CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Converting from other board software? Good decision! Need help? Have a question about a convertor? Wish to offer a convertor package? Post here.
John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Sat Feb 23, 2019 7:53 am

I am new to this forum, this is my first post.

Details:
Hosting company is HostGator
Using MySQL 5
Using phpBB conversion V 1.0.3
BB2 2.0.23 and bb3 3.2.5 are in the same domain and reside on the same database server as separate databases.
BB2 uses the table prefix phpbb_
BB3 uses the table prefix phpbb3_
BB2 config.php is correctly configured for BB2.
BB3 config.php is correctly configured for BB3.
The install folder in BB2 has been renamed to install-old. In BB3 I rename it to install-old after I started the convert program and after landing on the Settings page. On the conversion Settings page I entered all the information in reference to phpBB2 as found in config.php for BB2.

I click on submit and the Install Panel comes up showing a swirling icon. On the right side of the screen the word Settings is highlighted. Conversion In Progress never highlights, the swirling icon goes away after 60 seconds. Then, nothing else happens.

Just as a test, I did not rename the BB3 install folder after landing on the Settings page (BB2 install folder renamed to install-old). On submitting, the Install Panel comes up and I get 2 errors:

1. The convertor was not able to find tables with the specified prefix. Please make sure you have entered the correct details for the board you are converting from. The default table prefix for phpBB 2.0.x is <strong>phpbb_</strong>.

2. [phpBB Debug] "mysqli_free_result(): Couldn't fetch mysqli_result" in file /home4/transformme2/public_html/phpBB3/phpbb/db/driver/mysqli.php on line 317

I took over administration of board and database many years ago. BB2 has been working well. I did try local conversion using Bigdump by installing xampp. I installed BB2 and BB3 on the local host DB server with success, when I started the conversion I got many errors over and over until I gave up to follow conversion on the hosting companies server.

I have found lots of forum activity for the prefix error though, all the resolutions/answers don't seem to apply to my installation. As to, Couldn't fetch mysqli_result, I could not find solutions.

Does anybody have any suggestions or insight?

User avatar
janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 3257
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by janus_zonstraal » Sat Feb 23, 2019 8:43 am

First, the name of the forum software is phpbb not BB2/3
BB2 uses the table prefix phpbb_
Do you have a table "phpbb_acl_groups" ? or is the name a little bit different?
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:31 pm

Hello, in phpbb 2.0.23 (BB2), yes phpbb_acl_groups. In phpbb 3.0.5 (BB3), yes again phpbb3_acl_groups.

Thank you for responding.

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25194
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by Paul » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:40 pm

I am pretty sure there was not table named phpbb_acl_groups in phpBB2. Are you sure it was phpBB2 and not an early phpBB 3.0?
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:41 pm

Hello, I noticed that I was not fully reveling on the local conversion. I should have included the fact that Bigdump successfully imported the backup of phpbb 2.0.23 (BB2) into (BB2). Just an FYI.

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:49 pm

Hello, I'm logged into HostGator. Using phpMyAdmin I see both DBs, Each DB has acl_groups. BB2 has phpbb_acl_groups and BB3 has phpbb3_acl_groups. Also, just as a note BB2 has 65 tables installed and BB3 has 68 tables installed.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69092
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by KevC » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:58 pm

phpBB2 didn't have anything like 60 tables if I remember rightly.

How about posting a link to the 2x and 3x installations so we can actually see what you have first.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Sat Feb 23, 2019 5:25 pm

Hello, understood, only just how do I do that? If I copy the full URL (http://www.xxx.com/phpbb2) all I get is; message_die() was called multiple times. This isn't supposed to happen. Equally, BB3 (http://www.xxx.com/phpbb3) gives the same message. The only way I know how to view the folders & files in the phpbb installation is to use FTP or login to HostGator and use File Manager.

OR

Are you asking to see the tables in both DBs?

Just a note, in page_tail.php of both BB2 & BB3 there is:

if ( !defined('IN_PHPBB') )

die('Hacking attempt');
}

That is the closest thing to "message_die() ..." I could find.

Love to learn how accomplish this with out reviling the login credentials.

Thank you for responding.

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Sat Feb 23, 2019 5:40 pm

Hello, my error, my copy past failed to past the full error message. It should read; message_die() was called multiple times. This isn't supposed to happen. Was message_die() used in page_tail.php?

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69092
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by KevC » Sat Feb 23, 2019 5:48 pm

The address of the site.
www.what?
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Sat Feb 23, 2019 5:49 pm


User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69092
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by KevC » Sat Feb 23, 2019 5:54 pm

The link to the message board on there doesn't work.

Where is the actual phpBB board? The 2x and the 3x installations. What are those links so we can see the boards?
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Sat Feb 23, 2019 6:01 pm

Hello, well, I retried the URLs again, just to see the error message. In URL http://www.transformationsbyrori.com/phpBB3/ I now get the forum BB log in screen. It was not like that last night and I have not edited any files or folders of the BB3 installation or DB since I last got the error message.

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Sat Feb 23, 2019 6:05 pm

Hello,

And I misspelled the URL for BB3 in my first post of the URL, BB2 is the correct URL:

BB3 = http://www.transformationsbyrori.com/phpBB3/

BB2 = http://www.transformationsbyrori.com/phpbb2/

User avatar
orynider
Registered User
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Arad, România
Name: Florin Bodin
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by orynider » Sat Feb 23, 2019 6:28 pm

Hello.

What PHP Version is set on Your hosting ?


If is php5 You could use phpBb2Mx to make that /phpbb2/ work:
https://github.com/Mx-Publisher/phpBB2Mx/releases

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Convertors”