_die() was called multiple times... Help, new to this

Post by FlameLover » Sun Mar 13, 2005 8:56 am

I have just installed the latest version of PHPbb and when I try to access the index.php file I get this
message_die() was called multiple times. This isn't supposed to happen. Was message_die() used in page_tail.php?


IS it something I can easily fix? I am just wondering, because i don't know PHP too well.

Thank you very much for your time in helping.

sonyboy
Registered User
Posts: 2980
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 2:10 am

Post by sonyboy » Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:00 am

Did you just install MODs? If so check for its database queries and run them.

FlameLover
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 8:52 am

Post by FlameLover » Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:04 am

Nope, I had just downloaded the config.php file and FTP it up again, and when I try to see the forum to set all the egeneral settings etc. I get the above message.

sonyboy
Registered User
Posts: 2980
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 2:10 am

Post by sonyboy » Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:08 am

Check config.php CHMOD setting, that might be it. It should be 644.

FlameLover
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 8:52 am

Post by FlameLover » Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:09 am

What is a CHMOD setting? I'm on Windows, is that a Linux thing? And my FTP client doesn't have file permission settings I don't think...

EDIT: TotalCommander DOES allow CHMOD, but I can't work out what to set it to. You said 644, but I only have archive, read-only, hidden and system as otpions. Nowhere to put a number...

Also, I uploaded the files as binary, is that a problem? I have never experienced problems with uploading text or graphics or anything for that matter before.

sonyboy
Registered User
Posts: 2980
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 2:10 am

Post by sonyboy » Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:33 am

Check here for CHMOD 644.
All .php, .inc, .sql, .cfg and .htm files should be uploaded in ASCII mode, while all graphics should be uploaded in BINARY mode.

stephen_s
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:25 am
Contact:

Post by stephen_s » Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:34 am

have you remembered to delete the /install and /contrib directories? i've seen this when i've forgotten to remove those in my excitement to get it working!

FlameLover
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 8:52 am

Post by FlameLover » Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:39 am

I didn't know I had to delete them! I'll try it and come back if it doesn't work.
I now get:

phpBB : Critical Error

Could not open subSilver template config file

DEBUG MODE

Line : 361
File : functions.php

... :cry:

sonyboy
Registered User
Posts: 2980
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 2:10 am

Post by sonyboy » Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:43 am

simple just upload subSilver.cfg file to its template folder.

FlameLover
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 8:52 am

Post by FlameLover » Sun Mar 13, 2005 10:01 am

It is there though! This is getting really weird...

suzdrgon
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 1:32 am

Post by suzdrgon » Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:12 am

I'm experiencing the exact same thing!!!

User avatar
BAGHDAD-RAWA
Registered User
Posts: 1196
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: IN this world
Contact:

Post by BAGHDAD-RAWA » Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:51 am

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Home PC and Laptop Repairs Call OnSite Service 24/7 in London |
Knowledge Base 2.0||Support Request Template|
--------------------------------------------------------

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”