It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
murrrphy
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:59 am

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by murrrphy » Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:11 am

The problem in 3.2.1 is caused by an update of the used vendor library fast-image-size.

This library has changed the behaviour for JPEG. They force to use the EXIF header for determine the image size, if available.
https://github.com/marc1706/fast-image-size/issues/34

This causes, that images which have an EXIF entry of size 2800px and a physical size of 1024px are declined, because the EXIF size is used as master information.

Workaround is to strip the EXIF from the image before upload or rolling back the fast-image-size lib. I did a rollback of the lib and everything works fine with 3.2.1 for me.

User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7450
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by JimA » Fri Aug 04, 2017 10:04 am

xymox wrote:
Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:11 am
I need to get some help here.
Please be a bit more patient when asking for help. We usually ask you to wait for six hours before bumping the topic when the last post is already yours. If you have any new additional information before the six hours have elapsed, please edit your last post and add the new information in. Thank you. :)
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

User avatar
xymox
Registered User
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:20 am

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by xymox » Fri Aug 04, 2017 11:33 am

murrrphy wrote:
Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:11 am
The problem in 3.2.1 is caused by an update of the used vendor library fast-image-size.

This library has changed the behaviour for JPEG. They force to use the EXIF header for determine the image size, if available.
https://github.com/marc1706/fast-image-size/issues/34

This causes, that images which have an EXIF entry of size 2800px and a physical size of 1024px are declined, because the EXIF size is used as master information.

Workaround is to strip the EXIF from the image before upload or rolling back the fast-image-size lib. I did a rollback of the lib and everything works fine with 3.2.1 for me.
Sorry all for my over zealous posting. I spent hours on this so far and I was updating what i found. I was not meaning to bump the topic.

For testing I created a 100 pixel x 100 pixel using photoshop of just black. I made it into a gif, jpg and png. This had essentially no metadata. None of them will upload via a URL. I can load them all on the duplicate board on the same server that has the same settings and same php environment as far as I can tell from looking at the php info. I can also load the images via a ../image.gif VS a full http:// of the same image.

I think my next step to isolate this will be to add some code to print out the $url that its working with at that stage of the program. Its the same error if you put nothing between the IMG blocks. So I first want to make sure that the URL is getting to the parser in one piece..

User avatar
John connor
Registered User
Posts: 1825
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: U S Of A
Contact:

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by John connor » Sat Aug 05, 2017 3:20 am

murrrphy wrote:
Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:11 am
The problem in 3.2.1 is caused by an update of the used vendor library fast-image-size.

This library has changed the behaviour for JPEG. They force to use the EXIF header for determine the image size, if available.
https://github.com/marc1706/fast-image-size/issues/34

This causes, that images which have an EXIF entry of size 2800px and a physical size of 1024px are declined, because the EXIF size is used as master information.

Workaround is to strip the EXIF from the image before upload or rolling back the fast-image-size lib. I did a rollback of the lib and everything works fine with 3.2.1 for me.


How do you rollback the lib? Is that something a shared account user can do?

User avatar
Galixte de EzCom
Registered User
Posts: 953
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:14 pm
Location: France
Name: Raphaël M.
Contact:

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by Galixte de EzCom » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:20 am

Communau EzCom
📖 « Traductions d’extensions & styles pour phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x ».
📋 Lists of all extensions identified for phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x.
📋 Lists of all styles identified for phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x.

Image Tu as un forum et tu veux aussi un site web ? Regarde par ici.

User avatar
xymox
Registered User
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:20 am

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by xymox » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:13 am

So.. were are we on this... Im on 3.2.1 now and I CANNOT figure this out..

I have 2 forums, same server. One says "It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image. Please verify that the URL you entered is correct." on anything placed inside a [img] block. .gif, .jpg, everything..

I can attach files just fine for inline insertion.

The other forum thats same version and config has no problem doing any kind of [img]

Ive tried all sorts of images. Nothing works.

The one that does not work http://www.lhcportal.com/Forum/index.php

The one that works great http://badmodems.com/Forum/

They seem exactly the same in every way I can look at.

This is really frustrating.

User avatar
xymox
Registered User
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:20 am

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by xymox » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:19 am

Im using a 1x1 pixel gif as testing.. The below dot works great on one of the forums and wont work on the other. Again, same server..

