How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.2.
AT90
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:45 am

How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by AT90 »

Hi, i want ask, how i can change Prosilver width to same width like in Prosilver Special Edition. (Special Edition theme is a bit narrow width)
Perhaps some change will be needed - wrap ?

Thanks
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 69228
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

yes, change the width of the wrap in common.css

however, it would be much easier and better in the long run to just use prosilver se and then you don't have to worry about it.

robert
Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

I am pleased to announce that I have completed the first item on my bucket list. I have the bucket.
AT90
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:45 am

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by AT90 »

I use default Prosilver style, but i need in this style same width like in Prosilver Special.
User avatar
warmweer
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 11874
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: somewhere in the space-time continuum

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by warmweer »

common css. line 140 (I just copied this but I may have edited it in the past so I'm not sure that the 1152 is the default value). You can use your browser's style-editor to see the result of any changes you may want to make.

Code: Select all

.wrap {
	border: 1px solid transparent;
	border-radius: 8px;
	margin: 0 auto;
	max-width: 1152px;
	min-width: 625px;
	padding: 15px;
}

@media only screen and (max-width: 1220px), only screen and (max-device-width: 1220px) {
	.wrap {
		margin: 0 12px;
	}
}
Spelling is freeware, which means you can use it for free.
On the other hand, it is not open source, which means you cannot change it or publish it in a modified form.


Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.
AT90
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:45 am

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by AT90 »

Thanks but i find this in Prosilver Special stylesheet.css :)

Code: Select all

/*  phpBB3 Style Sheet
    --------------------------------------------------------------
	Style name:			prosilver Special Edition
	Based on style:		prosilver (the default phpBB 3.2.x style)
	Original author:	Tom Beddard ( http://www.subblue.com/ )
	Modified by:		phpBB Limited ( https://www.phpbb.com/ )
    --------------------------------------------------------------
*/

/* colours.css changes */
html, body {
	background-color: #ACA8A1;
}

body.simple {
	min-height: 100%;
	padding: 0 5px;
}

.wrap {
	max-width: 850px;
	margin: 0 auto;
	padding: 13px 23px;
	border: 2px solid #FFF;
	border-radius: 15px;
	box-shadow: 0 0 5px 2px #9D9A93, inset 0 3px 18px rgba(100, 100, 100, .25);
}

.search-header {
	box-shadow: 0 0 10px #505C65;
}

.headerbar {
	background-color: #7C8891;
	background-image: url("./images/bg_header.gif");
}

.navbar {
	background-color: #DCDEE2;
}

.forabg, .forumbg {
	background-color: #505C65;
	background-image: url("./images/bg_list.gif");
}

.copyright a {
	color: #000000 !important;
}

li.row {
	background-color: #E8ECEE;
}

li.row:hover {
	background-color: #EBEFF1;
}

li.row.bg3 {
	background-color: #F0F4F6;
}

li.row.bg3:hover {
	background-color: #F4F8FA;
}

.site_logo {
	background-image: url("./images/site_logo.gif");
}

/* responsive.css changes */
@media only screen and (max-width: 920px), only screen and (max-device-width: 920px) {
	html, body {
		background-color: #FFF;
	}

	body {
		padding-left: 5px;
		padding-right: 5px;
	}

	#wrap {
		width: 850px;
		padding: 0;
		border-width: 0;
		border-radius: 0;
		box-shadow: none;
	}
}

@media only screen and (max-width: 860px), only screen and (max-device-width: 860px) {
	#wrap {
		width: auto;
	}
}
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 69228
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

you don't need to change anything in prosilver _se. you need to edit the line in prosilver common.css to those in the prosliver_se stylesheet related to width.
Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

I am pleased to announce that I have completed the first item on my bucket list. I have the bucket.
User avatar
Donald Laborde
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: Fréjus (France)
Name: Donald Laborde

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by Donald Laborde »

Hi there, that's great but it doesn't change anything viewing on a mobile. Need it another change elsewhere ?
User avatar
Talk19Zehn
Registered User
Posts: 912
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:10 pm

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by Talk19Zehn »

Hi, perhaps test this - a simple starting point

common.css: find the original

Code: Select all

.wrap {
	border: 1px solid transparent;
	border-radius: 8px;
	margin: 0 auto;
	max-width: 1152px;
	min-width: 625px;
	padding: 15px;
}

@media only screen and (max-width: 1220px), only screen and (max-device-width: 1220px) {
	.wrap {
		margin: 0 12px;
	}
}
1) change it to:

Code: Select all

.wrap {
	border: 1px solid transparent;
	border-radius: 8px;
	margin: 0 auto;
	max-width: 850px;
	padding: 15px;
}

@media only screen and (max-width: 1220px), only screen and (max-device-width: 1220px) {
	.wrap {
	max-width: 850px;
	}
}

2) or change the original to:

Code: Select all

.wrap {
	border: 1px solid transparent;
	border-radius: 8px;
	margin: 0 auto;
	max-width: 850px;
	padding: 15px;
}

@media only screen and (max-width: 1220px), only screen and (max-device-width: 1220px) {
	.wrap {
	max-width: 1152px;
	margin: 0 12px auto;
	}
}

BTW: The better way is to use a custom.css
Bela91
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:07 am

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by Bela91 »

Code: Select all

/* Main blocks
---------------------------------------- */
.wrap {
	border: 1px solid transparent;
	border-radius: 8px;
	margin-left: auto;
	margin-right: auto;
	max-width: 1100px;
	min-width: 625px;
	padding: 15px;
}
hey i changed it max-width: 1100px; but still see the same page also refresh page with css common.css ? I use style: ne-blackgreen
User avatar
warmweer
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 11874
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: somewhere in the space-time continuum

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by warmweer »

Bela91 wrote: Fri Jan 06, 2023 5:14 pm hey i changed it max-width: 1100px; but still see the same page also refresh page with css common.css ? I use style: ne-blackgreen
You probably need to clear board and browser cache.
Spelling is freeware, which means you can use it for free.
On the other hand, it is not open source, which means you cannot change it or publish it in a modified form.


Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.
Bela91
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:07 am

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by Bela91 »

warmweer wrote: Fri Jan 06, 2023 5:31 pm You probably need to clear board and browser cache.
Image

clean board and cache in catalog whole in hosting? remove red ?

Image
User avatar
Mannix_
Registered User
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:56 pm
Name: Matt

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by Mannix_ »

the button in ACP is enough. To clear your browser cache click ctrl + f5
Did I helped You? Consider a donation.
New version of phpBB has been released? My styles aren't validated for it yet? Check my page for the latest downloads!
User avatar
P_I
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 2503
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Western Canada 🇨🇦

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by P_I »

Why code it and have to maintain it? Wouldn't it be simpler to use the Set forum width extension.
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams
User avatar
warmweer
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 11874
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: somewhere in the space-time continuum

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by warmweer »

Clearing board cache through FTP is nothing more than deleting /production (in /cache) (or as Mannix stated: using the ACP)
BTW, there's no point in keeping /installer.
Spelling is freeware, which means you can use it for free.
On the other hand, it is not open source, which means you cannot change it or publish it in a modified form.


Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.
Bela91
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:07 am

Re: How to change width of Prosilver style same like Prosilver Special

Post by Bela91 »

Image when i change language found it

Return to “[3.2.x] Styles Support & Discussion”