version check error from ACP

Discussion forum for Extension Writers regarding Extension Development.
User avatar
Meis2M
Translator
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am
Location: IR.Damghan
Name: میثم نوبری
Contact:

version check error from ACP

Post by Meis2M »

Hi i have error for checking version:

Code: Select all

Failed to obtain latest version information.
Re-Check version
my code in composer json is:

Code: Select all

		"version-check": {
			"host": "github.com",
			"directory": "/phpbb-seo/versioncheck",
			"filename": "usu.json"
		}
where is my wrong?
phpBB persian international support
Follow us in Instagram
Free upgrade and install extensions on your forum - drop me PM
Ultimate phpBB SEO Friendly URL extension
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by HiFiKabin »

You forgot the leading slash on the filemane. EG

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
		"host": "versioncheck.hifikabin.me.uk",
		"directory": "/310",
		"filename": "/aprilfalls__versions.json"
		}
	}
}
User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 912
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by AbaddonOrmuz »

If I remember correctly, it doen't work if you use the GitHub repository directly, or at least it didn't work for me back then.

I think it's because it's served as text not as JSON, it works however, using GitHub Pages.

https://pages.github.com/
Some of my phpBB extensions:
Image Imgur | :chart_with_upwards_trend: SEO Metadata | Image Markdown | :lock: Auto-lock Topics
:trophy: Check out all my validated extensions :trophy:

:penguin: Arch Linux user :penguin:
User avatar
Meis2M
Translator
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am
Location: IR.Damghan
Name: میثم نوبری
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by Meis2M »

HiFiKabin wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 8:53 am
You forgot the leading slash on the filemane. EG

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
		"host": "versioncheck.hifikabin.me.uk",
		"directory": "/310",
		"filename": "/aprilfalls__versions.json"
		}
	}
}
not working :(
phpBB persian international support
Follow us in Instagram
Free upgrade and install extensions on your forum - drop me PM
Ultimate phpBB SEO Friendly URL extension
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by HiFiKabin »

in that case its probably what AbaddonOrmuz has said above (I have never used git so I have no experience) but that syntax works perfectly for my extensions
User avatar
Meis2M
Translator
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am
Location: IR.Damghan
Name: میثم نوبری
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by Meis2M »

AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 9:17 am
If I remember correctly, it doen't work if you use the GitHub repository directly, or at least it didn't work for me back then.

I think it's because it's served as text not as JSON, it works however, using GitHub Pages.

https://pages.github.com/
i created a page and put my json on it...this is my new code and still not working

Code: Select all

		"version-check": {
			"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
			"directory": "/",
			"filename": "usu.json"
		}
phpBB persian international support
Follow us in Instagram
Free upgrade and install extensions on your forum - drop me PM
Ultimate phpBB SEO Friendly URL extension
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by HiFiKabin »

wheres the leading slash?
User avatar
MattF
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 5164
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by MattF »

His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
Formerly known as VSEMy ExtensionsPlease do not PM me for support.
User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4205
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by MarkDHamill »

Are you using tab characters in the file? JSON files should not have them.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services. Getting lost managing phpBB? Buy my book, Mastering phpBB Administration. Kindle and paper versions available.
User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 15692
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by 3Di »

MarkDHamill wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 5:11 pm
Are you using tab characters in the file? JSON files should not have them.
YAML files, tabs are ok for the JSON ones instead.
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
:studio_microphone: Looking for a specific feature or alternative option?
User avatar
Meis2M
Translator
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am
Location: IR.Damghan
Name: میثم نوبری
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by Meis2M »

VSE wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm
His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
i changed it but still not working

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/versions/usu.json
phpBB persian international support
Follow us in Instagram
Free upgrade and install extensions on your forum - drop me PM
Ultimate phpBB SEO Friendly URL extension
User avatar
MattF
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 5164
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by MattF »

Meis2M wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 7:01 pm
VSE wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm
His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
i changed it but still not working

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/versions/usu.json
Because many things are still wrong. Just do this:

Code: Select all

{
    "unstable": {
        "2.0": {
            "current": "2.0.0-b3",
            "announcement": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org/community/announcements-f2",
            "download": "https://github.com/phpbb-seo/usu/archive/beta-3.zip",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json"
}
Also the tabs and spacing on all your JSON files is a mess. you need to get that sorted and under control.
Formerly known as VSEMy ExtensionsPlease do not PM me for support.
User avatar
Meis2M
Translator
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am
Location: IR.Damghan
Name: میثم نوبری
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by Meis2M »

VSE wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 12:46 am
Meis2M wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 7:01 pm
VSE wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm
His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
i changed it but still not working

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/versions/usu.json
Because many things are still wrong. Just do this:

Code: Select all

{
    "unstable": {
        "2.0": {
            "current": "2.0.0-b3",
            "announcement": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org/community/announcements-f2",
            "download": "https://github.com/phpbb-seo/usu/archive/beta-3.zip",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json"
}
Also the tabs and spacing on all your JSON files is a mess. you need to get that sorted and under control.
i'm still error :( :?:

this is my composer

Code: Select all

{
    "name": "phpbbseo/usu",
    "type": "phpbb-extension",
    "description": "This Extension will URL rewrite phpBB URLs in various manners, injecting, or not, forums and topic titles in their URLS, each URL being rewritten once, no matter the number of links using it on the page.",
    "homepage": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org",
    "version": "2.0.0-b1",
	"keywords": ["phpbbSEO", "extension", "seo", "Friendly User"],
    "time": "2017-12-20",
    "license": "GPL-2.0",
    "authors": [
        {
 			"name": "Meis@M",
			"email": "info@phpbb-seo.org",
			"homepage": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org/",
			"role": "Lead Developer"
        },
        {
			"name": "dcz",
            "role": "Previous Developer"
        },
        {
			"name": "Carlo",
			"email": "carlo@phpbbitalia.net",
			"homepage": "http://www.phpbbitalia.net/",
            "role": "Previous Developer"
        }
    ],
    "require": {
        "php": ">=5.4.2"
    },
    "require-dev": {
        "phpbb/epv": "dev-master"
    },
    "extra": {
        "display-name": "Ultimate phpBB SEO Friendly URL",
        "soft-require": {
           "phpbb/phpbb": "3.2.*@dev"
        },
	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json"
                     }
    }
}
phpBB persian international support
Follow us in Instagram
Free upgrade and install extensions on your forum - drop me PM
Ultimate phpBB SEO Friendly URL extension
User avatar
MattF
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 5164
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by MattF »

Meis2M wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 6:12 am

i'm still error :( :?:
Nope. Your thing is working just fine.
Screen Shot 2019-05-05 at 12.57.36 AM.png
Formerly known as VSEMy ExtensionsPlease do not PM me for support.
User avatar
LukeWCS
Registered User
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:32 pm
Location: Germany

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by LukeWCS »

Hi
AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 9:17 am
If I remember correctly, it doen't work if you use the GitHub repository directly, or at least it didn't work for me back then.
It works, if you use the subdomain raw. and with a small change in the URL. My LFWWH ext demonstrates how this works.

@Meis2M

Your file is on a server with SSL, so you need the parameter "ssl": true in your composer.json:

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json",
	"ssl": true
FYI: you have indentation in your composer.json with tabs and spaces. ;)
May the backup be with you. Always.
Post Reply

Return to “Extension Writers Discussion”