Updating from 3.2 to 3.3 - 500 error

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.3.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
libralion
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 9:25 am

Updating from 3.2 to 3.3 - 500 error

Post by libralion »

Hello,
I try to update from 3.2 to 3.3, but it doesn't work.
I get a 500 error. What can I do?
https://www.libralion.com/forum/install/app.php

Johanna :(
Last edited by libralion on Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Siguza
Registered User
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3

Post by Siguza »

Don't add app.php to it, just type mysite.tld/install
Formerly known as qcz When replying directly to me please quote me so I get notified. Thanks.

Broadcastre Computer Chat https://broadcastre.cc/forum (please consider joining)

I've been posting less, here's why
User avatar
libralion
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 9:25 am

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3

Post by libralion »

Yes I did that, but then it returns with app.
User avatar
Siguza
Registered User
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3

Post by Siguza »

huh. it redirected to app.php for me buy I didn't get a server error
Formerly known as qcz When replying directly to me please quote me so I get notified. Thanks.

Broadcastre Computer Chat https://broadcastre.cc/forum (please consider joining)

I've been posting less, here's why
User avatar
libralion
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 9:25 am

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3

Post by libralion »

qcz wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 8:59 am
huh. it redirected to app.php for me buy I didn't get a server error
What do you get then?
User avatar
Siguza
Registered User
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3

Post by Siguza »

A welcome screen.
Formerly known as qcz When replying directly to me please quote me so I get notified. Thanks.

Broadcastre Computer Chat https://broadcastre.cc/forum (please consider joining)

I've been posting less, here's why
User avatar
libralion
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 9:25 am

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3

Post by libralion »

qcz wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:04 am
A welcome screen.
Can you make a screen shot of it?
User avatar
Siguza
Registered User
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3 - 500 error

Post by Siguza »

here, I've attached it
Attachments
E4201006-B066-49FA-B232-5F8C1D88F7F1.jpeg
Formerly known as qcz When replying directly to me please quote me so I get notified. Thanks.

Broadcastre Computer Chat https://broadcastre.cc/forum (please consider joining)

I've been posting less, here's why
User avatar
libralion
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 9:25 am

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3 - 500 error

Post by libralion »

That is really weird. I get a page with a 500 error. :shock:
I don't know what to do. Should I wait?
Tread
Registered User
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:52 pm

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3 - 500 error

Post by Tread »

In your root htaccess file find

Code: Select all

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine on
add after

Code: Select all

php_flag display_errors on
Now you should see whats making the 500 error page rather than a white page saying 500 please note the above depends on the server.
User avatar
libralion
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 9:25 am

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3 - 500 error

Post by libralion »

Tread wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:30 am
In your root htaccess file find

Code: Select all

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine on
add after

Code: Select all

php_flag display_errors on
Now you should see whats making the 500 error page rather than a white page saying 500 please note the above depends on the server.
Ok did that.
Than I get this:

"Fatal error: Uncaught TypeError: Argument 2 passed to phpbb\template\twig\extension::__construct() must be an instance of phpbb\template\twig\environment, instance of phpbb\language\language given, called in /home/u9012p6233/domains/libralion.com/public_html/forum/cache/installer/container_edd8661cdbc16adfc424781340313ded.php on line 1941 and defined in /home/u9012p6233/domains/libralion.com/public_html/forum/phpbb/template/twig/extension.php:34 Stack trace: #0 /home/u9012p6233/domains/libralion.com/public_html/forum/cache/installer/container_edd8661cdbc16adfc424781340313ded.php(1941): phpbb\template\twig\extension->__construct(Object(phpbb\template\context), Object(phpbb\language\language)) #1 /home/u9012p6233/domains/libralion.com/public_html/forum/vendor/symfony/dependency-injection/Container.php(306): phpbb_cache_container->getTemplate_Twig_Extensions_PhpbbService() #2 /home/u9012p6233/domains/libralion.com/public_html/forum/phpbb/di/service_collection.php(57): Symfony\Component\DependencyInjection\Container->get('tem in /home/u9012p6233/domains/libralion.com/public_html/forum/phpbb/template/twig/extension.php on line 34"
User avatar
Derky
Development Team Member
Development Team Member
Posts: 4840
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3 - 500 error

Post by Derky »

Please try to delete the folders: /cache/production/ and /cache/installer/. Also ensure you've uploaded all files correctly.
User avatar
libralion
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 9:25 am

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3 - 500 error

Post by libralion »

Derky wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:33 pm
Please try to delete the folders: /cache/production/ and /cache/installer/. Also ensure you've uploaded all files correctly.
I did that. no chnage.
And upload the files correctly, you say. Is that in binary mode?
User avatar
janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 4889
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3 - 500 error

Post by janus_zonstraal »

Yes but check also if you upload all the files.
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!
User avatar
libralion
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 9:25 am

Re: Updating from 3.2 to 3.3 - 500 error

Post by libralion »

I did upload all the files, like they said.
Post Reply

Return to “[3.3.x] Support Forum”