Image

the above dot is at xymox1.com/z1.gif

User avatar
Galixte de EzCom
Registered User
Posts: 953
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:14 pm
Location: France
Name: Raphaël M.
Contact:

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by Galixte de EzCom » Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:50 pm

Communau EzCom
📖 « Traductions d’extensions & styles pour phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x ».
📋 Lists of all extensions identified for phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x.
📋 Lists of all styles identified for phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x.

Image Tu as un forum et tu veux aussi un site web ? Regarde par ici.

User avatar
xymox
Registered User
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:20 am

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by xymox » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:37 pm

hmmm.. I dont follow.Does this patch you linked to addresss more then jped issues ? Im using a gif as my test on both phpbb boards not a jpeg. It does the same thing with all types of images. I have one forum where it works fine and one that doesn't running on the same server running the same version of phpbb and php.

I was thinking its some setting thats weird someplace. It seems thats also the error if it simply cant look up the image ? So maybe one board is simply not doing outbound connections properly ?

I think this is a stupid settings issue on my part somehow ?

User avatar
AmigoJack
Registered User
Posts: 5384
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:33 am
Location: グリーン ヒル ゾーン
Contact:

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by AmigoJack » Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:38 am

xymox wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:37 pm
Does this patch you linked to addresss more then jped issues
No, if you have issues with GIFs already then the problem is elsewhere. Provided it really is a GIF and not just a JPEG with a wrong filename.
xymox wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:37 pm
the same server
In your ACP you have the PHP info page (also includes PHP version and settings) - call that in both boards, then use a comparison software of your choice to find differences.
xymox wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:37 pm
the same version of phpbb and php
If you don't have already: from both installations download all files, then use a comparison software of your choice to find differences. Files like avatar graphics are irrelevant, of course. After you did that, preferably also compare one of your batch of files against the files of an unzipped installation of the phpBB version you think you're running, which might also show inconsistencies.

If you never used a comparison software before I suggest using WinMerge for Windows (which should also run thru WINE on Unix like platforms).
The worst thing about censorship is ███████████
Affin wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 9:51 am
The problem is probably not my English but you do not want to understand correctly.
...
We will not come anybody anyway, nevertheless, it's best to shit this.

User avatar
xymox
Registered User
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:20 am

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by xymox » Tue Oct 10, 2017 11:54 am

thank you for the response :)

thats a bunch of work as I dont do that stuff often.

However I suppose your right.

There is one obvious difference between the 2. The one that does not work has been upgraded over years and the one that works was installed fresh.

I dont think its talking to the outside world at all when it tries a [img].. Maybe it has no connectivity for http at all ?. its the same size error even if the site in the URL cant be reached. The board is working fine doing outgoing emails.

I will work on what your suggesting. Thanks again :)

User avatar
John connor
Registered User
Posts: 1825
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: U S Of A
Contact:

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by John connor » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:02 pm

Galixte de EzCom wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:50 pm
The fix is here: https://github.com/marc1706/fast-image- ... l/41/files.
I have no idea how to implement any of that. Will this be added to the next version of phpBB?

User avatar
Galixte de EzCom
Registered User
Posts: 953
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:14 pm
Location: France
Name: Raphaël M.
Contact:

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by Galixte de EzCom » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:43 pm

John connor wrote:
Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:02 pm
Galixte de EzCom wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:50 pm
The fix is here: https://github.com/marc1706/fast-image- ... l/41/files.
I have no idea how to implement any of that. Will this be added to the next version of phpBB?
Yes, i think in 3.2.2.
Communau EzCom
📖 « Traductions d’extensions & styles pour phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x ».
📋 Lists of all extensions identified for phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x.
📋 Lists of all styles identified for phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x.

Image Tu as un forum et tu veux aussi un site web ? Regarde par ici.

User avatar
kangus
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 11:07 pm

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by kangus » Wed Nov 29, 2017 4:37 am

Is the code for this an add on?
What file is it in?
we are at 3.2.1 - ? and dying
https://www.diptrace.com/forum/viewtopi ... =4&t=11958
They upgraded the phpBB software and now image upload is a pain.

russian2
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:37 pm

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Post by russian2 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:17 pm

What is the fix version? I have this issue with latest 3.2.2

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”