huge errors after changing domains, please help!!

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
zoldos
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:28 pm
Name: zoldos Vex

huge errors after changing domains, please help!!

Post by zoldos »

I changed domains and changed the cookie domain, and domain name in ACP, but I get this error on the index page:

Code: Select all

[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/db/driver/mysqli.php on line 258: mysqli_fetch_assoc(): Couldn't fetch mysqli_result
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/db/driver/mysqli.php on line 320: mysqli_free_result(): Couldn't fetch mysqli_result
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/db/driver/mysqli.php on line 258: mysqli_fetch_assoc(): Couldn't fetch mysqli_result
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/db/driver/mysqli.php on line 320: mysqli_free_result(): Couldn't fetch mysqli_result
Return to index page	
General Error
NO_STYLE_DATA

Please notify the board administrator or webmaster: [email protected]
Help!!! :(
Last edited by zoldos on Fri Nov 01, 2019 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
The Syndicate Lounge ~ https://thesyndicatelounge.com | General Lounge & Mental Health Support
User avatar
2600
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 2567
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: Area-51

Re: huge errors after changing domains, please help!!

Post by 2600 »

It may be worthwhile to download your database file, back it up then copy it to the desktop. Now open it up with Notepad ++ and do a search and replace with your old domain to your new domain. Save and upload the new modified database file to phpMyadmin. This is what I have done when I changed domains not once but twice. Though, the real method to do this is through a series of SQL command queries.

I'm wondering if that error is in relation to the aforementioned database location located in your config.php file. Did you upload a new database for this new domain? If so, it needs to be reflected in the config.php file with the database name, user, password and other potential options.

You might also want to go into the cache folder and delete the production folder. It will rebuild.
Morpheus: Unfortunately, no one can be told what The Matrix is. You'll have to see it for yourself.
Hack me.
Consider a canary token.
The nature of my chosen username
:ugeek:
User avatar
zoldos
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:28 pm
Name: zoldos Vex

Re: huge errors after changing domains, please help!!

Post by zoldos »

Thank you so much! Cleared the "Production" folder and the site came right up. :mrgreen:
The Syndicate Lounge ~ https://thesyndicatelounge.com | General Lounge & Mental Health Support
User avatar
2600
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 2567
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: Area-51

Re: huge errors after changing domains, please help!!

Post by 2600 »

You're welcome. I thought it might have been that, wasn't entirely sure. I know that when I first started out and changed from a free domain to a paid for host I had the same issue.

It's amazing at how much the cache can do things. Since I use CloudFlare, not only do I have to put the site into Development mode in CloudFlare and clear its cache, but I also have to clear the board's cache as well. Then there's your browser. Several months back someone also had to clear out their DNS cache on their computer. So if someone else is reading this for help you might want to try that as well.
Morpheus: Unfortunately, no one can be told what The Matrix is. You'll have to see it for yourself.
Hack me.
Consider a canary token.
The nature of my chosen username
:ugeek:
User avatar
zoldos
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:28 pm
Name: zoldos Vex

Re: huge errors after changing domains, please help!!

Post by zoldos »

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
The Syndicate Lounge ~ https://thesyndicatelounge.com | General Lounge & Mental Health Support

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”