ACP no Module Management

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
noudle
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:55 pm

ACP no Module Management

Post by noudle » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:03 pm

Hello,

im not very used to phpBB and there is obviously something wrong with my installation.

What happened before:

I recently upgraded from phpBB 3.0.12 to 3.2.1 using this approach: https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... /upgrade3/
This did work very good, except for two "extra" tabs in showing up in the ACP after the upgrade (tabs name was "Extensions" and "ACP_notify_mods" or something like that) which I could not click on without getting a "General Error" page.

So I disabled that notify module in the phpbb3 database and those two tabs where gone.

Actual Problem: I do not have a Module Management section nor a Customize Tab in my ACP. My ACP -> System looks like this: Image

I already asked in the irc network on freenode about this and it seems that some modules are not installed or running properly. What can i do to debug this? How can i find out which modules are missing and then install/enable them?

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
warmweer
Registered User
Posts: 2756
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Belt ... well actually Belgium

Re: ACP no Module Management

Post by warmweer » Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:14 pm

noudle wrote:
Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:03 pm
I recently upgraded from phpBB 3.0.12 to 3.2.1 using this approach: https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... /upgrade3/
This did work very good, except for two "extra" tabs in showing up in the ACP after the upgrade (tabs name was "Extensions" and "ACP_notify_mods" or something like that) which I could not click on without getting a "General Error" page.
Those are probably leftovers from mods you installed on 3.0.12 (could even be a leftover from automod). Unfortunaetly I don't have my 3.0.12 backups anymore but going from memory there was a table from automod (phpBB_mods I think) which has to be removed, and also in another table with AC_xxx something with entries that have to be deleted.
Best way is to check which modifications you installed, look at the install files and see which values they added.

I would suggest re-upgrading then.
My board's not broken, it just went peculiar

noudle
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:55 pm

Re: ACP no Module Management

Post by noudle » Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:39 pm

warmweer wrote:
Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:14 pm
noudle wrote:
Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:03 pm
I recently upgraded from phpBB 3.0.12 to 3.2.1 using this approach: https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... /upgrade3/
This did work very good, except for two "extra" tabs in showing up in the ACP after the upgrade (tabs name was "Extensions" and "ACP_notify_mods" or something like that) which I could not click on without getting a "General Error" page.
Those are probably leftovers from mods you installed on 3.0.12 (could even be a leftover from automod). Unfortunaetly I don't have my 3.0.12 backups anymore but going from memory there was a table from automod (phpBB_mods I think) which has to be removed, and also in another table with AC_xxx something with entries that have to be deleted.
Best way is to check which modifications you installed, look at the install files and see which values they added.

I would suggest re-upgrading then.
Thanks for your response, but i already solved the problem with those two tabs.

What I try to solve now is the fact that i do not have a Module Management or Customize Tab so I can't install any extension.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16557
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: ACP no Module Management

Post by david63 » Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:01 pm

Do you have the requisite permissions to manage modules and extensions?
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

noudle
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:55 pm

Re: ACP no Module Management

Post by noudle » Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:13 pm

I have founder status if thats the question.

noudle
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:55 pm

Re: ACP no Module Management

Post by noudle » Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:23 pm

Thanks to #phpbb , solved it by deleting cache/production/ manually over ssh. Somehow the "purge cache" functionality did not work properly for me.

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: ACP no Module Management

Post by RMcGirr83 » Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:40 pm

Then you need to check the permissions on those directories.

https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... rmissions/
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”